We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Room ... Great Staff ... Wonderful Stay All Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic Room ... Great Staff ... Wonderful Stay All Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here on Friday 09/29/12 ...

We could not have asked for anything to be any better. The room was awesome. The managers and staff were all very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great and added to the value. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area again.

Tip: You cannot beat their shuttle service. They will take you and come and pick you up later in a good radius around the hotel. Since we were only in the area one day, we used the shuttle to take us down to get on the water taxi. It was a great way to see and get a good taste of Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CoupleHarleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
What a nice review...Greetings and thank you for your kind words about our hotel, staff, managers, and shuttle. This is great feedback and will be shared with the team to assist in continuing excellent guest stays now and in the future. Again we thank you and value your feedback.

Hope to see you again and share the good word with all!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    426
    140
    68
    30
See reviews for
361
413
70
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is always what you get from the Hyatt place, a clean, nice decor room, friendly staff, nice FREE morning breakfast buffet. Weekend is busy with a family and KIDS.. So little noisy, well the hotel get noisy because of the kids, and that happends everywhere. My only complain will be the internet access. VERY SLOW in room, at lobby ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback!.. We sincerely appreciate the information that you provided. We are currently working on upgrading our internet service for a more faster stable connection. Please be sure to stay with us again in the future and share the good word with your friends and family.

Thank you again...Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel in pr0cess of refresh but more important is the overall actions by the staff. Can't do enough for everyone. It's new management and they are out to prove they are awesome. Minutes to the cruise port, restaurants very close by (in-fact one of the staff walked us out the door and gave us specific direction on where to go and what restaurants we would find) and fantastic service. Been twice and we'll definitely be back again. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GiveMeSunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We honor your feedback. It assists us in delivering customer service and providing excellent accomodations. Thank you for receommending our hotel. Hope to see you again.

Thank you again, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

There are some nice positives about this hotel, but unfortunately the negatives overwhelmed those. First, for the positives - the price on Hotwire was amazingly inexpensive; the staff is super-friendly and the room (free upgrade to a suite) was awesome with great bedding. There is free Internet, nice fitness center, pool and computer with printer to print boarding passes, etc.

Now for the negatives - 1. The free shuttle is nice but we waited for an hour in the blazing sun for the shuttle. I called 3 times and was told each time, it would be 10 - 15 minutes. Then the A/C was not working on the shuttle. 2. When we went down late in the evening to get a sandwich at the snack bar, I went into the breakfast area to get a plate. When I picked it up from the stack that was ready for breakfast the next morning, it was covered with ants. I took it to the desk clerk (who was getting our sandwiches) and she expressed no surprise and did not apologize. She said, "It's probably because they are wet.". I have no idea what that meant, but I wouldn't have eaten anything that came from that room. 3. If you're driving the location is fine, but it is in a dicey area where no one would want to walk to a nearby restaurant. The shuttle will take you, but you might have to wait for awhile for it. 4. The shuttle driver does not come on duty until 7 am. We had an early flight so we had to take a cab to the airport. 5. I called down about 11:30 pm to find out the procedure for the shuttle the next morning. The desk clerk said there would be no one in the morning to help with our luggage (although they were taken to the room earlier that day), but he would bring a cart to our room so we could be ready the next morning - in 10 - 15 min. At midnight I called back and was again told 10 - 15 min. I asked if he was actually going to come and he admitted he was alone at the desk and couldn't leave. Why did he offer in the first place?

This is actually a nice facility, but I feel they have serious staffing issues. I'll be in Ft. Lauderdale again in Nov., but I'll pay a little more and not stay here again. I should say that the "cleanliness" ratingis because of the ants - the room was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Greetings!
Thank you for this feedback. My sincere apologies for these embarrassing occurances at our hotel. We have taken each comment and have addressed with the team and upper management. You mentioned being understaffed, we are actually going though a hiring wave...we have recently had some staff members move on with the company and now are in need of finding their replacement. As for the breakfast area...and staff members response...I am extremely sorry for this...this is not a common occurance...it is rather shocking. Our breakfast was just upgraded and have only heard positive feedback from our guests. In any event as I mentioned, all issues have been addressed. Please do give us another opportunity to make it right and show you how we really operate and take care of our guests. When you are ready to come back, please call me and I will personally see to it, that you are taken care of.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel provides their corporate clients with the best customer service and customer relationship in Ft. Lauderdale. That's because of the great Sales Dept. team, Audra and Veronica. They make sure their clients are taken care of during their stay and always go that extra mile. This hotel is at a great location with lots of restaurants and bar and not far from the beach. The rooms are being renovated and changes were made to the breakfast they provide.
The Hyatt Heavenly beds will make sure one sleeps well and guest services throughout the hotel is at its best.
Great for off-site meetings and corporate lunches.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter with slight port view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. The sales team definately takes extreme care for all guests. Insuring our guests our satisfied each and every stay is our main goal. We value your feedback and will continue to provide excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the first time for me to stay at this hotel. I usually stay a bit further down the road at the Hilton Marina. I got the Hyatt through Priceline and wow was I impressed. The front desk guys were amazing - so friendly and helpful and they remembered you when you walked through the lobby.
The rooms have been renovated and mine (307) was excellent - end of the hall and very quiet. Coffee maker, fridge, safe, free wi-fi and huge 42 inch plasma television.
Excellent free breakfast and free shuttle within a 5 mile radius - only exception to that is that they do not go in and out of the port. A separate company handles the port and there is a $7 charge per person.
I had just disembarked from Allure of the Seas so I took a taxi which cost the minimum $10.
Publix, Walgreen, Ross and Dollarstore are close by and the Bimini Boatyard is a great place to eat.
I like watching the cruise ships sail out so I walked to the beach - it is a long walk, so take water or better use the shuttle.
Whilst I like the Hilton, the Hyatt has a lot of advantages. It is smaller so more personable, has free wi-fi, free breakfast and free shuttles. You can also use their free business centre computers to check in and print airline boarding passes. I will certainly try and stay here again.
Andrew

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tocanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. This is very critical to our hotel and we take this very serious. We value your comments and will use this feedback to assure our staff they are doing a great job and what is expected. Most certainly we do hope you come back and stay with us and share the great news with all.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My son and I just returned from three nights at the Ft Lauderdale Hyatt Place - Convention Center, room 321. I agree w/ the comments in the “just travel”, “ymcafl, “eedee” & “Mark R” reviews. I didn’t upload my photos, the ones in the “just travel” review are perfect. We have traveled extensively and were a little hesitant to book this "three" star hotel. As soon as we checked in I knew we had found a winner.
The taller guy and the two shorter guys at the front desk are knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I wish I had caught their names. The breakfast staffers were polite and really hustled to keep the area clean and the food replenished. The huge room was newly renovated w/ two beds, a (smaller) bathroom, large LG TV w/ AV inputs, another separate area included a laptop desk, a sofa & ottoman, breakfast sink/counter, frig and a coffee maker. Breakfast was very good, (OK the coffee was weak and wasn’t Starbucks) and the fruit fresh cut.
We rented a car at the airport which I found unnecessary. The hotel shuttle was frequently used by other guests. Public transit, a bus and trolley type bus are found nearby. A brand new mall and OK shopping centers are nearby, all walkable. A busy casual seafood restaurant called South Port Raw Bar is nearby on the end of a canal and reminded me of the Key West Half Shell Oyster Bar.
There is a little confusion w/ another Hyatt Place. In some places on the internet I found this hotel labeled "Airport North" I think this is an old name that has been replaced with "Convention Center". There is another Hyatt Place called "Airport South". Internet searches reveal some confusion between the two Hyatt Places. Make sure you know where this Hyatt Place is located.
I found this Hyatt Place a great find. I heard the views from the top floor are great and I'll try to stay there next time. It is a very good value at a good location and the young staff do a great job. The frumpy manager types can learn a little from the staff. I will return to this hotel! Using value and quality as a measure I rate this hotel in the top 5% of my 100+ hotel stays.

Room Tip: The top floor, the fifth may be the nicest. The AC is pretty quiet and works great. If you need wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Greetings!
Thank you so very much for the kind words. We use this feedback for training and for continuous improvement. We will be sure to share this with our staff. Hyatt Place does strive on insuring each guest has a memorable stay each time.

Thank you again and please be sure to share the great news about our hotel to all.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing