We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Class act! They took wonderful care of us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Class act! They took wonderful care of us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The staff was outstanding! The view breathtaking! Our room comfortable and well maintained. All the amenities you could want! Kaye, the concierge, made great recommendations. Do go to The Roadhouse, a jazz club for an amazing dinner, stroll the beach on Sanibel and do not miss the Edison Home. Our housekeeper Sida made sure we quickly got any extras we requested, and Mark, our bellman, spotted our wine bottle and offered to bring us wine glasses! Everyone we poactively helpful! What a perfect weekend escape!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenKoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    528
    271
    103
    45
See reviews for
468
661
44
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Expansive views of the Sanibel harbor and bridge were awesome, with great sunsets. But the "resort" is not in Sanibel and is away from anything. My wife enjoyed laying by the pool, doing nothing but reading a book, and said the breeze through the palms was fabulous. But her final evaluation would be to stay on Sanibel. The $15 "resort fee" is an annoyance.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were staying for spring break. Apparently, a rather raudy group of college kids were too. The hotel was upended by drinking, peeing off balconies, bloody feet and vandalism within 24 hrs. of their arrival. Complaints to management were handled by offsetting us in a condo affiliated with the hotel, which was fine but the overall experience was not what we expected from this caliber of hotel. Management was apologetic however the group was not thrown out of the hotel. Apparently they book every year- so spring breakers beware.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed at this Marriott in July, 2011 for a conference.  First room was in Captiva Tower - very nice, but horrible view and away from the main building.  Seems that it may have been a condo building that Marriott bought and added to the complex.  Fine for honey-mooners or those who simply want to relax, since it has its own pool, and is VERY quiet.  Having checked in at the main building,  we asked to be relocated.  Staff was very accommodating and we were relocated to a lovely 6th floor room in the main building.  If you can, get a view of the main pool.  Ask for a mini-fridge and microwave and bring snacks and drinks.  They have fruit-infused water available, that was wonderful during the sweltering days.  Also try the very delicious (and expensive) steakhouse. Would have preferred a deeper pool, as the deepest is 4 feet.

The biggest tribute has to go to all the people who work there who are all so efficient, friendly and helpful. No-one could do too much for us.  Special kudos go to Evelin and Lenny, and others in the restaurant, who have the best attitudes!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platynum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a resort only for the "family weekend getaways". If you are going there , Monday thru Thursday expect no service, especially if you are in their Captiva building ( not the main building in the picture shown) Hence my title ALONE AND ABANDONED!!!! Hotel is showing its age, needs a good pressure cleaning and painting. Not to mention a good sweep in the lobby/driveway downstairs.
Bring water, sodas and snacks for your kids, from the supermarket before you get there. They have no OPEN gift shops in the captiva building. Hotel expects you to "Call "0" for service. Which means the poor valet kid on duty has to stop what he is doing (making tips$) come from the Main building (picture shown) to open the gift for your hungry kids. This means hungry and tired of waiting for service.
Restaurants only in the Main building (picture shown). You have to call for the trolly/rental van, to come and pick you up from the Captiva building (not shown in picture). Towels by pool only available on weekends.
Moral of the story go there with beach towels and snacks. Stay in main building ONLY (picture shown) LOL.
The staff (when present) on the other hand were friendly and always helpful. They can sell their hotel well . Love the fruit water in the lobbies. (I was like a camel drinking the fruit water).

Overall , wear and tear is getting the best of the hotel. Needs to be crisp/clean as it once was. Hotel is dead Monday- Thursday. Weekends , stay in main building (picture shown). Don't forget the snacks!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee11621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were looking for a long weekend getaway. After a lot of research on where to go, we chose this hotel. When we checked in our room was not ready (but we showed up way before check in). We just spent the time at the pool. I honestly didnt think i was in Florida. I though i was somewhere further away- loved the resort feel. It was so nice to be served while lounging. The pool was great- the main pool. We did try the secondary pool which was definitely too warm. it was like bath water (but it was 98 degrees outside). We preferred the main pool. We chose a suite just to give up more room in the Sanibel tower. We had a beautiful view of the resort, pool, and marina. Everyone was exceptionally nice and helpful. I am a stickler for excellent service, and we got that! The front desk, concierge, servers, and bell boys were super friendly. We had dinner at the Steakhouse which was good.. BUT at night when you walk back across the little bridge- beware of the mosquitoes. i was itching and scratching all night. We had breakfast every morning at the Tarpon restaurant. Again, great service. We took advantage of the marina at the resport. We rented a boat for a few hours- best part of the trip! so many great places to go and see while in the middle of the ocean. Do not miss the beautiful sunsets... on captiva island- hte BEST view is from the Mucky Duck restaurant.. do NOT miss it! can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cse1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa does not live up to its name, or the Marriott brand. First, it is on the mainland with no beach. The views from the hotel are lovely, but we went to Sanibel Island every day to gain access to its beaches. Upon arrival, we were first brought to Captiva Tower, which appears to be a condominium that was converted into one of the Marriott buildings on the property. There was no staff to meet us at the ground floor entrance, and the "reception" area was basically a desk located on the second floor. The room in Captiva Tower had stained rugs and a musty odor and faced the parking lot, even though there were others available that faced the water. After walking around the property and seeing the main building, we asked to be relocated, whch we have never done before at any hotel where we stayed. Staff was very accommodating and we were relocated to a lovely 10th floor room facing Sanibel Island in the main building. The resort offers kayaks and water skis for rent,(operated by a private company, not Marriott) but there are insufficient numbers of these to handle the requests made by guests. Although the hotel is on the water, you really can't swim off the "beach." The fitness center is very well equipped and staff at the resort are very helpful and friendly.However, I would not return to this property.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lizlawyer056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
4.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
3.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 17260 Harbour Point Drive, Fort Myers, FL 33908-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Hotel Fort Myers
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbour Hotel
Sanibel Harbour Resort And Spa
Sanibel Resort And Spa
Sanibel Harbor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing