We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Worthington Guest House can't be beat for location and fun atmosphere. Our rooms were well done and the shower was large. Check it was easy, folks very friendly and the open bar a great time. The grounds are very well kept and one day while by the back pool I noted a staff person on the second level cleaning the railing! now thats attention to detail. It is a short walk to the beach, stores and even a shopping mall (about a mile away, but on a warm fall day a wonderful walk). We enjoyed our stay and give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: As the hotel has two sides, the Worthington is where we stayed. The other side has only a pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 844 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

Ive been going here for 15+ years with various BF's and partners, never had a bad experiance. Love the location and the action! Great crew, friendly staff. Don't miss their "Happy Hour" everyone shows up around the pool and the atmosphere is great!

Room Tip: Their Alcazar (ajoining hotel) rooms are much larger (not quite as nice as Worthington) but is value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I send an email request for a 3 nights stay and at first they were sold out. I was very impressed when they emailed 24hrs later to let us know about a cancellation. Two thumbs up for this one. When we arrived everything just got even better. Extremely nice staff. Friendly, eager to please and very helpful. The worthington is spotless clean and extremely attractive not to mention very good value for the money. Our three night stay was fantastic. We wanted to stay much longer. Lots of repeat clients there. It's a good sign. I will be back soon, no doubt. Thank you for much wonderful Hospitality !

Room Tip: The suites on 2nd floor and adorable and worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceandrive62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Recently stayed at Worthington for the 10th time in the past 5 years and look forward to another visit in near future. Hotel rooms are beautifully and comfortably furnished (recently updated with flat screen TVs). Lush tropical landscaping surrounds the very private pools, hot tub and lounging areas providing perfect setting to work on one's tan. Staff is always very friendly and accommodating. I particularly like the diverse clientele and very relaxed atmosphere. The evenings around the pool, sipping cocktails with new friends and late night dips in the hot tub are even more fun. The Worthington provides something for everyone, Never pushy or in-your-face, guests can choose to participate in as much or as little of the festivities as they like. Beach is just 2 blocks from hotel, with the more festive Sebastian St beach just a few blocks farther south. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steeelblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Worthington does never disappoint. Now they have added a gym! So - now you can workout and relax afterwards in the hot tub.

Starting from the smooth and prompt reservation, to the warm welcome and the most comfortable stay the experience is just outstanding. Those guys are running their guest house with a heart and soul rather then just for the money and this is what you feel when you are staying there. There is that personal touch that makes already all the difference and creates a family-like atmosphere among the guests as well.

The lush garden, meticulous maintained rooms, free wifi, free parking, breakfast and happy hour - it all makes it simply the best of it's kind in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTravelerVillach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Last year was my first visit to the Worthington, I had a great time then and an even better one this year. Again the weather was beautiful, the staff was above average and the room was perfect. I stayed in a room just off to the side of the pool and it was private, but practical. The room was cleaned to perfection, you could always ask for more towels if you needed them and nobody questioned you.

These days nothing is free, but at the Worthington you get a big bang for your buck. Each morning there is a variety of cereal, muffins, fruit, juice and coffee all free of charge. If you want to trot off to the beach only 3 blocks away, you have free use of chairs and umbrellas to take with. If you want to relax in your room, you have a wide choice of movies to choose from, also free of charge.

I'm not going to lie, the thing I enjoyed most about my stay was the men. If you like them young, middle aged, older, blonde, black hair, American, Latino or European -etcetera, you are in luck. You can hang out with or without clothes and don't worry if the scenery has a little affect on you... nobody cares! I am already making plans for next year and can't wait. So if you are one of the hotties working the front desk -get ready to see me there!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiziano1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you're looking for an EROTIC, no-attitude resort for gay men, this is the place. I've stayed at the Worthington/Alcazar on several occasions over the years and never have been disappointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean, fresh, and affordable (especially compared to those of nearby resorts), and the grounds are immaculate (and always getting better). The housekeepers are over-the-top friendly and consistently exude warmth through smiles, laughter, and prompt assistance with any needs or concerns you may have. As for the guests, most are in their mid-30s-50s, professional, in-shape, gregarious, and without "attitude." That said, the occasional "twink" or "twink couple" choose to stay at this resort, but if you're under 30, you may find few who share your decade of birth; likewise, men over 60 are a rare breed here as well, though not without occasional representation.
Favorites: the TWO 24-hour pools and the large hot tub; private atmosphere; lush grounds; clean and up-to-date facilities (including the pools, weight room, rooms, and grounds); friendly staff; convenient location (near the beach, restaurants, and shopping...but not the bars, unfortunately); day-passes for visitors, specifically locals and men staying is less-desirable resorts; outdoor music poolside; lots of frisky play at all hours; always a decent crowd over the weekend; happy hour on Saturday; beach towels.
Criticisms: the daily breakfast, while pretty decent, needs to include somewhat higher-quality prepackaged danishes/muffins/bagels; the outdoor music is completely eliminated around 8:00 PM, though simply lowering the volume would be sufficient in order to please both late-night swimmers and sleepy guests. That's it... Those are my criticisms of this resort...hardly worth mentioning, yet hopefully taken into consideration.
If you want a fun, affordable, "playful" environment where clothing is optional and "attitude" is minimal, consider the Worthington/Alcazar Guest House. However, if you do stay at this resort, be prepared to mingle!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hairyjockguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,816 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,022 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
snooze
#4 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $164 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing