We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Worthington on our first trip to Florida and we would definitely stay here again. We met some great guys from all over the world although I have to say that while most of the guys were nice and friendly, there were a few here and there that were unfriendly/snobby but I guess that's true anywhere. Next time we'll stay at the Alcazar vs. Worthington, while the rooms at the Worthington are bigger and more costly we preferred the friendlier and more low-key feel of the Alcazar side.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank frequenttraveler555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 863 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2009

This was my second stay at The Worthington guest house, and it was awesome.
Enjoyed the location, privacy and ability to just hang out at the guest house all day long.

The housekeeping staff was awesome and the mix of guys at the guest house was great.

Love the fact that it also is joined with the resort next door, and if one pool is over crowded you can walk over to the other which was empty. The two block walk to the beach and close distance to Wilton Manors is the perfect getaway for a gay couple to enjoy a vacation or to escape the winter weather.

Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradonative72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Two friends (a couple) and myself needed a break from our frigid Pennsylvania winter, and after settling on Fort Lauderdale as our destination, we chose the Worthington based upon another friend's recommendation. Our room was clean, comfortable and private, yet conveniently located directly in front of the hot tub. I did not notice any "lewd acts" in common areas as mentioned in other reviews. The crowd of guests present during our stay were very friendly. In response to the other reviewer who suggested that this establishment offered a poor value, it is true that a corporate chain has the ability to offer more amenities, but in doing so, you lose certain intangibles such as the clothing-optional policy and high level of guest interaction. Yes, breakfast could have been better, but it's the best you can do without actually cooking. I'm thrilled with the trip and plan to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halcyon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

This was my fourth time in Ft. Lauderdale, and every other time I stayed at a similar place across the street, which was OK but I wanted a change. I had a MUCH better time at the Worthington/Alcazar. The guests were much more friendly as a whole, it seemed....or maybe I just lucked out. In any case, it was the perfect vacation. It was a chilly week and there were some temperature issues with the hot tub and pool, but everyone was having so much fun, it didn't matter much. And oh, unlike the cranky owners at the other place, the staff was all super nice and helpful. I can't wait to go back. Too much fun!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gymdudeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

At my recent, 6th visit, to The Worthington, I was reminded again of why I return: Lovely grounds, comfortable and well-appointed rooms, terrific location (2 minutes from the beach), accomodating and smiling staff, an owner who takes real interest in his guests -- and always fun and interesting fellow guests.

There are 2 pools and a large hot tub (very very cruisy at night). The "clothing optional" policy often becomes an absolutely "no clothing" scene, with lots of cute naked guys.

I plan to return again -- and again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChuckNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I had a terrific time at this hotel. We were lucky I suppose to have a great group of guests at the hotel when we went. I met alot of fun guys and generally everyone was friendly. There is a happy hour on Friday and Saturday which helps in meeting the other guests. The staff was courteous and helpful. My room was large with a king size bed and the bathroom was nicely renovated. The room had a small refrigerator. The pool is a nice size, although the edge is pretty narrow. There was enough chaise lounges around the pool. There is plenty of palm trees and other greenery, which makes for an attrative tropical atmosphere. The breakfast was mediocre, with wrapped danish and muffins, but I understand that is case with all resorts due to City law (Note: for a cheap but good breakfast check out "The Deck" on the water a few blocks North). It is not a bathhouse atmosphere; there is no steam room, sauna, or video room. Guys certainly do hook up later around the pool and the jacuzzi, but from what I can see, people are discreet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetano99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This is a very nice gay guest house. I disagree with most of the negative reviews and agree with the positive ones. The rooms are clean and up to date, if not luxurious (but who goes to a guest house to stay in the room anyway?). The pool and hot tub area were quite nice, and the landscaping and plantings were absolutely gorgeous! Whoever did that work was first rate. As for the other guests, some had a touch of attitude, but there were plenty who were laid back and quite friendly. Good mix of clothed and "clothing optional" folks -- no one would feel uncomfortable either way. The atmosphere has been described as "frisky" by others, but I only found this to be occasionally so late at night in the hot tub. If you're looking for that, you'll be there. If you're not interested you'll be having a civilized dinner elsewhere and perhaps some entertainment in a local drinking establishment. To each his own. I would have to agree with those who say the breakfast could be a bit more imaginative, even given applicable legal restrictions, but that's a small point. There are several complaints on here of rude staff, but I experienced none of that. All staff were quite nice and helpful. One of their competitors (off the beach) told me that the Worthington is the only gay guest house in Fort Lauderdale that is consistently busy. That's because they get the important things right. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bobbioVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
3,900 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
764 reviews
Universal Palms Hotel
#106 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
408 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
819 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $154 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing