We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1 night before cruise. Otherwise just Ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for 1 night before cruise. Otherwise just Ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night day stay at the Hyatt Place, December 31 2012 post cruise. This hotel is fine for one night before or after a cruise. However, I wouldn't plan to stay here for a vacation. The location is good, the rooms are new and upgraded, and the 42 in TV is wonderful. However, the pool is very small which makes it difficult to have a "vacation feel". If you only need 1 night before or after a cruise it is fine. The internet, as other reviewers have noted, was not reliable. I would stay here again for a single night (or for a business trip) if the rate was good, but not for a family vacation. The buffet was very basic, but served our needs. It was unfortunate (and not the fault of the hotel) that we had many college age students staying in our hotel in town for a bowl game (presumably because the rate was so good).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your response and feedback on our hotel. We do appreicate your time and will use the comments to better serve our guests. Our hotel is conduscive for all types of travel. Whether it be for business or pleasure. The teams that were here were actually groups that stayed with us for a longer stay non related to any bowl games. Each traveler has a preference and we do our best to cater to each guest. We do hope to see you again in the near future and again, we thank you for choosing Hyatt Place.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    437
    142
    68
    33
See reviews for
368
420
71
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I had to fly out of FLL at about 6 AM, and hence we decided to find a hotel that can give us a ride to the airport. Hotwire selected this hotel for us, and we stayed only one night paying 60-something dollars, which is an amazing price for this hotel. While the hotel was kind enough to give us a ride from a nearby rental car location on the night of our stay, they would not ride us to the airport early in the morning. Otherwise, our room was excellent. I kinda considered ourselves lucky to get a nicer hotel for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and review. We appreciate your time in letting us know and will inform our staff to only make it better. Please do come back and stay with us again in the near future. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here in January 2012 the night before our cruise. The room was big and spacious for our luggage and a separate seating area. The bathroom was a little small, but hey we are British and used to that! The vanity sink was outside in the room with a large mirror so that made the smallish bathroom a bit easier to navigate.

This place was extremely convenient for the supermarket, where we got our wine for the cruise, as well as a brilliant family run diner for lunch and breakfast. We walked to the Outback Steakhouse for dinner.

The port is literally a 5 minute drive away. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your response. We appreciate the kind words and feedback and will use this information to continue setting our hotel up for success and a postive stay in the future....our goal is to make memories that will make you share stories about!!!

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

What I noticed immediately after arriving was how well the staff worked together for the benefit of their guests. Even the airport shuttle driver, if he had a few spare moments, would come into the breakfast area and clear dishes. The morning breakfast buffet is especially great for families on a budget. The large rooms are very convenient for reassembling luggage for the flight home. This hotel is best for guests that are transiting to other destinations. If you are looking for a destination property, you might be better served elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for you kind review. We do cater to all types of travel...pre and post/airport/leisure/destination -being we are close to the beach and Las Olas, groups, and corporate travel. We do strive to have every guest no matter what the purpose of travel enjoy their stay and have it be memorable. Thank you again for your time and feedback. We hope to see you again. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We landed in Ft. Lauderdale about dinnertime after a 3 hour plane delay. We called for the shuttlebus and they told us it would be a while because the driver was getting someone from the Galleria mall. I told them how tired we were and they told us to take a taxi and they would give us hotel credit. The hotel credit paid for our shuttle to the cruise ship.

The hotel clerk told us how much the taxi should be and I believe it was less than $20. The dispatcher and the taxi driver said it would be $35 but I stood firm that is what the hotel said. The taxi driver almost drove past the turn but I had remembered that there was an Outback next door. Sure enough, the taxi cost exactly what the hotel said. Of course if you stay at this hotel you should not need to pay for a taxi but take the shuttle. But I thought you might be interested in this story. I have found it always worthwhile to have a map of where you are going since the taxi drivers do not always know, especially in cities where there are multiple hotels of the same brand.

There were lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We had a nice dinner. Room was large and well kept, almost a mini suite. Breakfast was included in the price and they had a good selection of the typical fruit, cereal, breads and juices.

We made reservations with the hotel for the morning shuttle and we were picked up right on time and arrived at the ship 5 minutes later.

I understand they also have a cruise and park package which would be a big savings if you are driving.

Price was very reasonable. We booked a few weeks out and saved a little more by taking the non refundable package.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your story with us. It means a great deal to receive such feedback to only make our hotel better and to provide superb service. We do hope that you will come back again...Thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Room was very nice with large flat screen TV. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. . For cruisers it couldn't be a better choice for the following reasons:
-Airport pick up
-Hotel offers free transportation to areas within a few miles of the hotel. This allowed us to both try a recommended Cuban restaurant as well as explore Los Olas and the intracoastal waterway area. Had we had a little more time, we would have done the water taxi tour
-Walking distance to Total Wine- the consummate liquor store to buy wine and liquor for the cruise
-Nice breakfast
They did offer a van transfer for I believe $7 pp. But we opted for a cab @ $10 total. Plus we could leave when we wanted to
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane from WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and informative information in regards to your stay. Our hotel does utlize each comment/review that our guests submit...and we strive to make each guest experience a wonderful one that you can share with your friends and family. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed one night before a cruise and had a very good experience. We had three rooms reserved and even though we arrived a little early they had rooms for us and even gave us rooms on same floor and next to each other. The front desk staff were exceptional. Very informative and willing to do whatever was necessary to make our stay a good one. We did have an issue with the bathroom in one of the rooms not having been cleaned, but when it was brought to the attention of the front desk they had it taken care of immediately. Loved the location near shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms on high floors can see the ships in port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo74_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so very much for the great review. We appreciate the time you have spent in writting about our front desk staff and overall hotel. We do hope that you will return to our hotel in the near future. We again thank you for your comments and take the utmost pride in making every guest experience a good one. See you real soon. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,895 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing