We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed at this resort twice within the past 3 years. Both visits were only one night (a precursor to Captiva home rental) but wonderful.

The Sanibel Tower is the main tower and my preferred location, as the furnishings are more up to date.

Decent rates for the resort can be found, however, food/drinks are at a premium - not unusual for a resort.

Highlights -

-wonderful pools and gorgeous grounds
-wonderful front desk service
-great food - especially the breakfast buffet - waitress was WONDERFUL!


Lows -
- no beach access
- not enough chairs at pool which creates a huge mess - every morning between 7 and 8 am people are rushing down to the pool to "reserve" SEVERAL lounge chairs all together (on my recent trip a man actually spread hotel pool towels over 12 lounge chairs at 8 am and then didn't come down until after 11am. VERY RUDE and inconsiderate to many guests at the hotel
-poolside bar/restaurant opens too late and closes too early
-waitress at dinner was very "curt and short" not polite in the least

Room Tip: request Sanibel Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    469
    236
    89
    41
See reviews for
394
568
41
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Level Contributor
184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I really enjoy this property every time I come. Stayed in Captiva this time w/shuttle service to the main building where most of our conference activities were held. The shuttle drivers were kind and courteous but the vehicles left some to be desired. The one w/well operating air conditioning was hard to enter/exit due to high step up and challenge navigating to the back seating, especially w/the necessary carry-on items need for conference sessions and the mini-bus configured one was hot hot hot at the peak of warmest time of year; saving grace was that the rides, albeit frequent, were short. Room was spacious and comfortable. Maid service was good but tub drained slowly and shower pressure was not as vigorous as expected. Enjoyed the 2nd floor Captiva lounge but missed that there was no sandwich/snack shop adjacent as had been in the past. Food on the property was pricey but our group had basic meals provided 3x a day so, in spite of many evening dining chicken meals, food was plentiful and fresh. Yes, I'll go back again.

Room Tip: Main building will eliminate the need for shuttle for Captiva poses if you have need to go to main.
See more room tips
Green Features: towel save is available and effective; meeting rooms are too cold following aqua sessions. I know of no other features to mention to achieve the 50 character response requirement.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
251 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband & I stayed in the 1-bed room suite #1092 for two nights and enjoyed it. Friendly and efficient check in staff, the best and fastest valet parking we have ever had, beautiful lobby overlooking the gorgeous view of the pool and ocean. Our corner suite has two balconies each with two chairs, a small table and wonderful ocean view.
We give the rating of 4 instead of 5 because the room housekeeping needs improvement: This is the first time a Marriott has not prepared our bed "feather free", but the situation was corrected. The face cloth was stained with yellow spots and only one cup for the coffee machine. The bathroom wall needs paint touch up. The maid did not understand simple English sentences.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Sanibel Tower for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had discovered this property a number of years ago and it had become one of our favorites. We love the location and the grounds. Wooden walkways lead you through trees and over water to get to the spa and fitness center. It is like you are on a secluded walk and could be very romantic. We did use the spa ( my daughter a massage and myself a pedicure).. Both services and the spa were great.
We spent 2 nites watching the sunset while we ate. You couldn't ask for better atmosphere.The other night we went across to Sanibel and another tried a place in Ft Meyers.
The staff are excellent from Bilal at the front desk, Phil ( bell staff).. Our great housekeeper on the 7th floor...I could go on and on. I really enjoyed talking to Eileen in the shop by the pool. Turns out she went to high school at our rival and we shared some great stories. The pools are lovely and my family enjoyed taking out a kayak. We watched dolphins from our balcony. We had a great view of the causeway and Sanibel.
When you enter the lobby you see what a grand facility it is and it gets better from there!
Stay here and experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I reserved 2 rooms for several days including spa services. I request a room on a high floor, resort view and a refrigerator. Not only did I not get a room on a high floor, but the refrigerator was not available and the view from both rooms is of a roof with a satellite dish. Upon speaking with the front desk I was told that even though I called to confirm things days ago, especially the refrigerator, they were unable to provide them due to other activities (a last minute wedding & conference overflow). If this was the case, this should have been mentioned during the 2 phone calls I had this week or during prior phone calls. I understand that these may not all be achievable but to check-in a find that the one item (refrigerator) that was stressed as important & verbally confirmed was not available due to last minute events is concerning & disappointing. In addition to this, I placed a call to housekeeping for 1 towel & 1 pillow and didn't receive them until 2 almost 2 hours later. This is not the kind of customer service I expected from a Marriott that was the winner of a 2014 Trip Advisor award. This is definitely not the experience I expected from a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islanchild .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hi islanchild .


Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your feedback on your most recent visit to our resort. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues have been addressed.

Our resorts goal is to offer a Brilliant Experience to each and every guest we serve. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future and provide the experience we know our resort team can provide. Thanks again for being our guest.

Safe Travels,

Your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Planned only one night but so beautiful we stayed two! Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and a view to die for. All at a great cost. This is right next to Sanibel Island. Restaurants on site served excellent food. Thanks for a nice break

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had a suite and found the furniture, layout and electronics quite dated. The whole place had a worn down, need of new furniture and paint. Number of electrical sockets was like homes in the 50's. Room service was terrific. Parking charges were just stupid as I self parked in their garage. The view from my room should have been terrific but there was so much salt on the window I couldn't see out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Mercant700,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your feedback on your most recent visit to our resort. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues have been addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,572 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing