We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
333 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Convenient but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Convenient for travel, but gets swarms of cruise guests every day so the hotel is often slow in service. Internet connectivity only fair. Breakfast was ok if you like volume. Room was small but clean. Some restaurants are really good and within walking distance

Room Tip: First floor near very small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osborncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for your review. We do strive to provide exceptional service and accomodations for each and every guest as well as cater to all types of travelers for each purpose no matter what the accomodations are needed for. Again, thank you for sharing and staying with us. Make it a great day! Hope to see you again, Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    426
    140
    68
    30
See reviews for
361
413
70
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights prior to a cruise. We arrived around 1:30 a.m...The hotel was tucked away in a small cul-de-sac. We already knew that we would need to hire a cab from airport to hotel because of the hour. Be prepared to pay $18-$20 plus tip.
Check-in went smoothly, and desk person was pleasant, welcoming, and helpful. The room was large and nicely appointed. It was clean, even between the top mattress and bottom mattress. There was a small refrigerator, and a K-cup coffee machine in the room...I wish I had known, as I would have brought some of my own teas and lattes.
Wi-if was available. The night clerk gave us our PW when we checked in. There were many outlets for charging electronics. Be sure to check on the side of the stand holding the flat screen TV...quite a few there. ( Perhaps this was a newer, or remodeled room?)
I usually like to read through the Hotel Information binder, generally found on the desk or in a side table. There was none. Nor we're there any complimentary postcards of the hotel, which I like to keep as part of our trip memorabilia.
The breakfast facility was nice; however, I'd have to rate the food quality below average. There was a nice variety, but juices and milks were not very cold, as they were sitting in pitchers in a tray of ice. I actually thought the milk was sour, but my husband said he couldn't detect anything. (I had poured some in a glass; he poured it in his coffee.). Lots of fresh, whole fruits were available.
We had some time available to walk around. There is a small shopping center where we found a place to get a light meal, as well as a store where we purchased sun screen and other things that we chose not to pack. I forget the name of the chain but it had drug store type things as well as groceries.
The shuttle driver was friendly. We went back to the airport the next day to meet a travel friend, and the driver gave me his cell phone number so I could give him a call when we were ready to return to hotel with our friend and her luggage in tow. (Shhhh I don't think he was supposed to do that...I think you are supposed to go through a dispatcher.)
The single "down" side of this hotel...although a non-smoking facility (thank heavens...) nearly every time that I went out the front, main entrance, there would be someone ( didnt seem to be employees) out there smoking. Close to the door! I am hyper allergic, so carried my inhaler at all times.
One more note of caution..I noticed a small sign posted in the elevator stating that an automatic charge of $5.00 per day is added to each room bill to cover PARKING FEE. I went to the front desk and declared that we did not have a car. They graciously and unquestioningly deducted the charges. But you will have to ask!
That's it. I would recommend it. Happy journeys.

Room Tip: Although I did not do it this time...it is often a good idea to ask to see the room first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for your review of your stay and suggestions. Your feedback is very instrumental to our hotel and staff as we use feedback such as yours to insure that we provide exceptional customer service and enhance future stays by addressing the comments stated. Again, thank you for your staying with us and we do hope to see you again. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Place prior to departing on a cruise. Excellent location near a large shopping plaza to gather last minute supplies and wine (within a 5 minute walk from the hotel). There are also numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Rooms are large and well appointed. Breakfast was good, but given the volume of cruisers heading out early the dining area was very full but there is an overflow room to the right of the elevators. We have small children so we took advantage of the outdoor pool while waiting for the shuttle to the ship - pool was clean and and warmer than expected. Shuttle service to the Port was excellent - just be sure to book your trip over when checking in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cdnphototraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Greetings

Thank you for your reponse in sharing your experience at our hotel. We do take great strides in ensuring our guest receive the best possible service availableeach and every day. We hope to see you again in the bear future. Thanks and see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. It is convenient to the port, to the airport, and to the beaches of Ft Lauderdale. The hotel is very well run. Rooms are nicely done; housekeeping is excellent and the morning breakfast is good. Parking is convenient. The staff is helpful and enthusiastic. Restaurants are plentiful - and walkable.
You will be pleased you made this hotel choice.

Room Tip: Half the rooms see the sunset (those in front) and the back sees the sunrise. The whole area is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your response. Comments such as yours is what we strive on to continue to only get better and provide stellar and service and accomodations. We do hope to see you again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

There were 23 of us booked 5 rooms at this hotel through hotel planner web site and all prepaid for the rooms. This was my sister first time booking the rooms. She didn't realized hotel planners charged $100 more than what other website charged. 3 weeks after we came back from our trip. Hyatt charged all our credit cards for the rooms eventhough the receipt balance was zero when we checked out. I really mean they charged all 5 rooms on all the credit cards that we gave them when we check in. We had to fight with 3 different companies to get our money back. Make sure you always check your credit card thoroughly after coming back from your vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator. Many kids running around in the morning because this is cruise port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your response and feedback. Your comments certainly do help us understand important issues that do occur such as yours. As for HotelPlanner, this is something that you would have to take up with them directly. All of our groups are booked directly through our sales department. Our hotel does charge for over 4 persons in one room. As for billing, we are not familiar with this case, perhaps, you have us mistaken for another Hyatt Place? In any event, we do apologize for the billing issue and volume with other guests in the hotel. We do hope that you will come and visit with the Hyatt Place 17th St Convention Center in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here a few times pre-cruise and love the convenient location to Port Everglades, nice restaurants, and shopping. The very large rooms with many conveniences are a bonus, too. Self served breakfast in great, with nice choices, if not a little crowded at times. Staff were friendly and helpful, and helped us with transport to the port when our pre-arranged cab did not show up. Our 2 night stay could not have been better. Only downside is that on a weekend in March, the price tends to hurt the pocketbook.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpitfireLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review and comments. We do strive to provide excellent accomodations and great customer service. We do hope that you will come see us again in the near future. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this property the night before a cruise. The property is very nice and well maintained. The rooms were large and well appointed. They offer extended parking for cruise ship travelers at a decent rate. The breakfast included a wide variety of good food. The breakfast was quite crowded but that's probably to be expected given all the cruise ship travelers getting breakfast before heading for the ship. There is an 'overflow seating' room in the one of the nearby meeting rooms but you wouldn't know if unless you walked back there from the serving area. The wireless Internet was quite slow in our room. The only real downside for us though was the cost. We were there during Spring break as well as prime cruise season and the price for one night was quite high. In fairness, it appears that the prices for all the hotels in Ft. Lauderdale are greatly overpriced though. For the convenience and appointments, we would stay here again if traveling on another cruise from Port Everglades.

Room Tip: We were on the backside of the hotel (away from 17th Avenue) and traffic noise was not a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJT-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry and comments. We do like to stay within range of the competition here in Ft. Lauderdale and cater to all types of travel regardless of season. We strive to make each stay a delightful one and do hope that you will come back and see us sometime soon. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing