We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay says something!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The first time we stayed we were in the Main building which we like much more. The second time we were in the outer building. The room, pool and facilities were nice but we like the Main building. All and all it is a terrific hotel and the steak house next door is terrific. I like that they have a jitney to get there...but, I liked it more when I walked back after dinner.

Room Tip: Get the Main building up high so you don't have to look at the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elkie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Elkie L,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your most recent stay with us. Both Sanibel & Captiva Towers, while they are different, each have their own unique character!

Again, thank you for the great review & we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincere Regards,
Jahangir H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,296 - 1,302 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite in the main building, which was nice. Room overlooks the pool and water. The music is quite loud by the pool, but luckily, they turn it off at 9pm. staff is friendly. You will need a car. The hotel is not walkable to anything. Ate at one of the onsite restaurants one night. Expensive, and not all that great. It wasn't what I expected from a marriott resort property, but it was fine. I would most likely not stay here again. Too far out of the way not to be an excellent property.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear stephanie p,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience at our resort and hope that you enjoyed the room upgrade you received.

It is our goal to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of our resort and regret that you feel we fell short during one of your meals with us.

Should you return to Fort Myers and Sanibel, we hope that you will consider staying with us.

Sincere Regards,
Jahangir H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Awesome Resort!! We were at my best friends wedding over Memorial Day weekend and our stay was fabulous!! Comfortable rooms, the pool was awesome and you put up a flag on your lawn chair if you wanted a drink or some food. There was also a hut where you could book a jet ski tour or fishing excursions! A fabulous get away!! We will be back!! Staff was very friendly!
You will need a car to venture over to Sanibel or Captiva though. Awesome buffet breakfast as well!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Sanibel Tower GREAT VIEW!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Amy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your stay with us! We are delighted you and your friends had a great time - and we look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,
Jahangir H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm so glad that I read your reviews prior to my stay at this resort because I felt equipped and knew what to expect when we arrived.

At check in, we were informed that we were upgraded to a suite in the Captiva Tower (this tower is separated from the main resort with no supporting services such as, coffee shop, restaurant or other guest services on site) which we declined and insisted on room in the Sanibel Tower. After some effort by the front desk, we were offered a beautiful, quiet studio room which we were very happy with and would highly recommend.

The staff throughout the resort were outstanding, very friendly, helpful and resourceful when asked questions.

Restaurants were excellent with the exception of the Courtside Steakhouse. The night we decided to have a quiet dinner there was also a large group booked for the private dining room however, the bar is in the middle of the main dinning room and the group was gathered here while they waited to be seated in their room. Although the staff was very sympathetic, we left without having our meal.

One disappointment was the "Resort Fee" of $15 per day that we were not aware of until we checked out so please take note.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this Resort to all.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Only stay in the Sanibel Tower...avoid the Captiva Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear ChristineA530,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

On behalf of the management and staff at our resort, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to provide you with an upgrade to one of our suites during your stay!

We apologize that you were not aware of the Resort Fee and will do our research to discover where the communication breakdown occurred. This should have been shared with you when you confirmed your reservation.

Thank you for recognizing our service oriented staff throughout the resort. As you noted, our team proudly possess Marriott's 'Spirit To Serve"!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful Southwest Florida.


Sincere Regards,

Jahangir H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a wonderful Mother-Daughter trip. The hotel does not have an airport shuttle. We rented a car and were so glad we did. It is a fairly easy 30 minute drive and we needed a car to drive to the island. The hotel is situated right before you go over the bridge to get to the island. (FYI: it costs $6 to go over to the island). The front desk people were very friendly and competent. The ladies at the concierge desk were great, giving us lots of helpful information. The spa services were wonderful..(ask for Wanda for a facial). Food and service was good in the restaurants and poolside.
The only issue we had was with housekeeping. Not terrible, just a little lacking in the details.
This hotel has two nice pools, a fishing pier & boat dock but does not have a beach. You need to drive at least ten minutes to get to a beach.

Room Tip: It costs a little moe, but worth it to stay in Sanibel Tower instead of Captiva Tower. Captiva Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Cathy J,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We're so very happy that you enjoyed a mother-daughter getaway at the Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort and hope you both made many wonderful memories you won't soon forget!

With our restaurants, pools, spa, fishing pier, boat dock, and warm hospitality, it's so easy to have a tropical getaway right here! We hope to see you both the next time you find yourself in beautiful Southwest Florida.

Warm Regards,

Jahangir H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this resort ( our 3rd time ) during May for 4 nights in a Studio Suite in the main building.
For the first two nights the hotel was overrun with convention guests however following their departure the hotel was a little more like you would expect when travelling on vacation.
We did have some issues which one of the senior managers went some way to resolve however I must say that the impersonal & detached manner of the check in / front desk staff was not something I would normally expect at a Marriott of this standing.
That said we have booked to stay in a 1 bedroom suite for later this year which underlines the fact that we both really enjoy this hotel but a little more consistency in approach from the senior staff would be of undoubted benefit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear DSDurham,

We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We enjoy welcoming you back every time you visit with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon and promise to have the warm, welcoming hospitality you know and expect from Marriott.

Sincere Regards,

Jahangir H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel, but I was disappointed to find that we were charged for a daily "resort fee" and parking fee. This is not a beachfront property so you will have to drive and pay a $6 toll to go over to Sanibel Island each time you go. Our room was not made up even though we took the sign off to indicate we wanted our room straightened. I would rather know up front what my cost is going to be so I can plan accordingly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jahangir H, General Manager at Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Gail S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you encountered with not having your room refreshed during your recent visit. We sincerely regret if we failed to meet your expectations and believe your experience is not indicative of our Marriott standards. It is our priority to provide guests with remarkable service complimented by our warm and welcoming hospitality.

Please know that we value your comments and we are not certain where the communication breakdown occurred as it relates to our resort fee. This should have been shared with you when you confirmed your reservation. Our apology that you feel this is an unnecessary charge. However, our resort is in line with others in the area in charging a resort fee which includes many amenities our travelers utilize. Our resort fee includes: wired & wireless internet, coffee in your room, turndown service upon request, incoming faxes, no 800/888 telephone surcharges, trolley transportation around the resort complex, full use of our state-of-the-art Fitness Center, unlimited access to our world-class Spa facilities, and admittance to any of the more than 30 exercise classes offered weekly.

Many of our guests find that being 5 minutes away from the beaches of Sanibel, and just 15 minutes from Fort Myers Beach to be one of our greatest assets. Whether you are looking for untouched natural white sandy beaches on Sanibel, or all that comes along with being a popular beach town such as Fort Myers Beach, our guests have the ability to design their vacation while staying with us!

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you our true 'Spirit to Serve' the next time you are in Southwest Florida.

Best Regards,

Jahangir H.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,386 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
3.5 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: $196 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Otel, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing