We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with our stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed seven nights at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel Gateway and enjoyed every day of it, quite handy to Sanibel Island and Ft, Myers Beach, for a fraction of the price. Nice pool and gas grilss for a DIY barbque. Had two flat screen TV's in our suite as well as a stove top, full size refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. The complimentary (free) laundry room was also a nice plus. By the way, this hotel is very reasonably priced for an extended stay. Wide sidewalks on Summerlin Road for brisk walks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maine-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank You for the fantastic review of our Hotel. We at Team Candlewood really do appreciate comments like these and we are so glad you enjoyed the Hotel and all it has to offer. Come back as soon as you can!

Thank You

Dan Berben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 749 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

They charged me for a coffee pot and a knife that were supposedly missing from the room upon my check out. $58.30 was charged to my card. I took nothing from the room I didn't even cook in it, all I ate was takeout. Unable to get manager on phone, never there. I am really mad they cost me $58.30 plus $72.00 in overdraft fees due to someone there stealing. Who inventories these rooms upon check in and check out? This is wrong, I have reported it to my bank and CLC Lodging who paid for the room.

Room Tip: Don't give them a credit card for their so called incidentals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

One of our best stays ever. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and new. The laundry was fantastically convenient and the value was terrific. We went to Sanibel Island so we were a little far away, but the price of Candlewood is so great, the drive to Sanibel was no problem at all. We highly recommend Candlewood.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Fantastic!! Team Candlewood thanks you for the great review. This makes our day. Please come back real soon!!

Thank You

Dan Berben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had just left a very unpleasant 4-day stay on the keys so we were hoping that our next hotel, the Candlewood Suites, will help us forget the misery of our last accomodations. The short story is that they completely bowled us over.

Upon entering the room (on the 1st floor near the front desk) we breathed deep sighs of relief when we saw how immaculately clean the room was. The layout was a bit unusual. The doorway entered onto a kitchen with full-sized fridge, full-sized sink (with garbage disposal), full-sized microwave oven, 2-burner electric stove, and full-sized dishwasher. All appliances looked good as new. The kitchen floor (and bathroom floor) were ceramic tile and very clean. At the end of the kitchen counter, forming kind of the short part of an "L," was a work table that had room for two chairs (facing each other) which was perfect for placing my laptop and charging gear. The Ethernet cable was here as well, although the hotel also provided wifi.

Wifi connected quickly and was the fastest we've had on the trip. I did have to re-enter the password about once a day but aside from that, it was seamless. The TV also worked fine with the HDMI from my laptop, so I was able to watch movies streamed from the laptop (at another hotel on this trip, the TV's HDMI port wouldn't recognize a signal from my laptop).

Speaking of movies, the room had a DVD player and at the front desk they offered a selection of DVD that you could borrow for free. There were about 500 or so movies available.

Another welcome freebie was the free use of the clothes washers and dryers.

They have a small outdoor pool but we didn't use it, so I don't know if it was warm or not.

The bedroom area of our room was carpeted but it was very clean (I'm the kind of person who brings a pair of flip-flops for wearing in hotel rooms and I didn't feel the need to use them here). Pillows weren't too bad, either. Not too tall or puffy so I was able to sleep without getting a kink in my neck.

There's not much to do around the neighbourhood...a car is pretty much a requisite. But that was fine with us. The main thing is that the room was very clean and had an abundance of features.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lars582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Great review!!! Wow, thanks so much for the wonderful review and the kind words about the Hotel & staff. We at Team Candlewood appreciate your business and welcome you back anytime! Please tell all your friends and come back real soon please.

Thank You

Dan Berben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We started staying at this Candlewoods Suites location over three years ago. We have usually stayed for at least seven (7) days. We have come back each year because of the excellent service and value. the location affords easy access to most area activities and attractions. We'll definitely be back. We definitely recommend Candlewood Suites Hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Raymond,
We hope you return soon!! We at Team Candlewood strive for the best service in town, and this is the reason why. Thanks for the great review, tell all your friends & family about us.

Thank You

Dan Berben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great location for value if you plan to go to the beach. We had a two room suite for 8 nights and it was awesome to have the extra space. Kitchenette with bar area, couch and tv area plus separate bedroom. Free laundry is great for washing out the beach towels. Nothing around the hotel but we did everything at the beach anyway before nightly return. I would definitely recommend. We have stayed here three years in a row and will be back next year.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SuzanneMon719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

What can I say but Thank You for the great review. Its guest like you that return year after year that make our jobs so rewarding. Team Candlewood says a big "Thank You!!".

Dan Berben

PS. Hope you can make it back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had one night before heading to Sanibel Island. We wanted to check out Ft. Myers beach with staying on the beach and this is a perfect location. The receptionist upgraded our room and we didn't even ask for it. The room was great, spacious and clean. The bathroom was spacious but the toiletries were bare. Will stay here again if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Home away from home, that's our goal. We love to give our guests free upgrades to our two room full kitchen suites when we can. We thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review. Please tell your friends & family, and come back soon!

Thank You

Dan Berben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,153 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
10.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
8.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Myers near JetBlue Park
8 mi away
Best Western Fort Myers Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: $77 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing