We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centerpiece of a Revived Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Fort Myers
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Downtown Ft. Myers, surrounded by sterile and traffic-clogged suburbs, has reawakened as a restaurant and entertainment district and the Indigo Hotel is THE place to stay. It was the headquarters for my recent high school reunion -- a post-rowdy, post-middle-age crowd massaging old memories and out for good fun -- and it was a perfect spot. There are good restaurants in and out of the hotel, and the convention center near the Caloosahatchee River is a short walk away. The rooftop bar on a Saturday night was busy but not overwhelming. The hotel staff was cordial and for the most part accommodating. My room had a king bed and was pleasant and quiet enough. One small quibble -- the hotel called with a welcome message and if you don't follow the command to erase it the blue light will blink all night lighting up the ceiling. The operator couldn't (or didn't) turn it off and even a towel on the phones didn't blank it out entirely. Otherwise, a fine stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 556 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with wife and two children in 2 room suite #703, $269.00 a night. Really enjoyed it. King size bed in bedroom, nice decor, river front view. Hotel’s location is great, a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Hotel’s lobby has couple of restaurants as well. Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Has rooftop pool, but it was too cold to use on the days we stayed. Very clean. Only one negative I would point out: booked it for 2 adults and 2 children with breakfast, they give you only 2 breakfast vouchers per room, seems wrong. You can charge me $5.00 more for room rate, but don’t nickel and dime me on kids breakfast. Just an opinion. Would still recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here as part of a road trip around Florida. We were here two nights over Easter weekend (which in the US is Spring Break). We expected the hotel to be busy but actually it was relatively quiet! I've read what other reviewers have said about noisy streets and rowdy rooftop bar parties. But our experience was quite different. We stayed in room 309 - a great room that overlooks City Hall on Main Street, which in itself was a terrific thing to wake up to. There was a slight mix-up on check-in but this was dealt with efficiently. The room was great - comfortable bed, plush interior in cool shades, coffee machine, good size bathroom, slightly antiquated aircon (but it worked fine). There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel lobby and two bars, one on the ground floor and one on the roof. Reception and housekeeping staff were excellent - staff in the Bistro restaurant seemed more rigid in their approach to rules and regulations and Alex the rooftop barman was aloof (no .. actually - rude) all the time we were there (really lets the hotel down). The pool is quite small but for the number of people using it whilst we were there, it was fine and actually was a nice little oasis. The hotel is well placed among small downtown streets of restaurants and bars. Altogether - this is a great hotel. Modern, funky and well positioned. Oh - by the way - don't pay the $14 per day valet parking charge - there is a perfectly adequate pay-to-park car park just two blocks away! It cost us just $6 all weekend!

Room Tip: Breakfast included is very rigid and no flexibility is really considered! Room 309 is a must ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h0vetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

In the midst of the rejuvenated river district, Hotel Indigo is an easy stroll to numerous quality dining and drinking options for guests without a car. Everything in this hotel appears new, though located in a restored building. Wifi was free and fast during my stay of four nights. The rooms are very clean and contemporary in decor. Beds are high quality as are furnishings. Towels and bedding are soft, clean, and comfortable. Service at the front desk is thoughtful and responsive. The tiny roof top pool is clean and quiet, with a small modern exercise room adjacent to the pool. The rooftop bar is fairly priced and varied in service depending upon bartender on duty. Oddly, the absurdly high wall around the rooftop amenities makes enjoying the view impossible while seated.

Dining choices are extensive nearby. I recommend Fords Garage, Yanos, and Firestone Grill.

The river front is a block away and the entire district benefits from a complete redevelopment. The hotel neighborhood is somewhat in a dystopian law enforcement zone as the hotel is sitting next to the federal courthouse and diagonal to the police station. The location feels safe, though the hotel is surrounded by criminal defense attorneys and bail bonding offices.

I would recommend this hotel for business or couples not looking for resort amenities. This is a good value property that is the sole hotel benefitting from the redevelopment of the district.

Room Tip: Stay on fifth floor or higher to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Indigo in Ft Myers because we wanted to explore downtown. Recently remodeled from the old post office, it's got an upscale hip vibe. Our room was quite lovely with comfy pillows and bed, pretty bedding and a lovely decor. But when I stared to unpack I noticed what was missing. Although there was a desk, a high table and TV table, there was no place to put a suitcase. I checked the closet and there was no folding suitcase bench. We only had two carry-on's but I wasn't interested in working from a suitcase on the floor.

I called the front desk and was told the hotel didn't provide any suitcase holders, but they would see if they could find one. A few minutes later a nice fellow arrived with one. I asked him why there wasn't one in the room and he said the fire code allowed only a certain amount of furniture in the room. So I guess the decorator decided the long, high, narrow table to hold the coffee maker was more important than giving guests someplace to put their luggage. We cleared a spot on the desk for the other carry-on and used the PC from the bed.

I was also disappointed that an upscale boutique hotel wouldn't have a make-up mirror in the bathroom. A few nights before we were in a Crown Plaza for less money and there was a great lighted one in that room.

My last comment is that the lobby smells like incense. Not an odor I want. The staff was nice but I wouldn't go to this property again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRPNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear NRPNewJersey.

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room furniture. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My new favorite hotel in the Ft. Myers area. Awesome property, great staff and cool rooftop area. The beds are incredible-you will sleep like a baby. Close to fun shops and eateries. A definite stay in the area. Close enough to the beach you can enjoy the day there and then come back to great nightlife along the River. I will stay here for business or pleasure again.

Room Tip: Ask for a River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived late at this hotel. Check in was easy and fast. Our king room with balcony was one of the biggest hotel rooms I have ever been in. Roof top bar a nice feature. Good dj on a saturday night however a bit too loud. Loved the area. I hope to visit again some day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Fort Myers - Downtown Area
0.3 mi away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#29 of 59 in Fort Myers
173 reviews
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Myers at Bell Tower Shops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Fort Myers at The Forum
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Myers
#20 of 59 in Fort Myers
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District

Address: 1520 Broadway, Fort Myers, FL 33901-3076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Price Range: $149 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Fort Myers focused on creating a sense of peace and serenity. Modern decor and innovative design coupled with traditional hotel conveniences make a stay at the Fort Myers Hotel Indigo a time to escape and relax. Families looking for lodging in Ft. Myers will appreciate our hotel's ideal location in the lovely Historic District,with close proximity to attractions such as the Historic Edison & Ford Winter Estates, Sanibel & Captiva's Beaches,Quaint downtown shops and art galleries. Within 6 miles of our downtown location, you'll find large businesses like Miva, GE, the WCI and Chicos headquarters and we are located next to the Federal Courthouse. Premium services like a Business Ctr & free high-speed Internet access available.While lodging at Hotel Indigo you can take a dip in our pool,exercise at our Fitness Center,enjoy our restaurant with great wine selections and Sunday Jazz Brunches. Hotel Indigo is connected to the Historic Post Office Arcade,providing access to a hair salon, bank, scenic rooftop bar, with great weekend entertainment. With a refreshing blend of historic charm & modern sensibility,the Fort Myers Hotel Indigo offers the very best in luxury for their guests enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing