We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice For Dinner / 2nd Visit”

Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #170 of 1,324 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Irish pub full of character and characters. We serve great food from traditional favorites like fish 'n chips and shepherd's pie to lamb chops and T-Bone steaks. With over 20 imported beers on draft your spoiled for choice when it comes to drinks, so stop by and meet our friendly staff and maybe even catch a game on one of our 16 flatscreen TVs.
Thurmont, Maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Choice For Dinner / 2nd Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I, as well as four other family members were in Ft Lauderdale recently leaving on a cruise and staying the night before at the Embassy Suites across the street from Waxy's. Having ate there previously while going on another cruise, we suggested to our group of eating there again, since we had enjoyed it before. Everyone enjoyed it, we were seated outside on the patio and though it's close to the street, we didn't find traffic noise to be bothersome. My wife and I enjoyed Fish Fingers and Sausage Rolls, both of which were very good and reasonably priced. The rest of our group had varied menu items and seemed to enjoy all. service was very good and our waitress Christina very attentive. If your cruising and staying @ the Embassy Suites, then Waxy's is the place to head for good food and drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    97
    62
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were staying one night at the Embassy Suites near the Port Lauderdale Cruise Port entrance. Decided the food prices at the Embassy were high and walked across the street to Waxy O'Connor's. Nice atmosphere and good food. This was our second time there. The fish and Chips were excellent. A lot of foreign nationals come here as well as cruise tourist. Our server Christine C was from Romania and did a great job.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentdan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Up To Our Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The food was just okay. Nothing to talk about. We thought it was very odd that they only serve beer and wine. If you drink anything else, go somewhere else. I had wine, my husband had a soda.We like good traditional irish fare and thought this was a good choice instead of a chain restaurant. The shrimp and spinach dip was terrible! It was so watery and thin- very little shrimp if any and no shrimp flavor, it should be served with bread if they want to make it watery. It was served with overly salty chips. We told the waitress what we thought and she said Oh yeah everyone complains the same thing". The 'cook' should change this. I ordered the Bangers and Mashed. A couple of the bangers looked like they were cooked and recooked. Eek, they were hard. The onion sauce was the only good part. My husband ordered Shepards pie. We were not impressed. What kind of Irish pub these days doesn't serve cocktails, only bad food? Maybe here you get what you pay for. I didn't mention the service was not friendly at all and we could barely read the menu it was so dark inside. Yes, we go to many places with dim lighting, but you can still read the menu. I think it is a ploy as to not order food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruiseChatterDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I ate lunch here. They have great beer, good food, and good service. If you sit outside, your table will be pretty close to the street and traffic noise is distracting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SEMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Typical Pub.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Ate here for lunch.

The interior was nicely decorated and the staff was friendly. I ordered a chicken club sandwich with a side salad. The Sandwich was decent, but the salad had a hair in it, so I chose not to eat it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a4zat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing