We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice rooms, great staff”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've stayed here about 20 times in the past year and have always had a positive experience. I travel frequently and stay in hotels often. This hotel has got it right. The rooms are modern, clean, and spacious. The staff is great and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings! and thank you for the wonderful comments and feedback. We sincerely appreciate and take great pride in providing top notch accomodations, service, and overall experience. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    448
    151
    69
    35
See reviews for
388
431
75
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for the convenience to the Fort Lauderdale Airport, and discover the property to be very chaotic for check in, check out and during breakfast each morning. The seating area for breakfast isn't sufficient for the number of guest, and difficult to find a clean spot since no one is empting their left over meal plates. The same applied to the check in and out process since several guest are looking for information versus those just trying to get their rooms. I also noticed a sign for a $5 charge to be added to your room for all vehicles parked in an unsecured parking section that also had open spaces for the restaurant next to the hotel. Seemed unnecessary to me since you couldn't enforced the parking assignments? I'll have to consider the "Cruise traffic" when visiting this area again for a hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the front area of the hotel and the adjacent restaurant since you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your comments and concerns regarding your stay here at our hotel. We do sincerely apologize for any inconveinance that you encountered at check in and out, and with breakfast. We are currently working on transitioning the flow of the breakfast- since it is a huge win for Hyatt Place - our guests thoroughly enjoy this. We do have overflow breakfast space in our meeting room to provide ample room for seating. While our hotel is a very busy cruise hotel during season, we do cater to any and all types of guests traveling for various reasons....corporate, family, relocation, groups, and leisure stays. We do take your feedback seriously and will share this with our teams for improvement and better flow. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future and allow us an opportunity to show you that we have made the improvements. Thank you again, and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here after a cruise, as it was so closeto the airport. The hotel is very modern and clean. The bed was really comfortable. The rooms are very large. A large sectional with big screen TV. The breakfast is the best I have ever seen at a hotel, for being free they offered many different items. Would definately stay here again. It was also a very quiet place to stay, not alot of outside noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Greetings!

Thank you for the wonderful comments of your stay at our hotel. This truly means so much to all of us here. Our staff is specially trained in how to treat our guests and are highly skilled to ensure visits as you had. Please do share with your friends and family and hope to see you again real soon. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I arrived at this hotel because of a medical family emergency. The hotel is modern, convenient, clean with an excellent breakfast. The staff can only be described as superb. Once they knew we were there because of a medical emergency and that the patient and his wife were foreigners, my family and I received reliable and consistent assistance that went far, far beyond the call of duty - extending our stay without question, taking into account severe food allergies, printing out travel documents, giving advice on how to manage a wheelchair patient at the airport, to ordering a limousine and more. The hotel has a free shuttle that proved to be a godsend, allowing for easy transport between the hotel and the Medical Center, as well as the Ft. Lauderdale airport. The shuttle drivers were kind, thoughtful and provided invaluable transportation to stores for needed clothing and food stuffs. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our staff is trained to accomodate any guest in almost any situation ~ providing great customer service and a high level skill set. We will definatley share your comments with all of our staff to ensure that every guest every day encounters such service. Hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a reasonable price and a well-rounded experience. It was a great weekend away for our family of 6. There was plenty to to do in walking distance, including a beach playground. We also found ice skating nearby (plastic ice during the holiday season - great fun ice-skating in shorts). The staff was always kind and courteous. They directed us anywhere we needed to go. I would highly recommed this spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kidtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and considerations. Please do share your stories with your friends and family. We hope to see you again real soon. We do share this feedback with our staff to enhance each guest stay...your comments matter and we appreciate you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here prior to a cruise on October 20, 2012. We booked it though Hotwire.com for a rate of $55.00 plus tax ($67.31 total). It was rated as a three star property by Hotwire.

The location is excellent. There is a free shuttle from the Fort Lauderdale airport. There is a shuttle for $7.00 per person to the Fort Lauderdale cruise port. A Publix grocery store is only a block away. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Although a single room, it is split into two parts ... a bedroom area and a living room area (which includes a refrigerator). There is only one television set on a swivel sitting between the two areas. There is an excellent free hot breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Greetings! Thank you for feedback and kind comments. We truly appreciate you and your business. Please do share your experience with friends and family. We take pride in insuring every guest has a great stay every day. See you again real soon!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ended up booking this through Hotwire for a nice price. Checkin was smooth. Had actually booked two rooms, and got them right across the hall from each other.
We wanted a reasonably-priced hotel prior to our cruise leaving the next morning. After staying here, we would definitely stay here again pre-cruise.
Our room comfortably fit 5 with two double beds and a pullout sofa. The room and its bathroom were adequately clean, and the staff were very pleasant. We had the included breakfast which included cereals, breads as well as some hot items (egg sandwiches, waffles, pancakes) which had been sitting under the heating lamp for a bit. However, it was a free breakfast so I can't complain.
Location is great, within short walking distance to a Publix to get some grocery items, and lots of restaurants. Can specifically recommend Gilbert's for great burgers and ribs.
Did try the outdoor pool or the exercise gym.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peacefrogdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the location very conveinant for you. We do hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing