We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed before and after a cruise from Ft. Lauderdale. Excellent location, close to the cruise port and in a nice neighborhood. Staff was very nice. Very efficient shuttle service to and from the airport. Don't miss walking by the cooking school which is nearby. Glass windows on the front of the building allow you to see the students hard at work in their white chefs outfits. The worst thing I can say about the hotel is the vending machine didn't take my dollar bill and they only had Pepsi products. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We used a taxi to go to the port as we had four persons. It was cheaper than the shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoublePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

DoublePea,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. We are certainly the perfect location for pre/post cruisers! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your kind words of compliment with the TEAM. We strive daily to welcome our guests to a warm, friendly and clean environment. I am happy to hear we were successful during your visit. I hope to have you back with us soon and ... remember to say, "hello"!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 902 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, super close to everything including cruise terminal, restaurants, Starbucks, convention center, beaches... Staff is very nice. Shuttle available to cruise terminal - just be sure to book your seat the night before or as early as possible before your departure as they do fill up. It is about $8 per person but quite convenient. Only problem we had this past visit was the orange juice machine broke down and staff did not have a pitcher to put the juice in for guests (duh).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

RuthS,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay experience with others. It is so nice to hear that our efforts to provide our guests with a clean, warm and friendly environment was recognized. I am sorry, however, to hear that the orange juice was not made available to you. We indeed have canisters for juice and I will look into what may have happen on the morning of your stay. Please know that all comments are important to us. Again, thank you for sharing and I hope to have you back with us in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in April before our cruise. It has been renovated and is lovely. Breakfast is adequate, great location to get last minute items. There is a walgreens within walking distance and lots of places to eat. We check out both HIE and this one is in a better area and much more convenient. Price can be a bit steep at times so check often for lower rates using AAA , AARP etc. or use your priority points.

Room Tip: Get there early in the day so your room view is not the wall of the bldg next door. If you get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your recent stay experience with others. It's nice to hear that our location and accommodations were satisfying. We are the perfect location for all travels as we are surround by over 25 restaurants and shops. I hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Please remember to say "hello"!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Been staying here in the off season.....Its great close to everything! super people! Walk to most anything.a little crazy here in cruise season i try and stay away during the winter months.rates change and Its hard to park at night .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

blakes8542,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. It nice to hear that you are a repeat guest of ours. We value your business and will continue to provide you with the excellent service you expect and deserve while staying with us. I will share your words of compliment with the TEAM!

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everett at the front desk deserves a raise. Talk about going over the top. Great service. He is a great asset to your company and I wish every hotel would train their employees this way. Very kind and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywil2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you so much for recognizing my staff's efforts to keep our guests satisfied during their stay. We are your "home away from home" hotel. All of the staff members strive daily to provide our guests with a warm, professional and clean environment. I will share your kind word of compliment with Everett and the entire TEAM!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night pre cruise. Good location for restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. But hotel is over priced. Not worth $220 rate for one night. I used some AMEX points and that brought the nightly rate to $80 not including tax. In our opinion a fair rate for our room would of been no more than $120 a night including tax. The interior of the hotel is worn as well.

Room Tip: No swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Kim R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Our location is certainly one of the best for pre/post cruisers. Our rates are comparable to the other hotels in the area, the good news is that unlike the other hotels on the SE 17th street strip.... we include free hot buffet breakfast, free internet, free parking, free business center and fitness center, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms! Summer months are quickly approaching and like all other hotels in South Florida our rates will be lower. I welcome a call from you to discuss your recent stay as our rooms were renovated less than 2 years ago and just recently we've added new chairs to our double bedded rooms and sofas to our King rooms... drapes and skirtings are all new. The finish product is absolutely beautiful.
I certainly hope to have you stay with us again soon. Please allow me to assist you with your reservation.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our usual hotel for per or post cruise stays. Close to cruise port and easy walk to many restaurants, shopping , pharmacy(s), wine stores and grocery stores. A usual 3 to 3.5 star HI express with free breakfast. Always comfortable with the staff who are great to deal with. Special kudos to Marie on front desk for many helpful tips and dining ideas. Evered on front desk provided calm , professional and helpful assistance. Always appreciate the customer service emphasis of Gloria (GM). Recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay with friendly people. Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

HavnfunOntario,
Wow... Thank you so much for remembering us! More importantly, thank you for choosing to stay with us for your pre/post cruise trips. I will share your kind words of compliment with Marie, Everett and the rest of the staff. They work so very hard daily to ensure all guests are satisfied during their stay. We value you as a repeat guest and look forward to many more visits. As always, please stop by the desk and say, "hello"!
Sincerely,
Gloria Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,429 reviews
0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#78 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#31 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#11 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,941 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#40 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Address: 1500 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $169 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing