We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inverrary Vacation Resort - Its OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort
Ranked #121 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Cambs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inverrary Vacation Resort - Its OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Hi All. Just back from a 8 night stay at the IVR Hotel. 12 guys on a golfing trip. After reading some off the reports on TA re this hotel, I was a bit worries about what to expect. But I was suprised. The hotel staff were very friendly and helped us with all our needs. Arranging golf and transport for us. Rooms were adequate and cleaned every day. The double bed room looked great. The maids very friendly. Only two lifts were working at the time. So no issues at the moment. They have a bar which is open til 11pm. Again helpful staff. Food is OK in the bar. Some nights were better than others. It has 2 pool tables and at no charge. Breakfast is OK which opens daily at 7am. Food is normally out just after 7. (Could do with some fruit and yoghurts), but good quality. Reception area is clean and tidy. 2 computers for the internet and one on the front desk. Didn't use the gym or spa, so cant comment on these. Did see the pool and it did have leaves in it. But it was very windy the day before. People were still using it.
This is a nice hotel, and was adequate for what we wanted. If your looking for a 5 star hotel, then your staying at the wrong place. If your looking for reasonable priced hotel and want to play golf locally, then this hotel is fine. If you treat the staff with respect, then they will respect you. Yes we had to pay the $15 dollar daily charge, which I suppose was for the internet, car parking etc. None off our guys had a problem with this. For the kids they have a games room.
Yes the hotel looks a little tired, but again nothing major. And being in a rough area..... well we had no problems. Didnt feel unsafe at all.
Would I use this hotel again. YES. But not if your looking for 4/5 star treatment.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    82
    76
    72
    359
See reviews for
172
188
58
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
trustmeeeee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I wouldn't stay here again and I'm not picky. First I called and asked if they heated there pool. Got there and was charged 15 dollar resort fee. Questioned it and was told it was for parking and internet. (internet was suppose to be free and you pay for parking even if you don't have a car). Ok,ok, family wants to go swimming. Took luggage to room. Room has small balcony with no chairs. All furniture is pretty old and worn. They don't have enough electrical outlets so they use extension cords The room is a nice size, beds are comfortable. Fairly clean. Went to the pool and the water is cold, family upset. Called operator and was told maintenance would check. Went out 2 hours later and no warm water going into pool, told they only heat pool to 72 degrees. Thats not a heated
pool. Plus the pool is pretty dirty. The hotel lists a lot of other amenities, but its mostly all bs. The lobby is also pretty filthy. The spa is a joke. This is a run down resort with poor management that is uncaring.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trustmeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We just got back from the Inverrary Resort and had a really nice time there. In fact we stayed for a whole week. I grew up in South Florida, and I didn't feel like spending a lot to vacation down there. This place fit our parameters, but exceeded our expectations. First, it is right next to a very pleasant botanical garden, and every room seems to have a balcony. The room well-cleaned every day. Look, the hotel is not "cool" or chic --there are nice oldsters all around -- but it is well maintained and a good deal. Also, it is located on a a quite posh- looking street, by Florida standards, and is quiet. I'll take quiet over cool any day!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulPhred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusets
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We extended our vacation, because we loved the hotel so much. It is a convenient location, near Sawgrass Mall and the beach. The rooms are large, the staff is very kind, and the hotel is overall clean and up-to-date. We are leaving tomorrow, but we hope to be able to come back soon. Yesterday we had a romantic Valentines dinner at the Oak room, which was inexpensive and lovely, with live singing and delicious food.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf10
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because the pictures portrayed it as being nice. We wanted a beach vacation, and rented a car to drive to the beach. It took forever to check in, the hotel is located near the SLUMS, and the hotel staff were RUDE. There are hidden resort fees they will charge you. The beach is 10 miles away, but it takes 45 minutes to one hour to get there because of traffic from hell. The fitness center was very outdated and the golf course was undergoing renovation (meaning our views were of construction). The pool was dirty and did not receive any sun during the day. The rooms were ok, but not the cleanest. One of the elevators was broken and the other rattled like it was going to break soon as well. There are no resturaunts or shopping nearby, you have to drive at least 30 minutes to get anywhere. All in all, this hotel is really run down with poor management (most of whom barely speak English), we had a terrible experience and would NEVER stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarloaf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

Have you seen, The Shining? This hotel gives you that feeling. I booked the room for (THANK YOU GOD) one night, the day before I needed it. It was a decent rate, $99, and we needed a room so we took it. First off, it's located in a really, really bad part of town. Think, COPS. Then, as you pull up you'll notice that this place was built in maybe the late 60's and has not been touched since then. No joke. The Inverrary might have been really nice in 1972, if you needed a place to take an escort or something. It's so bad. The floors, the 1 barely working elevator, the vinyl, the smell, dingy walls, molding carpet, unfinished trim in the bedroom...I could go on and on. My husband and I were finally in hysterics because of how ridiculous it was. Long story short, don't stay here. Not for one night, not for one hour. YUCK!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverray, Manager at Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
We are sincerely sorry that this guest got such a bad impression of the Inverrary and its surrounding neighborhood. Inverrary is a nice, well kept, quiet community with a very low crime rate. We do not understand where this guest got the impression of police activity, unless it was just from seeing the streets patrolled frequently, which only means additional safety.
The Hotel was actually opened in January 1980 and was entirely renovated on 1988, 1994 and 2004. We just finished wall papering all our Resort walls and the remaining glue scent may have given the impression of odd smell. We continuously pride ourselves in our cleanliness and service, and we have a team of renovations specialists that modernize and improve the facilities on a continuous basis.
The Inverrary Hotel was a landmark in Fort Lauderdale for many years. Its fame came from the many celebrities that stayed here (President Gerald Ford, actress Jane Fonda, singer Art Garfunkel between many famous people). Even Bill Clinton before he left office came to play a round of golf in his Presidential helicopter. It was home for Jackie Gleason until his death, and he helped develop it, spending every afternoon at our Long Green Lounge and making the Inverrary Hotel the place to be while in Fort Lauderdale. He created the Inverrary Classic, a PGA event that for many years brought Bob Hope and his friends to our Resort. Times are hard for all properties because of the current economic conditions, that have put all businesses in some degree of distress, but we are going on with our renovations, particularly of the elevators and lighting systems. In this case, it seems obvious that this guest had expectations that we regrettably did not meet but we thank them for their opinion and are certainly taking it into consideration for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Inverrary Vacation Resort was extremely fabulous. Our stay was relaxing, enjoyable, and most of all exciting. The friendly staff was excellent and helpful. The beautiful decor added to the luxury of being in a resort that offered the best of accomodations. Most of all, we thoroughly enjoyed the warm weather and the view. Thanks for letting our family spend a memorable weekend in Florida.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkin29129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
5.2 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#80 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
Sawgrass Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sunrise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Cypress Creek - Andrews Ave.
Extended Stay America - Fort Lau...
#111 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tam...
#108 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort

Property: Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort
Address: 3501 Inverrary Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33319
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverrary Resort offers an array of activities like Golf,Tennis, Spa and Conference Center. Located on the West side of Ft. Lauderdale close to Sawgrass Mall and the beaches. From light fares to international cooking in our gourmet restaurant, you will have your preferred option and your variety of selection throughout your vacation. Our Conference Center will be able to accommodate your meeting or social gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverrary All Inclusive Vacation Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Inverrary Vacation Hotel
Inverrary Vacation Fort Lauderdale
Inverrary Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing