We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic Mexican !”
Review of Chile Ranchero - CLOSED

Chile Ranchero
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Mexican !”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved the food. We ordered several different items from the menu and they were all fantastic ! Fast, friendly service. Small place but very clean and comfortable. Glad we stumble upon this place ! We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardens100883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Estero, FL
Level Contributor
517 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It's snowbird season in Fort Myers and trying to find a place to eat without a long wait on a Saturday night can be a challenge. My wife had seen this place off of 41 and suggested we try it.
The place is not that big but there were a few tables. We ordered our meals (Vegetable Quesadilla and a Vegetable Burrito) and we were quite happy with the presentation, flavors and the portion size.
They seemed maybe to be a little understaffed but the food overshadows even that small issue. We will be back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scoutdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Love Mexican food and this place know how to make it!! Don't forget to try their ceviche! Don't let the old chairs and tables scare you, they make food -not furniture!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pufflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
280 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Not a good first experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We decided to visit this restaurant as a result of a two for one promotion and the other reviews posted here.

We arrived at about 6:30 PM on a Wednesday. The location is in a nearly deserted strip mall. There is no problem with parking. On entry you realize this is a fairly small basic restaurant. However, the restaurant has allowed plenty of space between tables. The decor is minimal and the floor is simply painted concrete. It seems to have a loyal local clientele.

It appears that we arrived shortly after several other tables were seated. This meant the lone server was pressed to look after everyone in a timely manner. It took a long time to receive our first round of drinks and our appetizer which was Bean & Cheese dip. This was served with homemade chips and a delightful salsa side dish.

Our main courses were Flautas Rancheras ($9.95) for my wife and Chicken Chimichanga ($10.95) for myself. These dishes were well presented and very generous portions. My wife took a sizable portion home. Although nicely presented and tasty the refried beans and rice were warm at best. The Chimi and flautas were good. Had the dishes been served on hot plates as we are accustomed to in Mexican restaurants our rating would have been higher.

In summary a friendly, local Mexican restaurant offering tasty food at reasonable prices. The timing of your visit may affect the quality of your visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a small, non-chain operation. It is tucked away on the side of a large group of businesses. It is definitely worth seeking out. This is very good Mexican food at reasonable prices. The restaurant is small but very nicely decorated.
The quality of the food was very good and the portions very generous. The guacamole was very fresh and may have even been made to order. I enjoyed a Chile Rellenos, because I like them and also because the name of this restaurant reminded me of that Mexican dish. It was a very good choice.
Worth giving it a try and better than the chain operations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chile Ranchero also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing