We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value - quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific value - quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed one night post-cruise and would stay again if I'm every again in Fort Lauderdale. Our room as spotlessly clean and well decorated. The rooms are mini-suites with a spacious separate seating area (I think the sectional sofa makes up as another bed - we didn't need it). The small refrigerator is for guest use and does not come filled with beverages. With the microwave and bar sink plus dishes, the room would be great for a family traveling with small kids or starving teens. The breakfast offered many choices and was far more than the usual continental breakfast at some hotels. There is a small bar in the lobby that offers beverages as well as sandwiches and light fare. Within a couple of blocks there are several restaurants as well as a shopping center. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the shuttle service to and from the Fort Lauderdale airport. As noted by another reviewer, the hotel did not have a bell-hop service but we easily located a cart. Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: As in many hotels, rooms away from the elevators are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ski_sunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings ski_sunSeattle!

Thank you for your kind review! Our hotel sincerely engages in providing excellent service and accomodations for each and every guest regardless of the purpose of their stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again real soon. Best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    379
    124
    62
    27
See reviews for
306
354
65
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent the night here before our cruise. It was VERY close to the cruise port. The hotel was nicely decorated, very modern, and clean. Our room was spacious. It had the best shower we have ever had in a hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and speedy. The breakfast was good with lots of choices and plenty of sitting space. The neighborhood was safe and clean with plenty of eating places and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings jen0187!
Thank you for your kind review and details about our location - we certainly take great pride in serving our guests each and every day. We hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good room ...lots of space but you are on your own to find a cart to shlep to tour room
Many people kept theirs overnight which made it difficult when we left nextmorning
For our departure breakfast was a bit too late at 6:30 .we had to ve at the airport .I felt theguy at the desk was doing it all and getting frazzled ..checking people out,organizing airport shuttles and setting up breakfast ..too muchfor one person Our shuttle leftwithout us but did return topick us up ...the advantage to being close to airport and cruiseportit worked out fine
Plenty of restaurants around
This place is popular with cruise people so is often sold out book early
Glad they took care of mildew problem

Room Tip: Not far from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmemichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greetings Mmemichele!
Thank you for your kind review. Our apologies for any concerns with the issue you mentioned above. Our staff is well trained on multi-tasking and providing excellent customer service 24/7 and in the most hectic of times. Our location does speak for itself and we do pride ourselves on providing stellar accomodations for a "Service so Memorable" experience. We do hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel staff was less than helpful and spent most if their time socializing with each other. The room smelled foul and there was mold in bathroom and other people's hairs laying everywhere. The furniture and headboards were all dirty and stained. The shuttle service was supposed to drive you as a courtesy and leave every so often but when we went down to take a shuttle to get some good they nonchalantly said no were are so busy so no service. We stayed here before our cruise and were highly disappointed. Please note that we have stayed many places between Miami and ft Lauderdale before cruises and this was the worst by far...gross! Also, I left a message for housekeeping which has the list and found looking for my daughters Sesame Street Zoey doll and never received a response back from head housekeeper!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JubeeHernhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Greetings Jubee Hernhern! Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies on behalf of the staff here at the Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center. Please note that your above mentioned feedback will be taken very serious and have begun already to address these concerns you mentioned. We believe in delivering Stellar service that provides a clean and friendly environment. As for the ZOEY doll, I will check with my housekeeping manager and to insure that we did receive your message. Again, our apologies and as we know there are many choices out there, we do hope that you will consider us again in the near future so we can show you what our hotel and staff is really about. All the best, Audra, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights pre-cruise and two nights post-cruise. Very excellent shuttle service to and from the airport. The free breakfast is very good but one morning I had to reject 5 bowls at the buffet because they had not been washed properly.
The pool area is pleasant. The rooms are large but the bathroom is quite small.
Very convenient location to many good restaurents and assorted shopping.
We have stayed here many times and are always happy to return when good rates are offered. They can fluctuate widely.
For two people it can be less expensive to take a cab than the hotel's shuttle. To and from the airport is free though.
Staff have always been first rate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpitfireLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings SpitfireLC! Thank you so very much for your kind review. Our sincere apologies for the bowl issue at breakfast- this is something that is not the norm for our hotel as "clean and friendly" is the words we live by here at the Hyatt Place 17th Street Fort Lauderdale Convention Center. We do thank you for frequents stays and will be sure to mentione to our staff both your concerns and the delightful compliments of our staff. We look forward to serving you again- in the very near future. All the best, Audra Durham- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a lot of research on hotels people stay at in Ft. Lauderdale before a cruise, I settled on this one and watched the price because we needed to stay on the Saturday night of Thanksgiving weekend.
Luckily we got a decent price for this night. They stay was pretty good, but there were a few things.
1. Check in and front desk - is weird. There is a dessert and coffee "shop" attached to it so you aren't quite sure where to go.. and there are many times there is no one AT the desk. I know I had to call down upon arrival to ask a question and no one answered but I figured it out myself. But if I couldn't figure it out, it would have been nice if the phone was answered. Otherwise.. check in was quick.. they had our pack n play waiting in the room. .and they directed us to where we could get milk quickly for my son to have before bed.
2. I hate when the sink is outside the bathroom with no door to close that off. But that is how it was set up - only the toilet and shower/tub were enclosed.. and it was tight. And the bottom of the shower curtain had mold where the magnets were - ew! Also, the toilet had something on it. Double ew. I wiped it off myself because (no one was answering the phone) but still. Ew.
3. I was happy with the room set up. It had a LARGE sitting area.. great for our bags and we were able to set the pack n play up in a corner where my son wouldn't be bothered by us watching tv in bed later on. The fridge wasn't super cold, but enough to keep his milk cold.
4. Breakfast was good but it is weird where the plates are - above the food. Everyone was walking around looking for plates, myself included. There are very few seats/tables so we were lucky my son was wide awake long before it opened at 7. Good selection of food though.
5. Cabs - we needed a cab to the port and they said "come down 10-15 min before you need it and the front desk will call." BUUUUTTT they don't take your name or room number so if you leave, the cab may come and go. They really should do that in case you need to go get your bags and stuff.
6. we found m&ms on the floor of our room near one of the beds. housekeeping.. DO YOUR JOB. good thing I found them before my son.

otherwise.. it was fine for the night. it is literally a 2 minute walk to publix and other shops out of the back door. very nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akitkat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings akitkat118!
Thank you for your kind, and informative review. Reviews as such assist in area's that are in need of improvement and will surely be shared with our General Manager, Executive Housekeeping, and overall staff. Please do accept our apologies on behalf of some of your experience that were very much less than stellar accomodations. Please do note that we do not promote any opportunity for our guests to have the "EW" factor, but that of "Service so Memorable"...in which we stive for each and every day. We do hope that, should you be in our area again that you will allow us another chance, Hyatt Place 17th Street Fort Lauderdale Convention Center will make it a stellar experience that exudes the words " Clean and Friendly"! All the best, Audra Durham- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked this property via a hotel discount site 3 months prior to staying there. I received an awesome rate for Thanksgiving night. Unfortunately, my family's day in Ft. Lauderdale started out with confusion and threw off our timing due to missing the shuttle from the airport. I was told it would be there at 1 pm but the driver told me he left the airport 20 minutes prior to that when he finally picked us up an hour later. In that hour, I called repeatedly and phone wasn't answered several times before I finally got someone on the phone. Not sure why the front desk wasn't communicating with him but he felt bad and offered to drive us wherever we needed to go for the rest of our stay. That helped take the bad taste out of my mouth when we finally got to the hotel to check in. The room was modern, very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit cramped. We ordered food and drinks from the lobby bar, and they were adequate for the price. The next morning, breakfast was hectic and crowded but the food was actually pretty good. We got a ride in the shuttle to a nearby shopping center so my daughter could get a pedicure and I went to Total Wine. He picked us up when we were done. It was very close to the hotel but it helped to not have to walk back with heavy bags. Check out was easy. Would definitely stay here again but I recommend being diligent when inquiring about the shuttle pick up times from the airport. Best to let them know flight info ahead of time and follow up upon arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AudraDOS, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Greetings 74Sunshine!

Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate your candid feedback and am pleased that our staff was able to turn things around for you in regards to the miscommunication with the shuttle service to the airport. Please know it is our intention to insure a wonderful stay for each and every guest. We do hope to see you again in the near future. All the best, Audra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#33 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#39 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 3,817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#19 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#14 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#55 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 3,913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#27 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing