We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #112 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I had to stay in this hotel for one night in April 2006.

The staff was not helpful or friendly. There is no public access to the beach unless you visit the Tiki bar across the street.

The room was average size but the floor was not clean and had not been vacumed. The beds were old and uncomfortable. The bathroom had no soap, lotion or shampoo. Also, the shower leaked onto the floor while I was using it. I stayed one night at this hotel because another hotel had messed up my reservation and there were no vacancies at the better hotels. Its okay to stay here if you can't find anywhere else better, as was my case. I would not recommend this hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlauderdalebeacht, Webmaster at Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of a leaky shower in the room assigned to you.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    84
    95
    89
    149
See reviews for
147
124
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

You get what you pay for. The place is relatively old and is a 2 star like rated. Its clean and was quiet when we were there for one night. The pool is ok and the landscaping does a good job of separating you from highway 1 which is just out the door. Not that quick a walk to the beach...at least not public access. You can go to the ocean manor across the street and sit at their tiki bar and use their beach (you just have to pretend you're staying there). The staff at the travelodge is NOT friendly or helpful. All in all, it's not that bad. Don't pay too much. If a higher star close or on the beach is available for less then $50/night more, take it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank takenscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlauderdalebeacht, Webmaster at Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Had made a reservation for 1 month, from February to March. Had made arrangement over the phone for a price per night for the whole stay. When we got there my wife and I, we were surprised to find out the price had been raised up of 40$ per night, which was a total of 1200$ more than expected. We argued, talked to the person in charge, no way. We stayed there 1 night and got the --- out of there the following morning. ADVICE, if you deal with them, make sure you have a written confirmation. And still, I wonder if they'll honour it ?

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortlauderdalebeacht, Webmaster at Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that it did not turn out as you had expected..

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Management was approached about costs being confirmed properly.

• Desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

The hotel was great -- we researched many online before committing to the Travelodge. We were a little worried about some of the older reviews on here, but experienced nothing like what they say. The rate was great - $117 a night during mid-March. There were a bunch of other college students who would hang around the patio/pool with "red cups" but we didn't have any problems with them in terms of noise or anything. The room was very clean, large, had two sinks (one in bathroom, one in the main room) plus a safe, a place to hang clothes, a decent tv, and three big mirrors - two in main room, one in the bathroom. It's across the street from the beach (which was visible from our room on the 3rd floor), but beach access is not easily available. Housekeeping was wonderful and the continental breakfast featured cereal, juices, English muffins, French toast, coffee, danishes, muffins, etc. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oriolesno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2005

Stayed 3 nights last week of December,our group had 2 rooms either end of 3rd floor. Location close to restaurants, short walk to beach. Large clean rooms with new AC units. Micro & fridge. We enjoyed our stay, the third floor deck is a nice area to relax. Pool HEATED and clean. We will return, a very good value in this area.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

Large room, air cond was great, nice but small clean pool, OK breakfast. Beach close and good restaurants close. Employees were OK to us. Cleaning was good ( I tip a couple bucks daily - most don't make squat) even though we were at the beach daily they got the sand up and we had fresh towels.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2005

I stayed at this motel in Ft Lauderdale for college Spring Break. Overall the motel was not bad. Housekeeping was good and kept the room very clean. The front desk was very nice and helpful. On the other hand, the additional parking in the back of the motel was very narrow, it was a good thing we brought a compact car. Also, the public beach access was a few blocks north of the motel. We were told by the front desk to walk through the hotel lobby across the street to get to the oceanfront however when we attempted to do this we were told to go a few blocks north to the public beach access.

We were definitly not the only college spring breakers in Travelodge which made for a great party environment. Anyone who is looking for a decent, low-priced motel, that doesn't mind a little noise, this is a good option.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twrlnchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,017 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Suites
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#55 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,501 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort
Sea Club Resort
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 4011 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-6419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk across the street to fort lauderdale's beautiful white sandy beach and some of the best restaurants and shopping in the area. Enjoy our free Bear Bites deluxe continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi internet access. Also, enjoy a dip in our outdoor pool and lounge at one of our outdoor patios. We are a pet-friendly hotel (for a fee). We offer the convenience of adjoining rooms if you are staying with a large group. The hotel is a short drive from Port Everglades cruise port. Visit downtown Fort Lauderdale and stroll down Las Olas Boulevard and the beautiful Las Olas Riverfront, where you can enjoy world-class shopping, dining and night life, all only five miles away. Stop by Sawgrass Mills, the largest outlet shopping destination in Floria, which has more than 500 discount stores, from Coach to Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lauderdale Beach Travelodge Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing