We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, but little Irish”

Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #159 of 1,331 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Irish pub full of character and characters. We serve great food from traditional favorites like fish 'n chips and shepherd's pie to lamb chops and T-Bone steaks. With over 20 imported beers on draft your spoiled for choice when it comes to drinks, so stop by and meet our friendly staff and maybe even catch a game on one of our 16 flatscreen TVs.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
210 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun, but little Irish”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

More like an American pub and grill except for various Irish food items. The staff seemed to work well with our large group of about 15, but you could tell they weren't happy about it, in fact our server was a little pissy. Food was slow to come out, but very good. The music as American and not what you would expect in a true Irish pub.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Asphaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    97
    62
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks and a snack”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had some time in the afternoon and decided to stop in at Waxy's for a drink and a snack. Has the feel of a local pub... Good service but nothing over the top. The smoked salmon dip with homemade ruffle chips was very good and the fish fingers were the best I've had ( I'm not a big fried fish eater so I've not tried many, but I do know what tastes good!)

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went on Thanksgiving as many restaurants were closed that evening and it was close to our hotel. Maybe because it was a holiday, the menu was limited. The food we had was OK but I wouldn't return again if I had other choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stonyhill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Family of 10 stopped in here for dinner. It was within walking distance of hotel. Very warm atmosphere, service was EXCELLENT. Shepherds pie was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Would return again if in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler201047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, cozy spot - hearty food”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is not a tourist spot but a place frequented by locals. Great Irish pub food and Irish beers on tap. It was a couple of blocks walk from our hotel, the Hyatt Place 17th Street Convention Center - staff there recommended it. We would go back if in ther area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ski_sunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Waxy O'Connor Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing