We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“thoroughly beautiful, relaxing vacation complete with dolphin sightings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“thoroughly beautiful, relaxing vacation complete with dolphin sightings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just returned from the hotel and I was stunned when I read some of the reviews. I do not understand who someone could go on a vacation to this property and find anything to complain about. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Beds couldn't have been more comfortable. The staff at the hotel was very accommodating, friendly and efficient. We originally were booked into the Captiva tower. Although the rooms were very spacious and well decorated, we requested, and were moved to the Harbour tower. The Captiva is far from the main building where most of the resort facilities are. The hotel has a fishing dock where we saw dolphins every day of our vacation. they offer free bike rentals. The health club has an exercise room. The pool is lovely and large enough for lap swimmers. We ate at two of the restaurants which had very good food. We had a throughly, delightful relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: The Captiva tower was more remote and quiet. If you want more convenient access to the facilities, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pvtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    477
    239
    89
    41
See reviews for
407
578
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've traveled extensively in the U.S. and by far this hotel and location were the best I've ever had. We were half way through our 1.5 month road trip across the U.S. and we decided to leave New Orleans and head to the gulf coast of Florida. I had visited the gulf with my family as a small child and had great memories of the white soft sand beaches. So my husband and I booked into this location using the Marriott website. We paid slightly higher than we usually do because from the pictures on the hotel website and my location search using Google Maps I could see we would be right on the water.

Although when we arrived we found construction going on in the main lobby, however their wasn't really any noise and it didn't really affect our ability to utilize everything at the hotel. This hotel really was a resort. They had so many activities available for people. They had a game room which would be great for kids. They had a small fishing dock that they would loan/rent out fishing equipment. They had awesome couple hammocks on their mini harbor side beach. My husband and I went out in the evening after drinks and sat together in one and relaxed. It was so great. The hotel pool looked nice although we didn't use it. We headed over to Sanibel Island which is about a mile away by car, or you can walk too. The hotel concierge gave me a great map of the island noting the different beaches there and local grocery for food. I explained that my husband doesn't swim so we were looking for a shallow calm beach for him to enjoy the water. She told me of a perfect one and we headed out. The beach was amazing and my husband had a great time in the water enjoying it along with me. You could walk out in shallow water up to your knees for about 50 yards from the beach. The sand was the same as I had remembered it, so soft and white.

The hotel had a great bar with food. We had drinks outside on the veranda and watched a beautiful sunset. It was priced reasonably for a hotel bar and the service and food were top notch.

Another fantastic point to the hotel was our waterfront room. It had a great balcony with small table and chairs. We enjoyed this especially when we got a short rain storm during our stay which is frequent in Florida.

Overall our stay was the best we ever had, even compared to our Hawaii stays. The hotel was in a fantastice location and also a short drive to the main beach/pier in Ft. Meyers.

Highly reccommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Reserve a waterfront room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Gambold
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked for our anniversary weekend originally a suite in the Captiva Tower. After arriving, we realized the Captiva Tower was a separated from the Sanibel Tower, which is the main part of the hotel where the restaurants were located. Just seems like there was more going on. Our original room was not ready yet, but the guy checking us in said he could put us in the Sanibel Tower, which we thought would work out better.

Overall, room was clean, great view (request the water view, not the resort view) and very happy with our stay.

We used a car service and went to a restaurant called Yabo yaborestaurant.com. Its a very eclectic place. I had blackened tuna, with crab meat and parmesan cheese and it was awesome.

Overall, very please with the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_Gambold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went there for our anniversary. You know peace, quiet, water, good food, great views.....
Please know this hotel is not on Sanibel Island. It is on the mainland (Fort Myers) shoreline.
It was in total reconstruction ! Noise everywhere! Total lobby reconstruction. Our first room faced another building's roof! We accepted the third room that I saw.
Restaurant was extremely limited & men were outside all windows drilling up all the old tile surface - very noisy; food mediocre at best! Outside was Very Hot (high 90's) and scant shade to relax in & too noisy. Final room was great & lovely balcony. The dinner cruise was very very nice with good food & great water time ! Grounds are very tropical with shrubbery.
Every time one goes to Sanibel there is a $6.00 bridge toll; if you have a FL SunPass it is better & less expensive. Sanibel visits were all great.
Hotel was not upfront about construction/noise on their website ! Furniture in rooms was old and paint chipping. Window glass was permanently 'foggy'. This Mariott was NOT up to any standard & totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room. Try to get a room in the main building, not Captiva Tower - it is a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seniorsontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

this was my 3rd time to this resort and its a great place we had a beautiful room with a great view. We're there for a conferance and all the staff was great and the food was very good as well. Definitly a great place to stay if your in this area for work or vacation great pools if traveling with the family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This resort is awesome! Stay here and pay the toll to go to Sanibel or Captiva...it will be well worth it! This is an upscale full service resort with a pool bar, sports bar and two other restaurants! Great views from the rooms in Sanibel tower. The rooms were surprisingly spacious and well appointed. They have just done a renovation and our kids had rooms on the 7th floor which were completely redone and our on the 8th floor were not, but they were still quite nice! The lobby and pool area is really nice. Cabana girls to bring you drinks or food by the pool and an awesome, big jacuzzi overlooking Pine Island Sound and the causeway bridge. Try Charley's sports bar ... It has great water views, comfy furniture, wonderful drinks and the game's always on, if you can steel your eyes away from the view to look at it! Overall, I would highly recommend this resort for families, couples and even business travelers looking for a great room with a view!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this property once a year for 5 years with her yoga studio on a weekend retreat. We look forward to it every year. Those of you who live and work in Florida(as we do) understand that the natives don't have time to enjoy all the amenities Florida has to offer. This is a great place to do just that. The rooms are spacious and the recent reno in the Sanibel Tower gives a modern upgrade. The Sanibel Tower is where all the action is. Lots of familes at the pool, the bar and all but one of the eateries. Prepare yourselves for resort prices! The Captiva Tower is the choice for peace and quiet. All you curmudgeons who dont want kids around should stay here. Don't know if this is due for reno or not. The rooms are even bigger here and the restaurants are 5 minutes away. We stayed here once and enjoyed the walk to the other tower for meals, drinks and activities i.e., our yoga retreat.

Room Tip: A waterfront view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908-2704
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing