We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manatee sighting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manatee Park

Manatee Park
Ranked #8 of 111 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Look for the West Indian manatee.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Manatee sighting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a nicely kept small park,especially,considering the low fee.It is next to a river and has pleasant walkways,rents canoes.You can see various fish,crabs,etc in the water and manatee sighting mostly in winter months.It's a pleasant excursion for an hour or two.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLehighAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    484
    215
    40
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Manatee heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Four of us rented kayaks at the park. The associate there was funny and informative, although I'm sure she gets the same questions again and again.
We paddled upstream a little, away from the crowd, and just relaxed near a few manatees surfacing nearby. Soon we were surrounded by little (comparatively!) and large manatee. Two were especially playful and actually pushed our kayaks with their snouts! We have some great memories and pictures.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small interesting park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Close to Ft. Myers, have been planning to go to this park for a few months. It is a small area, with warm water discharge from the FPL plant, which attracts Manatees from November to April. Unfortunately, I didn't see any Manatees, and not sure what I would see if I did. Missed the presentation about Manatees, which is given twice a day (at least in season), but there was a bus group which was quite large. Parking is $2 per hour, $5 per day, deposited in a container. Located on a waterway, it is a nice little walk around, with areas for native vegetation, ethnobotany, a hardwood hammock area, and butterfly garden, and explanatory signs about local flora and fauna. There is a outdoors outfitters on site, and it appears you can rent a kayak to paddle around the area, which sounds like something our visitors might like to do. From the pier you can see some nice homes on the water. Expected a longer visit, but within the hour felt like we had seen enough. Benches situated around for those who just like to sit and ponder the view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VATraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go when it's chilly out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great little spot to see manatees! They lower the temp outside the more you will see since the water is warmed by the nearby electirical plant, We went once when it was in the 50's and there were at least 100 of them. They have speakers underwater so you can hear them "talking" to eachother :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If You Want to See Manatees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the best place ever to see manatees IF the weather and water are cool enough. The manatees like to hang out here in order to warm up. There isn't much for them to eat, so they head out to the river if the water gets warmer. When we went during a really cold spell, there were too many manatees to count.

Helpful?
1 Thank LoveyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Park also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Manatee Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing