We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT location for Convention Center!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT location for Convention Center!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Holiday Inn is located VERY close and within walking distance of Convention Center and Port. Has an ok breakfast, nothing special, but enough to get you going. The staff was VERY pleasant. Rooms are small but clean. Would definitely stay there again! Toilet got backed up during stay, they can very quickly. It really never flushed right during the stay. Also NO AC in the hallways of the hotel. HUGE temperature change between your room and the hallway.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LezaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
LezaM
Thank you for your review and for sharing the good and the areas of opportunity to improve. I am pleased to know that you found our staff very pleasant, our rooms clean and that our location was perfect for you. Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us (toilet and warm hallways).
I welcome a call from you to discuss these issues further. We continually strive for excellence in customer service and maintain our goal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    311
    131
    40
    25
See reviews for
228
359
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we'd use it again. It is modest, well priced - value for money, and very close to the cruise terminal at Ft Lauderdale. The rooms are comfortable with all the usual hotel amenities. We had no problems with the breakfast (included) or the internet. It's a good place to stay for one or two days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twogoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Twogoats,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with others. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center-Cruise Port hotel appreciate your repeat business. We are the perfect location for pre/post cruisers as we are just blocks from Port Everglades Cruise Port and we are surrounded by so many restaurants and shop... all within walking distance. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast and that our complimentary WiFi worked well for you. I hope to have you stay with us again soon... and don't forget to say, "hello"!

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times, and until now, it's been a decent property. This time, both pop machines I could find were broken. The computers in the business center couldn't connect to the Internet, and the printer had a sign on it saying it was "out of order." Breakfast food wasn't replenished (even though the attendant was wandering around the breakfast room). However, the staff seemed nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralroutetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. We are pleased to know that you found our staff to be nice. While we are pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. Please know that both the vending machines and our business center printer have been repaired, I regret that these did not get repaired before your departure. Both were taken care of by outside vendors who responded as soon as possible. Our breakfast is replenished up until closing time 9:30 weekend and 10am. I am sure that the staff would have been more than happy to assist you with any of your concerns during your stay. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain that guests satisfaction is our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the staff to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a very good hotel for people going to cruises or coming from cruises sailing from Fort Lauderdale. The price however was kind of expensive. They have transportation available to the airport and the port but you will have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Bruno2002,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We value your comment. It is nice to hear that our location worked well for you and that you agree our location is perfect for pre/post cruisers. Also, we are located only 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport. Our rates are seasonal with summer allowing the most economical rates. Keep in mind we are a hotel located only minutes from Fort Lauderdale's beautiful beach and we offer great amenities... all complimentary. I hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After our experience in another hotel, I managed to get a hold of a Marie here. They had a non-smoking room available and my family and I were able to stay in the city without further issues. Were so glad to a nice clean room and to be able to order some food. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was better than what you can get at other hotels.

The only downside was having to go to the hotel next door to wash clothes but there isn't much to complain about walking through a parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeCereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Tecereza,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Covention Center/Cruise Port hotel value your comments. I am happy to hear that we had availability for your family and all went well. I hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Be sure and say, "hello"!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here the day prior to cruise. Fantastic staff, great rooms, clean, shuttle service from airport. Close to cruise port. Doesn't get any nicer or more convenient. Anything you need is in walking distance, do yourself a favor and stay here. Decent breakfast as well. Make sure you call from the airport once you have your bags for the shuttle and the front desk will help getting you transportation to the cruise port.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smikevbisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Smikevbisco,
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. As you've mentioned, the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center is a great location for all travelers as we are surrounded by so many restaurants and shops... all within walking distance. We value your comments and I will share your kind words of compliment with our Team. They strive daily to provide all guests with the excellent service they expect and deserve while staying with us. Our complimentary hot buffet breakfast is a treat and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed this as well. I hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 6 days for her competition at tumbling/trampoline nationals at the convention center. Great hotel and great staff and shuttle to the airport. Hotel nicely decorated. We were well within walking distance to the convention center, Walgreen's, lots of restaurants, and 2 grocery stores. Room had refrigerator and microwave which was much appreciated. The beach and marina (huge yachts!) is only 5 minutes away via trolley at 50 cents. (But check the trolley schedule deadline in the evenings or you will be walking 2 miles back to the hotel, and if you can catch the drawbridge going up, it's pretty cool.) The only thing this hotel didn't have was a pool, but that is stated on the website. As my daughter said, who needs a pool when the beach is so close! Recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TumblerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Tumblermom,
It's so nice to hear that all went well during your recent stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center strive
daily to provide all guests with the excellent service they expect and deserve while staying with us. It's always nice to hear that it has been recognized. I will share the good news with the staff. I hope to have you and the family stay with us again soon and all the best to the "Tumblers"! :)

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
373 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing