We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hours of Happiness…..pre-theater surprise and delight!”
Review of Roadhouse Cafe

Roadhouse Cafe
Ranked #5 of 861 Restaurants in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Best Food, The Best Service, & The Best Entertainment South West Florida Has to Offer!
NJ USA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hours of Happiness…..pre-theater surprise and delight!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

In a somewhat dowdy shopping center, we stopped in the Roadhouse Cafe before a performance at the Mann Arts Center, for cocktails and an appetizer. Much, much to our surprise, the cafe was crowded at the bar, but we were given seats at the piano. 1/2 price well cocktails were good and 1/2 price appetizers wowed us. Delicious antipasto with bread and garlic, chicken quesadilla with jack cheese, goat cheese, crab cakes, scallops wrapped in bacon, and Kobe beef carpaccio were enjoyed by all. But I had a real winner: linguine pesto pine nuts, roasted peppers, basil peso with a touch of cream, topped with goat cheese…….sheer delight.

Unfortunately, we could not stay for the jazz entertainment as we had show tickets, but when we return, and we surely will, we will stay for the music.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    99
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ft myers florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Seven Years and still Wonderful"”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Dinner last night was beyond excellent. The soup, the salad and the Shrimp Scampi were the 9's, the chicken dish was every bit as good and our guests were very pleased. We have been regulars since the opening, and have never been disappointed. Food and Service are the BEST.
Entertainment is TOP Shelf. Dan Miller and Company are World Class, with that kind of Entertainment nightly prices are very reasonable. A terrific value at twice the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank will006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Oh dear! Not family friendly and very expensive”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited on Thursday evening and having read the reviews expected a lot. On arrival it was obvious this place is not for families. The room was full of wealthy retired people, this is fine but don't state 'we welcome children' on the phone if really you don't. The menu was ok but very expensive, they offer no children's menu and don't even sell fries (I have eaten at restaurant all over the work and fries with a steak seems to be the norm). I ordered a filet mignon ($42) medium it came well done, asparagus over cooked and mash, well that was ok. Waitress was ok, formal, functional but not the usual flair you see in Fort Myers. Shame!

Helpful?
1 Thank SimonC14SRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were looking for a steakhouse and a friend recommended Roadhouse. We're glad we took his advice. Roadhouse is a hidden gem, located in a small shopping strip off San Carlos. The restaurant ambiance reminds me of an steakhouse in Chicago or New York. We got there around 5:30 and missed the live jazz music which starts at 7 pm.

The service was outstanding. Our server was on top of things, and met all our needs. The martinis were excellent. We both had steak and seafood, Our steaks were delicious and our scallops were cooked to perfection. For dessert, we had carrot cake, which was very good. Overall, Roadhouse is one of the best restaurants in Fort Myers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Remains one of the Best”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been to the Roadhouse Cafe in past years and were pleased to find that it hasn't lost a beat. Food, service and atmosphere all remain some of the best in the area.

My husband had the shrimp cocktail and pronounced it very good, high praise from him. I passed on an appetizer even though several looked great but wanted to try to make sure I could finish the entree. However, I couldn't pass on the great bread with oil, garlic and herbs.

My husband had the seafood casserole which he has had before and it continued a winner. I had the chicken stuffed with lobster which i have not had for a while and it was great. There was lots of lobster and when I asked for extra sauce, it was brought quickly

Great service is a hallmark. Whatever we asked for, it was brought quickly and with a smile. At one point a server (not ours) leaned across a half wall to ask if we needed more water! And all this was on a night when it was very busy with several large parties.

We opted for a dessert of sorbet and it was plenty for two and excellent. They don't skimp on portions here so there is value for your money,

Finally to top it off there is music which starts at 7 on weekdays and a dance floor for those who would like to try it out. As mentioned, it was very crowded on the evening we visited and from where we were sitting it was hard to hear the music. However this is a fine line for restaurants, it the music is too loud, it makes it impossible to talk with tablemates, I think they make the right choice and it seems there is some seating for those who primarily want to listed to the music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing