We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

With three properties in one, the Worthington is a good sized resort to meet lots of nice people. You are able to go to the pools and hot tubs in each of the three buildings. The guests are very friendly. Sitting in the hot tubs is a great way to meet people. Atmosphere was friendly with some sexual vibes but not sleazy and uncomfortable. The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. Rooms are simple, nothing fancy but everything works. The Saturday happy hour is a great way to meet the other guests as well. The stay was definitely relaxing and I met some real nice people.

Room Tip: Good idea to view the layout of the rooms to where the pools and hot tubs are when booking. If poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 849 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Overall, the resort is excellent! The staff are very accommodating, rooms are great, very spacious, flat screens and every channel you can think of, but who's watching TV on vacation! With the sand from the beach the tile and floors should be scrubbed after every visit. I noticed my white towel getting dirty when used on the bathroom floors to step on. It's a resort near the beach, so I get the sand and bit dirty. Everything is else was awesome! Go back two and three times a year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Worthington isn't plush and high-end. Those looking for the W or the Ritz can look down the road. What the Worthington offers is a place where gay men of all ages can socialize in comfort, enjoying the absence of judgement.

We spent nine days at the Worthington. The pool occupied much of our time, as did the hot tub. We met so many great guys from all over North America, and some from the rest of the world. Everything was great. Friendly staff like Gabriel and Pablo worked hard each day to make sure the rooms were clean and the grounds were tidy. Cheery Edgar often washed dishes in the homie kitchen where a filling continental breakfast was served each morning.

The experience was surprisingly rich. If you're open to meeting new people, you will love this place for its sense of togetherness. And there's a little something for everyone.

The only thing I would recommend would be some climate control to reduce the humidity in the rooms. Our towels never dried and we felt badly leaving so many to be washed by the staff. But drying off with a wet towel isn't comfortable.

What a great experience! We're booking another visit for a few months from now!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms would be farther from the pool. If you don't want to miss anything, ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at The Worthington one night after the end of a business trip to the area. I've been in Ft Lauderdale, and stayed at other resorts in this area. But The Worthington experience was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The guests were nice and quiet. And the rooms were clean and in good shape. The grounds are quiet and well-kept. I think the location is prefect. It's close enough to walk to the beach and a short drive to shopping and driving areas.

The only downside that I can see is that there is smoking allowed at the resort (not in the rooms, as far as I know), and each room has a little set of chairs and a side table with an ashtray on it right outside the door on the balcony/walkway. If you're not a smoker, or are bothered by cigarette smoke, this could be very bothersome. I would love to see the place go smoke-free!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This used to be one of my favorite places to stay. I noticed this last weekend that they put a lot of new cameras in the Hallways. Something must have happened. Daily staff is now paranoid and won't say what has happened. I would be very careful if you are married or not supposed to be at a place like this.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Villa Venice are very nice. My Favorite place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I think your over exaggerating a bit, there is one Camera in one of the main hallways leading to the office, we are open 22 hours a day, its nice to see who is coming to the office. I think you are a bit paranoid, we certainly are not. Nothing has happened and we don't want anything to happen. There are no cameras anywhere but parking lot, gates and one hallway. We have received many thumbs up for keeping a safe place for all.... so lighten up buddy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Worthington and we always enjoyed it. Meeting friends there, having a good Happy Hour on Saturday and the friendly Stuff makes it always worth it to come back. The rooms are always clean, nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a good choice at every of the three. For Folks who like it quite take the Alcazar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is the best resort we have stayed in FL. The grouds are immaculate, lush and tranquil. Rooms are spotlessly clean. This is a busy efficiently run establishment. Staff are professional and friendly at all times. Rooms are serviced quickly and very well presented. The pool areas get busy at times but you have the choice of 3 pools and 2 hot tubs. Age ranges vary but everyone friendly.
Located a short way from the beach and restaurants are walkable but clubs, major stores and more restaurants are a cab ride away. Our stay was very enjoyable and would highly recommend. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,825 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
793 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
401 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
315 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $164 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing