We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Low Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Low Price!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love this place and highly recommend it! If you're looking for the best of both worlds, low price and luxury, stay here! The rooms are modern and impeccably clean. It's about 4-5 miles to Fort Myers Beach, but it's definitely worth it if you like newer clean rooms. I stayed in a studio suite, which had a furnished kitchen, flat screen TV, great view of the woods, comfortable bed, large bathroom. You won't find a deal like this on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel, Florida.

I will definitely share your comments with the entire staff and especially the housekeeping staff, as they work so hard to maintain the cleanliness of the property.

Thank you,

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    207
    58
    32
    23
See reviews for
199
288
57
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our daughter was admitted into a near by hospital. It was an emergency, we wanted a hotel as close to the hospital as possible,not being familiar with the area started to look at TRIPADVISOR. We found great reviews on Candlewood in Ft Myers close to the hospital. Carol was referenced as being very helpful and in our family's time of GREAT distress we needed to speak to a understand person. I decided to call her directly and the reviews were SO correct. She was so warm, understanding,helpful we felt so good after speaking to her we just knew would stay at Candlewood just because of her warm welcome. She gave us all the information we needed to make our stay comfortable, she always asked how our daughter was doing etc. Thank you Candlewood for a great stay. And Carol words cannot express our heartful thanks to you. And Harris for checking us out and asking about how thing are going with our daughter and wished us a safe trip going back home. Very family feel.....without a doubt we would stay any time again, everything is clean and well taken care of.

Room Tip: I would assume all the rooms are good, all with a kitchenette which was great. Rear rooms face some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Candlewood Suites in Fort Myers/Sanibel, Florida. We hope that your daughter is doing well. Carol, Harris and the rest of the team are very caring and love to make everyone feel at home.

Once again, thank you for your glowing review and have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at candlewood previously and we stayed there again when we were having work done on a condo we had purchased. We were happy to see Carol at the desk when we walked in. Carol is professional and friendly and helped us with every request we had including a tv remote problem. When Carol is not working Harris is there and he is a great representative for candlewood. They both make a wonderful first impression. Thank you Carol and Harris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers/Sanibel. I am very fortunate to have the team that I do. I know that they will always take care of our guests. It is such a pleasure to hear such wonderful reviews. I will be sure to pass these wonderful comments to the team.

Thank you,

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Everything was great about Candlewood Suites starting with Harris, Carol and Clark at the front desk to the very clean and extremely functional suite which we loved. We are new Carriage House owners at nearby Lexington Country Club and originally booked only 3 nights but wound up staying 9 due to issues in furnishing our Condo which prevented us from moving in. This could have been a disaster had it not been for Candlewood which saved the day... the amenities are many including in house laundry which we did take advantage of. We also enjoyed breakfast each day in our fully equipped kitchenette. There is a fitness center, lounge and snack bar as well.

Before I retired, I traveled 2 or 3 times a month and I can honestly say...Candlewood is Top Class at very reasonable rates !

Walt & Nancy Hojnacki

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whojo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Candlewood Suites Ft. Myers/Sanibel Forida. It is with great pleasure that I pass these comments to the team at the Candlewood Suites. They are a hard working, dedicated team.

I hope that you have been able to settle into your new home! Contgratulations, this is always such an exciting time (once all the furniture arrives!).

Thank you,
Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a great location near Sanibel Island as well as Fort Myers Beach. Also close to stores, malls, restaurants. The hotel was very clean and well kept. Our A/C wasn't working but the receptionist, Carol, was able to quickly assess that it was broken and get us moved to a room right next door which was great since I was worried about having to re-pack and move to another floor. I liked that I didn't have to ask for a room nearby because it was one of the first things she said. Overall, A+. We will definately stay here again. We head to Fort Myers bi-annually and I imagine we'll always chose this hotel.

Room Tip: There wasn't a restaurant actually nor did we need room service but everything else was a 5 so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBalsitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Candlewood Suites, Fort Myers/Sanibel. Carol has already read your review and it has really made her day! She has great customer service skills. We are really blessed to have Carol on our staff.

We look forward to your return visit.

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had an amazing time!! Great customer service by Carol that was in the front desk at time of arrival on Sept. 22, 2012. I would come back here or book from now on to any Candlewood due to this experience. Thank you very much for this experience!!

Norman Maradiaga

Room Tip: Everything about this place is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We thank you for your kind remarks of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel. As you can see from a lot of our reviews Carol is mentioned quite often, She does a great job taking care of our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip.

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway hotel, We had a little trouble with the first room because the shower diverter was broken. This was easily remedied by changing rooms. The front desk was nice enough to put us in a room with a pond view as we had originally requested. We love watching the turtles and alligator that inhabit the pond.

We had booked the hotel 2 months in advance and as luck would have it, Fort Myers was being threatened by hurricane Isaac. We enjoyed the lending library of dvds that were available to pass the time as the weather was somewhat undesirable for the first few days of our stay.By Tuesday, the storm had passed and the weather was beautiful for the rest of our 8 night stay. We checked out right before Labor Day weekend as the hotel was seeing an influx of guests checking in.

Overall, this hotel is in a nice quiet area away from traffic. Very clean rooms with a microwave, stovetop burners, toaster, fridge, and a dishwasher. Its nice to hit the grocery store and save some money on a few meals. Be warned though , there is no oven so those big frozen pizzas are out of the question, lol.

We will stay at this hotel anytime we are in the Fort Myers/Sanibel Island area. We look forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: First floor is pet friendly. The pond view is worth asking for, but you won't see much wildlife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand_n_sun06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel. It is so nice to know that we can be your home away from home. The entire team works very hard to make sure that the hotel is always clean and inviting.

I will try to see what I can do about getting the alligators to make an appearance for your next visit with us!

Micheline Lobdell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Fort Myers and Sanibel Island has to offer at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers-Sanibel Gateway Hotel. The hotel is ideal for relocation apartment style living without the hassles of long term leases. Our condominium style hotel suites offer all of the amenities you will need for a weekend Ft. Myers or Sanibel Island Beach getaway or long-term lease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing