We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wrong hotel turned out to be the right one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The wrong hotel turned out to be the right one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

We were booked to stay at the Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruiseport Holiday Inn Express for one night in advance of a cruise. At the airport, we told our taxi driver that, but he took us to the wrong location -- something we did not realize until we went to check in.

Fortunately, the location he had dropped us at had a vacancy, and they were even willing to match the price of the other location. The only problem was we were after the cancellation deadline for the other location. After a little begging and pleading via telephone, the other motel agreed to cancel without penalty.

The front desk staff was outstanding. Because my wife was nursing a broken toe, we were planning to order in takeout. The front desk had a vast array of takeout menus from nearby restaurants. When we later changed our minds and decided to go out to eat, the hotel shuttle van took us to the nearby restaurant. The driver made sure we had the telephone number for the hotel and told us to call after dinner and he would pick us up. That is exactly what happened.

The hotel itself appears to be older, but recently renovated. The room and furnishings were clean and in good shape. We heard very little noise from outside the room, despite what appeared to be a fairly booked hotel. There was free internet access (not wireless) in the room that worked great. I think there is wireless in the lobby, but did not try it.

We did not partake of the continental breakfast, other than to have a cup of coffee. There appeared to be a large number of guests having breakfast, so it must not have been too bad.

One warning/word of advice for cruisers: The hotel touts its shuttle to the cruise port. (I think it's $6.50 per person). We don't like crowds, and so had the front desk call us a taxi. The taxi was there within a minute or two. It turns out the hotel is just around the corner from the cruiseport. The taxi fare was only about $5, such that even with a generous tip, it was cheaper to take a cab.

All in all, a nice Holiday Inn Express location. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SC_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    299
    126
    38
    23
See reviews for
218
350
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

we only had a few days to spend in FLL before flying somewhere else. The position of the hotel was convenient for us but I did not find very friendly staff..maybe I was not lucky that day! It's a shame the breakfast it's not included within the price of the room, they have a very good selection.

  • Liked — the spacious bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maxmoodDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

My family and I stayed here for one night prior to our cruise and were extremely pleased with our stay. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the extra touches, such as the basket of complimentary snacks on the table and the complimentary cold bottles of water in the fridge. I also loved the choice of pillows on the bed! The front desk staff that we encountered were very helpful and friendly, and very kind to our children. The breakfast in the morning offered a good variety of choices, from the hot cinammon rolls to the cheese omelettes (although definitely some kind of previously frozen variety, certainly not made-to-order!). The location of the hotel can't be beat--with Starbucks, Einstein Bros. Bagels, a pizza place, and an ice cream parlor directly across the street, a Walgreens a block to the right, a Publix and a Winn Dixie about a block and half to the left, and all the other shops and restaurants in the Harbor Shops shopping center where Publix is make this a great location. If you take a right out of the parking lot of the hotel, walking up to the top of the 17th Street bridge gives you a great view of all the cruise ships lined up for the day at Port Everglades. There is a free airport shuttle, and a shuttle to the Port for $6 a person. We checked out and then the front desk stored our luggage for us prior to us taking the shuttle to the port. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — special touches not normally seen in budget hotels
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

Stayed here one night prior to a cruise and found it to be an excellent hotel for the money. The rooms were obviously recently renovated, the towels were superb the bed linens very high quality. The room was good-sized and the bathroom was larger than most up-scale hotels.
Front desk employees were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and constantly re-stocked.
Location is great for picking up those last minute items you forgot and for finding a restaurant for a nice dinner.
Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and nice touches in room (nice linens on bed and super towels)
  • Disliked — view from our window
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank grana103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

We stayed at this hotel Nov.25 prior to our cruise. We found it to be very accomodating and comfortable. The area not the best, but felt safe and convenient. Walked to Old Heidleberg Restaurant for dinner and had a great meal and time (fun entertainment). The shuttle drivers were informative. Room nice with queen beds so 4 can sleep comfortably. Staff very helpful. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Convenience and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Took about 20 minutes for shuttle to arrive at airport
  • Tips/Secrets — Always have your confirmation number at any hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank skzinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2006

Our stay here was for 1 night, post cruise, and we were aware there would be no "frills". Unfortunately, having just departed a cruise ship where all employees considered you, the passenger, come first, it was disconcerting to have a cleaning person all but yell at you to get out of her way!
We knew the days of pampering were over...until we sat....then laid down on the bed! As great as the bed on the ship - for whch they are famous for!
It is a LOOONG walk to the water taxi, but can be done...and decent food is close by. They provide a frig and microwave, but no plates/utensils, and sell no Lean Cuisines, etc., like other hotels in this class do.
Breakfast consists of generic cereals, a toaster for waffles, bagels and english muffins, fruit, hard boiled eggs and their infamous cinnamon rolls...which the shampoo also smells like!
Airport service was excellent!!!
Will stay here again...pre or post cruise, but not a vacation destination!

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — Stripped down, basic
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

We selected the H.I. Express for our two day pre cruise stay. We contacted the hotel from the airport and the shuttle arrived within 5 minutes. The driver was very courteous. The front desk staff was great, The rooms were bright and cheery. The continental breakfast although not exceptional was none the less adequate. Seating is very limited on busy days. They have upgraded the H.I and the beds were comfortable and the coverings all new. It was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is convenient to everything. The trolley stops just outside the door. You can walk to the Water Taxi in 10 minutes. Restaurants of every kind are within very easy walking distance. The October rates were very reasonable but like all hotels in the area become pricey during high season. We were pleased with the overall experience and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank HankM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing