We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Room But Not Too Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean Room But Not Too Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel a little after 6:00pm. We got to the front desk but there were nobody there. They have a sign instead saying, "Sorry, I am currently away from the desk assisting another guest. Dial "0" for immediate assistant". So, we did dial "0". We kept getting a message saying dial "0" for a assistance over and over. We called at least 5-6 times, but we couldn't get through. We waited for almost 30 minutes....we will be waiting longer if the housekeeper didn't show up. Then the front desk attendant finally came, she's an older lady, and instead of apologizing, she told us that we should have call. So, told her that we did 5-6 times and she kinda blame us that her phone or whatever she's using didn't ring. We dialed "0" again to show her that we did. Then she finally realized that it was her phone that didn't ring, then she apologized. If we didn't drive almost 3 hours that day and not too exhausted, I would definitely transfer to a different hotel. Anyway, at least our room was very nice and clean. We got a kitchenette, a good size refrigerator, microwave that didn't work that well, nice sized TV, and we got a swamp like view. We stayed here for 2 days. We came to Fort Myers to relax, but our first night was kind a disappointment because of the service we got. But we had fun checking out the beach and the town of Fort Myers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I apologize that you experienced a problem when you checked in, this is definitely not the norm for our property. We at Team Candlewood strive for 100% excellence for all of our guests. We appreciate the nice comments on our cleanliness and how much you liked your room. I would ask that the next trip to Fort Myers beach, please call me directly at the Hotel. I can promise you a much more enjoyable future stay. I would also like to let you know that we upgraded our portable phone system, so our Team members can always be reached when away from the desk. Again, we thank you for your patronage and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    202
    56
    31
    23
See reviews for
192
277
56
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is at least a 4 star hotel and not a 2. I am assuming that the reason it's rated a 2 is because it has no restaurant or bar. The studio we stayed in was very inexpensive. I have stayed at 4 stars that were not as nice as this. Everything was spotless and the kitchenette fully equipped. The standard size fridge with freezer and auto ice maker was great. I stayed there for 2 weeks. Housekeeping was once a week but I like the idea of not having someone in your room everyday because I like to sleep in or relax in the morning and nobody is waiting in the hall to come in and tidy up your room. You can get clean towels or whatever anytime from the front desk or any maid you might meet in the hall. It's about 5 miles from the beach. there's a Publix's about a mile away. Nice quiet area, pool is just okay and nothing special. My husband liked the exercise room. They offer free movies (CD's) that you can borrow from the front desk.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
4 Star Hotel, yes we at Team Candlewood would have to agree! From the beautiful appointed rooms, heated pool, free Laundry, and great workout gym We have it all for the best price in town. And with all that we have absolutely the best Team staff in all of Fort Myers. Come check us out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there over the weekend and was given a nice room except there was trash in the bin and no trash bin in the bathroom also dishes in the dishwasher this is not the Candlewood Suite i know it is always clean so i was a little dissappointed this time, maybe next time might be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for letting me the General Manager know about your stay with us. Good or bad, all feedback from our guests help us to improve operations and the total guest experience. Please contact me Dan Berben the next time you come to the Fort Myers area. I will take very good care of you and can promise you a much better experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 days. It is a very clean large room with dishwasher, microwave, huge fridge/freezer, large LG tv and DVD player, all kitchen utensils are clean, dishes provided, pots & pans also. Queen sized bed very comfortable. Nice outdoor pool. Free DVD's at reception 2per night. Staff are friendly and my dog is safe in the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I personally thank you for the very nice review and compliments to our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and how pet friendly we are at Team Candlewood. Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed a weekend at this Candlewood and it was the best little getaway ever. The area is great. Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. Our room was perfect. Very clean, high ceilings, SUPER comfy bed and I loved the fact that I could wake up and cook my husband breakfast. The staff was wonderful. Helpful and friendly. Being a movie lover, I was extra excited that there were movies provided at the front desk for check out without having to go anywhere or pay for a movie rental. I highly recommend staying here and would without a doubt do it again myself. A+!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimalyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review, we at Team Candlewood really appreciate great positive feedback from our guests. Please come back soon, and we thank you for your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week while attending to some business in the area. The room was spotless, the bed - extremely comfortable - although one side was pushed up against a wall which didn't allow one of us to get into bed from the side....

There's a microwave, full size fridge, two burner stove, dishwasher, toaster, small drip coffee maker, etc., and a large closet. The hotel has a beautiful pool, gym, free laundry room, BBQ grill, business center with a PC and printer, lounge area, and a small cafe with free coffee and some necessities, food, snacks, etc. available for purchase.

My husband and I found this hotel convenient to shopping, beaches, airport and anywhere else we needed to go and yet it's off the main drag in a quiet commercial area. This hotel DOES NOT provide daily housekeeping services; which we did not find to be an issue for us. We were able to trade in our towels for clean ones, or request additional pillows, etc. whenever we wanted to.

We would confidently recommend this hotel, depending on your needs.

Room Tip: We were originally offered a room on the first floor, but requested an upper floor, which was gladly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsslastwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Clean, new all suite hotel. Fitness center, FREE laundry, pool. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Carol at the front desk. She had tons of info on local eateries and things to do. Would definitely stay at Candlewood Suites again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
10.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing