We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing out of th eordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2006

My partner and I just came back from the Worthington. Had a nice time, a decent place to stay, but not as nice as some of the other guest houses I have stayed at in the same neighborhood. Our room was kept well, except for the floor which we found turned out feet black if we walked around in our barefeet..... they need to actually wet mop the floors. (And, in talking to other guests, we were not the only ones who had this problem) The bathroom was kept very clean. Towels and linens were below par-- a couple of days our bath towels were torn or frayed.

Nice pool area, decent hot tub... though it should have been cleaned at some point. By Sunday night it was foamy and kinda gross. The music around the pool is nonstop dance mix disco, and not good dance mix disco at that. One guy kept joking that he was waiting for Madonna to rise out of the pool. It got rather tiresome after about an hour, but not too loud that you could hear it in the room if you went in to nap.

Breakfasts were average, pastries were in plastic wrappers, as were the bagels and muffins. Oddly, for a Florida place, no fruit was put out.

Th grounds were nice, and they have done well recovering from the hurricane damage. The staff, for the most part, was very friendly and efficient.

While I wasn't overly disappointed, I will stay at one of the other ones next time.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank graycottag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 24, 2006

I would like to express my appreciation for your comments, be good or unpleasant I need the imput to improve my resort. I will be the first to admit there are other resorts to stay at that charge much more than we do. As for the floors, upon check in I assure you that the floor was clean and mopped. We do not mop the floors on a daily basis, just at check out at this time, however I may now review this policy. Our towels and linens are high quality and are inspected as we wash them and are taken out of cirulation should we see tears of rips but some may slip by the inspection. As for the Hot Tub and pool they are both monitored by computers 24 hours a day, the water is changed every other week or sooner if needed, we have the best filtration system available for both. Both are properly sanitized and water crystal clear. The music, I could only wish that Madonna would rise out of the pool, thank you for the compliment. In the morning till noon we have calm, gentle music then we move to more of a club mix. All music is off at 8:00 pm. Our breakfast as well as all the other resorts are regulated by Broward county, all items must be pre-package and wrapped. I sure you all know the saying, " you cant please everybody" although we try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 857 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Palm Bay, FL
15
Reviewed December 22, 2005

The Worthington Resort is simply a wonderful place to go and relax. My partner and I have been 4 times, sometimes together and sometimes apart. We enjoy the laid back atmosphere, the nicely appointed rooms, and the courtyard. The staff is excellent and any reasonable request is attended to promptly.
As a matter of fact, I am making reservations for us to go back in the beginning part of next year.
We only live 2 and a half hours away but would rather stay at the Worthington then have to travel further only to be disappointed. For you Florida folks, its a nearby retreat to get away from it all on short notice.
Keep up the good work. Looking forward to checking out the sister property, The Alcazar.

Rick and Doug

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aztec_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 11, 2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spartacus323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 11, 2005

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

4  Thank scotty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto,ca
17
Reviewed May 1, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago,IL
17
Reviewed November 17, 2004

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,843 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,042 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
799 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
403 reviews
snooze
#4 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $164 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing