We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Worthington FLL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Worthington Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Stay at Worthington FLL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had an exceptional time at the Worthington FLL over memorial day weekend. The atmosphere is relaxed, staff courteous and helpful and the accommodations are updated, clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    138
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
1
298
193
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

UPDATE TO MY PREVIOUS REVIEW;
May 2013
Since my last stay and review, Jim (the owner) has purchased one more adjacent property and the resort has tripled in size from my very first visit a decade ago. With the addition of the Villa Venice, the resort is now (I'm told) the largest gay resort in the U.S.. And now there are three pools and two spas. Also two breakfast areas. The Villa Venice is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are all elegant and the bathrooms are modern, with stone tiled showers and large shower-heads. I have stayed in all three of the buildings now. Customers would be happy in any of the three properties, however, if you want a suite with living room and kitchen, the Villa Venice suites are out of this world. See below for my previous review for more information about the resort and area.
BTW, if you have any mobility issues, the Villa Venice has an elevator. And if you miss your dog, bring him/her with, this is a pet friendly hotel.
****************
Always a great place to stay while in Fort Lauderdale, my visit this month was fantastic. The owner Jim runs a great hotel and his staff is fantastic. The Saturday Night Happy Hour is a great way to meet other guests while enjoying complimentary drinks and snacks. The newly remodeled breakfast area is well stocked and even includes individual packets of peanut butter, a touch I haven't seen at other hotels. With a choice of two pool areas and lots of seating with tables under umbrellas, you have many choices of where to lay back and enjoy your stay. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and remind me of the hotels in Puerto Vallarta. Or If you want to get out and explore, it's a short walk to the beach and lots of ocean facing restaurants and shops.
It's a fifteen minute drive to Wilton Manors where a majority of the gay bars are. If you don't want to drive, a cab is less than $15 dollars.
Lastly, the rooms are beautiful and surprisingly quiet, so you can rest up and take on paradise every morning.
BTW, if you like museums and gardens, The Bonnet House is a few block walk and houses the first residence built long before there was a Fort Lauderdale. http://www.bonnethouse.org/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at a gay guesthouse in Key West the past couple of years. We wanted to try Fort Lauderdale this year and it was everything we hoped it would be. I cannot say enough good things about the Worthington. The staff was welcoming and friendly, the landscaping was beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable (and had a fantastic shower)...and the price was about half of what we paid for a tiny, bug infested room in Key West. We will recommend it to our friends, and will plan to come back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the Worthington and had a beautiful view of the pool and the hot tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank termo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time visiting this outstanding oasis in Ft Lauderdale. And our fifth year anniversary as after affirming ourselves as a couple, which, by the way, happened also at the Worthington. And yes, we've made reservations to celebrate our sixth anniversary here next year. It is a beautiful, captivating, and relaxing place.

Arriving at the doorsteps of the Worthington, the traveler notices the ample parking surrounding the property, which is also monitored by cameras to ensure security. Entering the facility behind the tall fence, the clothing optional, sprawling complex now sporting three adjoining properties is spread out in the midst of lush foliage, carefully tended to by an orchid expert. Three pools, two large hot tubs, and both open and secluded areas are there for the vacationer's enjoyment.

The pool areas are each, unique and yet, quite upscale and comfortable. The newest acquisition, Villa Venice, sports a pool with less foliage, suitable for the best sun worshipping, although the two pergolas provide plenty of shade. A cascading fountain and variable lighting make a wonderful evening scene. The Alcazar has one larger pool and modern rooms. And the original Worthington property is lush and beautiful.

There is an ample variety of lodging, from twin, queen-size bed rooms to king-size bedrooms, to junior suites which are more like apartments including kitchens with pots, pans, and all the accouterments of home.

The resort is wonderfully decorated. Not kitschy, just with subdued beauty. There are open areas, secluded areas, shaded and sunny spots. A perfect place to enjoy a vacation.

One of the salient parts of staying at this resort is the staff. The owner obviously takes immense pride in providing for the best possible accommodations for the guests. And the synergy of the staff is indicative of good training and care. Courtesy and care abound.

I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cubanissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a place where you can relax or where you can do more. The property is well maintained and the staff is friendly and accommodating. My second stay and certainly not my last. It is 2 short blocks to the ocean and 6 blocks to the gay beach

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagotim60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I have just completed our 5th visit to the Worthington and made reservations for September before we left. This place just gets better and better. Jim and his staff are the best. They do everything within reason to make your stay the best it can be. The Live DJ for the Saturday happy hour was a great addition. We have made so many friends from our stays at the Worthington and we all try to book at the same time. To “Calling All Old Gay Bears”. If bears are not your thing, check your gay calendar next time Sweetie and don’t book during Bear Week! We were there the week before and the clientele was completely different.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarheelDude87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

But seriously, TA and other reviewers go on about the sexual heat at this place, which there is, if you're into old gay bears. The place is fine, three motels in one, but as a couple in our early thirties, it wasnt our crowd or our scene.

Go here if you wanna experience the place, but if ur into a younger crowd, go to the Royal Palms round the corner. We checked it out. Younger crowd, pool bar and small restaurant and fun day Sundays where they invite guests and non guests to party in the day by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellingMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Very strange two out of the ordinary reviews within 30 minutes of each other, seems like another resort in the area is up to its old tricks again. That's all I can say about this untrue review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,186 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#6 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,188 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#11 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Property: The Worthington Guest House
Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing