We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hope to return!”

Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost & Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Mc Coy
Gulfport Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We hope to return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

We had a little trepidation going into this kayaking holiday due to some of the other reviews. I must say that our experience was great. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable and willing to share local history and lore.

We brought our own kayaking equipment but did use the transport service provided by the management. 'We found it very nicely priced and the directions provided at launch made for a spectacular day.

The grounds were very well kept, the cabin we rented was clean and well equiped. I also appreciated the river access right on the propery. I think it should be mentioned that the adjacent property is a park with boat ramp and fishing pier.

There was plenty of traffic noise, but we obviously were not in the wilderness. Traffic noise is to be expected.

  • Liked — Great screened front porch with built in table and bench.
  • Disliked — I was satisfied with it entirely
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulfportguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st pete beach, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

As other people have stated, the campground and cabins are nice. However there is a huge drawback. The campground is situated right on route 316. There is continually car, truck and tractor trailer traffic on this road, day and night. When we go camping we like to hear the sounds of nature, especially at night around the campfire. The constant noise of traffic was a big disappointment. We would not recommend staying here if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Liked — clean room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Continual Traffic noise.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdinstpetebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

Our weekend was perfect!!! There were 4 young boys in our party (ages 6 to 3) they had tons of fun and the adults had plenty of relaxation!! Cabins are big enough to make you feel cozy and small enough to make you feel like you are camping. Everything you need is there! Our party rented 2 cabins and they both were clean and well maintained. Kids had plenty of room to run and play. The canoe trip was BEAUTIFUL!! Our kids liked the canoe trip too, they saw numerous alligators!! Not many bugs and the water was very refreshing on a hot Florida day. The managemnet lives onsite but you don't know that they are there, they are extremely quiet. Very nice people!! We WILL plan many more trips to this resort!!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

May 25th, 2006
Memorial Weekend
The grounds were well maintained. They had a plus to where you unload your canoe-which was right at the campground itself. They are very strict about where you park and where you drive, managment will come out on you unleashed. They lived on premises. They had children running all around so you had to watch at all times for darting children. The female manager was very rude and unprofessional. We were with a group of about 80 and she was not a happy camper even though we were welcomed one month before memorial weekend. Our group which brought her about $6,000.00 (round about) for 5 days,was not a pleasant experience. ~ One of many unhappy campers!!!!!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

Nice place to camp and canoe. Cabins and property were clean and well maintained. Canoe and boat launching is at your camp doorstep. Management was the only problem. Female manager was less hospitable and more unprofessional then the gentleman. If there are any questions or issues direct them to him(you'll have better luck and less attitude). Shopping is close.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terrylh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Floorida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2005

- Stayed night of 5 & 6 August 2005
- Well operated facility
- Six well equiped cabins and many tent sites.
- We stayed in a cabin with a loft and the kids (6&8) were more excited about that than Disney.
- Canoe canteen basic trip takes you 8 miles upstream. Quite a few "strainers" keep you interested while you view the untouched forest around you.
- River is sping fed so even in the hotest Florida summers the canoe trip is relatively cool and the bugs weren't that bad (bring Off anyway).
- Water at cabins is shallow well feed so not very tasty. Bring your own.

Office can be contacted at:
-----
-----

Helpful?
3 Thank Breter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost & Resort

Property: Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost & Resort
Address: 15260 NE 152nd Pl, Fort Mc Coy, FL 32134-7870
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Mc Coy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Mc Coy
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost Hotel
Ocklawaha Canoe Outpost Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing