We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expectations met”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

pleasant and relaxing; staff helpful; room bright and open....
a friendly guest house: employees and guests both. What makes the Worthington is the pool area with its tropical foilage. Very nice to put your breakfast on a tray and sit outside. This is not our first stay and will not be the last, I hope.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 214gwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 849 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Another great stay. The only guesthouse IMO in Fort Lauderdale where the social atmosphere is a perfect combination of friendliness to friskyness without feeling uncomfortable. Still clothing optional unlike others that are no longer. Clean rooms and friendly staff as usual. A place that gets business based on reputation and repeat customers as opposed to fake reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fllshipcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just finished a stay over the Labor Day weekend at the Worthington. First visit for me and my partner. The property and staff are outstanding. They truly have created a pleasant and friendly environment where the art of hospitality is being executed in every detail. Appreciated the friendly check-in and personal walk to the room by the staff with an orientation to the property. The facilities, rooms and pools were squeaky clean and well maintained. This is a relaxing, clean and friendly place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viapacem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Lauderdale. I give it 5 stars in every category. We always make friends when we visit. The rooms are large and very clean. All of the staff treat everyone as a special guest. The two salt water pools and the hot tub are welcome breaks. I think they are even better at night. I think anyone would like this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A first experience. The rooms were well appointed and the staff was excellent. I especially liked being able to speak with the owner at length as he was present and working to maintain this excellent guest house. After having watched the staff work and the owner continually updating the facility, it was obvious they cared about their guest and their property. Overall the experience was delightful and worth repeating. WELL DONE.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been at Worthington Resort for 5 days and we have enjoyed a lot during day and night.
The staff is lovely and always attentive. They make you enjoy and make things go easy.
The rooms are more than comfortable and the pool areas and social areas are wonderful and funny. It is highly recomendable.
We don't have any doubt that we wil come back to Worthington in our next travel to Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: We booked a King Room and it was very nice and comfortable. There are two areas, Worthington and Alc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150DANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had the pleasure to stay here again (have been about 8-10 x over the past 4 years) last week. When full have had to stay across teh street a couple times, bleh. This is always my 1st call! Was on the Alcazar side this time. Room was HUGE and appointed nicely. Large dressing area outside the bathroom, king size bed, couch, eating area and little kitchenette. Flat screen TV over the dresser and DVD player. Large windows overlooking the street, but still little noise. Only room glitch is the alarm clock-includes a CD player...really? Can we get one with an iPod dock? Grounds and pools were beautiful as always, and all staff are so friendly. Breakfast is what it is, limited by local regulations but enough to suffice. Personally, I'll head over to a diner if I want more. Only complaint I would have this visit was the wifi. While free, it was painstackingly slow. So slow in fcata that my computer timed out.When I asked about it at the front desk, he wondered if there was a storm coming...as his computer was slow as well. In the grand scheme of things, no issue. This is always my 1st choice when in the area. Again, the facility is clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and attentive. The other guests are usually friendly and chatty.And you are a 5 minute walk tot he beach and 10-15 minute drive to the bars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D, Jim Durhan- Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your continued support of our resort, we never take a guest for granted, we will always strive to exceed your expectations. We did have issue with the internet while you were here and it was frustrating. Was not on our end, it was on the phone company's side. I did however talk to several supervisors and have since upgraded the property to the new U-Verse High Speed Internet on the Worthington side. We also have Comcast High speed on the Alcazar side. So now if one company is having issues we can move to the other carrier. This also also for faster Internet as each building has it own Internet and the amount of users is divided. Sorry you had to be here for that, but it has been addressed. Hope to see you back soon!
Warm regards,
JIM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,825 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
793 reviews
Central Beach
The Grand Resort and Spa
The Grand Resort and Spa
#2 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alcazar Resort
#5 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
401 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
315 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $164 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing