We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre-cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We like this hotel for pre-cruise stays because of its convenient location. It is fairly close to the port and the Harbour Shops complex is right across the street. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Staff are pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is surprisingly good although the breakfast area is small and it can be difficult to find a seat. This is not a luxury hotel but it completely meets our needs for a pre-cruise stay.There is free shuttle from the airport (tho we had a 45 minute wait before the shuttle arrived) but you must pay $7 pp for shuttle to the cruise port.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank blytheIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Greetings, and thank you for the great review in regards to your stay at our hotel and the ammenitites that were up to your expectations and standards. In regards to the space at breakfast, we do set it up for success for a better flow type situation to avoid any congestion, and are still working on continual improvements. We do hope to see you again and we thank you. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

A no-name road side motel at Hyatt prices. That is the best way to describe my feelings about my stay at the Hyatt Place in Fort Lauderdale. Why? It is small things that ruin a hotel experience; The Wi-Fi internet connection in the room does not work most of the time, and when it works it is very slow. The first night I actually took my computer to a nearby McDonalds so that I could log on and get some work done, after that I learned that if I set my alarm for 2AM, when everybody in the hotel was asleep, I could actually log on and get some work done, as long as I was patient with loading time. When I booked I was advised that there was a $5/night charge for parking, so I assumed that it was underground parking or in a multi-story garage. It is not. It is plain outside parking with poor lighting and no visible security. The breakfast is included in the room rate, but it is so appallingly poor that if you value your palate you will take a pass.
An overall disappointing experience that has soured me to the Hyatt label.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Greetings! My sincere apologies for the experience in regards to the Internet and your breakfast. Please know have been addressing the Internet issues and we are in the process of purchasing ALL NEW equipment within the next couple of weeks. As for the breakfast we do strive to provide the best Hyatt Place Signature AM Skillet breakfast program. Again, on behalf of the hotel, I do sincerly apologize for the inconvienance and hope that you will revisit our hotel in the near future. Thank you for your feedback. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to cruising out of Port Everglades. We flew in and I found the phone in baggage claim area, called the hotel and was told where to go to catch the shuttle and that it would be there in about 15 minutes. The shuttle actually came in about 5 minutes and we were quickly at the hotel,
Check in was quick - we had a room on the 6th floor - the room had 2 double beds with a slightly separated area with sofa. It is not a separate room - just a quarter wall between that area and the beds. There is a very small closet space near the sink. There was also a bar sink and refrigerator but no microwave. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool, no hot tub or whirlpool.
There is no "regular" restaurant in the hotel, but here is a very small bar which offers quite a few drinks and also a small area with cold food available. There is a menu of hot sandwiches - I had a mushroom swiss hamburger which was huge and good - about $11 with potato chips.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which was okay - offered a few breakfast sandwiches, cereals, toast, fruit, etc. There isn't a lot of places to sit and it fills up quickly with guests but food can be taken to your room if you like.
The location of the hotel is good - about a block from the Harbor Shops which offers Total Wine, Publix, other stores and restaurants. It is also about a 5 block walk to the water taxi which you can ride all day for $20, plus there are many restuartants in that same 5 block area.
Check out was quick and efficient. The hotel offers a shuttle to the port through an independent contractor for $7 a person but we decided to take a taxi. We told the front desk we wanted a taxi and one arrived within 5 minutes. The trip to Carnival Freedom terminal was about $12 plus the tip we gave the driver. So it ended up being a little more than the shuttle, but we didn't have to wait for the shuttle to get full and also go to all the different ships to get off.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel - it is nice - not a luxury hotel but a nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marilynm4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Greetings, thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderale appreciates your feedback as we do cater to all types of travel here in our hotel. Please share your experience with your friends and family. We do hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place one night before leaving Port Everglades for a cruise. Dec. 2012. This was a great location for our needs. I choose the Hyatt Place because of the airport shuttle. When we landed after 10pm we were told the shuttle was not running that late. We took a taxi, Taxi from the airport to Hyatt Place was $14.00. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was friendly. He recommended a local place for dinner that we could walk to or have delivered right to our room. The room was large with 2 double beds and a full sectional couch. There was a refrigerator in the room. The sink area was outside of the toilet and shower area which made it convenient for one of us to get ready while the other one was in the shower. The room was clean, bathroom clean and the beds were clean. Breakfast was good the following morning and was included in our room rate. I saw some complaints on previous tripadvisor reviews, but we though the breakfast was good and adequate for our needs. We used the pool in the morning before we checked out it was small and a little chilly but we didn't care as we were soaking in the Florida sun.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lvtrvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Please know that our hotel does cater to all types of travel whether it be business or pleasure. We at Hyatt Place do take our guest experiences very seriously and try to reach each guest and provide service so memorable that our guests tell stories about it.

Hope to see you again real soon. All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked this hotel, but it was nothing special. The location makes it hard to find and access. It's behind a bunch of restaurants. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The breakfast choices were plentiful, but nothing anywhere near gourmet. The wifi service worked fine for two days, but I had difficulty on my last night. I probably would have gone with four stars if the breakfast service had not been on plastic plates with plastic cups. The one reason I would come back is the size of the rooms. I was happy to have a living room that was very comfortable and a desk to work at. The room included a kitchenette.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtherJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review about your experience in our hotel. Being that we are a limited service hotel, we do have certain standards that the brand has and we must follow, however, at all times we do have metal silverware, and the plates, cups, etc are that of a higher standard than plastic. We do hope that you will share your experience with your friends and family and we do hope to see you again, All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here recently for one night before a cruise. This was our 3rd visit, and it just gets better every year. We arrived about noon and were able to check right into our room. Everything was spotless, and we love the suite style with the large sectional sofa, sink and fridge, and comfortable beds. The morning breakfast was great, especially with the addition of the egg sandwiches since our last visit. The front desk staff are the most helpful and friendliest we've ever seen. Free wi-fi worked great. Would love to come back for a longer visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganCcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We do sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will share your experience with your friends and family and most importantly you come back again to see us...Thank you again, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here before and after a recent cruise. While still VERY expensive it was one of the more affordable. They offer shuttle service to the port for $7.00 per person. The rooms are well appointed and very nice. There is limited 24/7 food and beverage in addition to the included breakfast. Within blocks there is trolley service that takes you to many Ft. Lauderdale points of interest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lairdluoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Greetings!!!! Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. Although we are a great location for pre/post cruise, please do know that we cater to every guest whether it be for a cruise, vacation, visitng a corporate business, or a convention. We thank you again for your time and considerations, and do hope that we will see you again real soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $162 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing