We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, fast, and ok Chinese food”
Review of Ruby Chen's

Ruby Chen's
Ranked #805 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap, fast, and ok Chinese food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This restaurant is located at the end of a strip mall that was close to the Best Western that we were staying at. There were about 3-4 tables so most people probably get take out which is what we did. After looking at the menu, we decided to get the large shrimp lo mein, sweet and sour pork (which came with white rice and sauce separate), and fried rice. The food was prepared within 10 minutes and we took it back to the hotel to eat.

It was less than $20 and too much food for 2 people. The sweet and sour pork wasn't as I expected as ordered back home. It was battered and fried pork pieces that you dip in the sauce. The low mein came with decent amount of shrimp but wish there were veggies. The large would be enough to feed 2 people.

Given the amount of food, we could have eaten full for about $15. The noodles were a bit greasy. Food ok if you are looking for cheap, fast, and fried Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamVioletP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not too disappointing or exciting.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The people working gave excellent and timely service when I was in ordering. However, after I got home with my food, I noticed that one dish was made with chicken instead of tofu. This was a problem, since I am a vegetarian. If you are a meat eater who just wants a quick bite of Chinese food, I would recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdxme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Not applicable
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Was not impressed”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I ordered dinner from here, fried rice, beef and broccoli, honey garlic chicken and sweet and sour chicken. I was not impressed, it was more amercian style chinese than real chinese food. The honey garlic chicken was batter fried with a honey garlic sauce.
The prices are ok. I would recommend one of the east buffets in margate instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummyoftwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“YES YES YES best Chinese in Ft. Lauderdale”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just came back. It is tiny so I would order take out or order and go pick up if you are too far away. You can ask for it to be spicy (which I would do on the ones not marked spicy) but the taste was spot on otherwise (we do like spicy). We had General Tso Shrimp-- Perfect, Hunam Shrimp (ask for spicy) Shrimp Chop Suey (ask for spicy) Shrimp w Lobster sce (ask for spicy) The servings are huge but they do have a small portion collumn so you can taste lots of things Only 1 drawback--no brown rice. We will order again and again. The menu is huge

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guiltfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food/Price in Ruby Chen's is Excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

During our two days stay in Fort Lauderdale, we visited Ruby Chen's twice and thanks to the advice from Tripadvisor, we really like the food there and the price is very reasonable. Would go there again if chance is given in the future.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocolele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Chen's also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Ruby Chen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing