We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb. Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is our third time visiting this outstanding oasis in Ft Lauderdale. And our fifth year anniversary as after affirming ourselves as a couple, which, by the way, happened also at the Worthington. And yes, we've made reservations to celebrate our sixth anniversary here next year. It is a beautiful, captivating, and relaxing place.

Arriving at the doorsteps of the Worthington, the traveler notices the ample parking surrounding the property, which is also monitored by cameras to ensure security. Entering the facility behind the tall fence, the clothing optional, sprawling complex now sporting three adjoining properties is spread out in the midst of lush foliage, carefully tended to by an orchid expert. Three pools, two large hot tubs, and both open and secluded areas are there for the vacationer's enjoyment.

The pool areas are each, unique and yet, quite upscale and comfortable. The newest acquisition, Villa Venice, sports a pool with less foliage, suitable for the best sun worshipping, although the two pergolas provide plenty of shade. A cascading fountain and variable lighting make a wonderful evening scene. The Alcazar has one larger pool and modern rooms. And the original Worthington property is lush and beautiful.

There is an ample variety of lodging, from twin, queen-size bed rooms to king-size bedrooms, to junior suites which are more like apartments including kitchens with pots, pans, and all the accouterments of home.

The resort is wonderfully decorated. Not kitschy, just with subdued beauty. There are open areas, secluded areas, shaded and sunny spots. A perfect place to enjoy a vacation.

One of the salient parts of staying at this resort is the staff. The owner obviously takes immense pride in providing for the best possible accommodations for the guests. And the synergy of the staff is indicative of good training and care. Courtesy and care abound.

I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cubanissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 846 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a place where you can relax or where you can do more. The property is well maintained and the staff is friendly and accommodating. My second stay and certainly not my last. It is 2 short blocks to the ocean and 6 blocks to the gay beach

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicagotim60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I have just completed our 5th visit to the Worthington and made reservations for September before we left. This place just gets better and better. Jim and his staff are the best. They do everything within reason to make your stay the best it can be. The Live DJ for the Saturday happy hour was a great addition. We have made so many friends from our stays at the Worthington and we all try to book at the same time. To “Calling All Old Gay Bears”. If bears are not your thing, check your gay calendar next time Sweetie and don’t book during Bear Week! We were there the week before and the clientele was completely different.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TarheelDude87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

But seriously, TA and other reviewers go on about the sexual heat at this place, which there is, if you're into old gay bears. The place is fine, three motels in one, but as a couple in our early thirties, it wasnt our crowd or our scene.

Go here if you wanna experience the place, but if ur into a younger crowd, go to the Royal Palms round the corner. We checked it out. Younger crowd, pool bar and small restaurant and fun day Sundays where they invite guests and non guests to party in the day by the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Very strange two out of the ordinary reviews within 30 minutes of each other, seems like another resort in the area is up to its old tricks again. That's all I can say about this untrue review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a great, but interesting stay at the Worthington. The guys were over-the-top horny and chasing each other around like dogs in heat. It was a bit off putting. I had some nice chats around the pool and aside from the overstimulated sexual atmosphere, it was fun. I was a little creeped out when someone I had chatted with by the pool emailed me a few days after leaving. Appearently the desk had given them my email.... Strange!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejfiaschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

I would have to call you out on this one, we DO NOT give any personal information out! I'm not sure how he got if in fact he did but it wasn't from us I assure you.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the Worthington for four years in a row. We have already made our reservations for next year. Best gay resort we have ever stayed. It gets better and better each year. This year was a surprise with the addition of the resort next door. Made the property even a nicer place to stay. Three pools and two hot tubs. Great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjsa53590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was my 7th time staying at The Worthington. Every time, it gets better and better. The "happy hour" on Saturday afternoon is a blast. The hours after are even better. The staff make this place fun and make sure you are enjoying your time there. My 1st day there I asked Edgar to leave an extra towel each day. I never had to ask again nor did the staff miss a day even on Edgar's day(s) off. Little things like that make this a great place to stay. Jim and his staff are doing it right and have many many return guests. The new property they added next door is a excellent addition. 2 hot tubs and 3 pools ALL clothing optional. Great place to come, have fun and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotomacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,815 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,022 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $164 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing