We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic stay in a great location”
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #73 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, basic stay in a great location”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just stayed at The Winterset and loved it. It was such a convenience to be within walking distance from the beach and to have a fridge and microwave. The room was immaculate. I loved the simple Ikea furnishings. The only complaint would be our loud neighbors that let their children run by our first floor room screaming loudly as we were trying to rest. Fortunately they were in their room by 10 PM every night. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunchaser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
sunchaser22,
Thanks so much for your review. We are looking forward to your next visit. We know that there are a lot of choices of hotels in Fort Lauderdale, and we're so happy that you chose us! See you soon, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    116
    65
    34
    20
See reviews for
91
134
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this mid-century 2 story motel for three nights and we very pleased by the rooms and the staff. The rooms were imaculate and the bed comfortable. The IKEA furniture is simple but stylish and appropiate to the location. We did not use the pools as the beach is so close but we did barbeque on the well maintaimed deck amid the pleasant palm trees. The kitchen was well equiped with utensils and pots and pans but there are no condiments. Ask for extra salt, pepper and sugar packets at every fast food stop before coming. My reservation through Bookings.com was botched up, but I was given the originaly requested room at the Bookings rate which was very low indeed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ned2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
ned2384,
Thanks for the descriptive review. We're are so happy that you were pleased with the Winterset and hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were supposed to be at the Tropirocks but were moved due to renovation work. We were upgraded to a one bed appartment suite. It looked really great but was let down by cheap tacky white IKEA furniture throughout. The floors have been made quite unlevel by subsidance over the years so it was downhill from the bedroom to the bathroom and uphill from the kitchen to the living room! Bit like a funhouse!
The appartment was spotlessly clean and the main officestaff (Amanda & Stephanie) were very charming, polite and helpful ladies. They couldn't do enough for us and it was nice to chat to then each day. Great work, guys.
The location is fantastic - an easy walk to the seafront beaches and bars.

Room Tip: The floors are all marble so being in a room on the ground floor picks up lots of noise from people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbeare15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
hotbeare15,
Thanks for staying with us. You'll be happy to hear that the newly refreshed Tropirock is now open and ready for your next visit. We hope that you can come back again soon to see it. Thanks you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wow!!! North Beach Village really did it right with the newly acquired properties,our favorite was The Winterset with the Three pools and hot tub, the gardens where beautiful!!! we had not been to Ft.Lauderdale for 10 years and tried to stay at our Tropi Rock but it was bought by NBV and was being renovated,Can't wait till its done!!! We had a very relaxing time during our stay and will be back!!! The ocean is beautiful as allways and the water clear as bath water,and warm ,we decided to stay 5 days and it was Awesome!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the best view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryWJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
GaryWJohnson,
We would like to say wow back, thanks so such a nice review. We've worked hard to improve the Winterset and the entire North Beach Area, and it is so nice to hear that our guests are happy. Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our fourth stay at The Winterset. Big surprice when checking in, new magnagement and staff and nice renovated rooms. Clean in and out. Really friendly and helpful staff.
We´ll be back!
Alex and Gun-Britt from Sweden

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Alex N,
We are already looking forward to your 5th stay at The Winterset! With the recent addition, this family friendly hotel now has 3 buildings and 3 pools, making it an awesome place for large parties, like weddings or family reunions. We know that guests have a choice of hotels in Fort Lauderdale and we always appreciate you choosing The Winterset! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was assigned the winterset suite due to damage at the other hotel that i previously booked. But I was completely blown away, it was quiet,easy walk to the beach,staff was very friendly and helpful to my needs. Will go back.
venice.fl

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
angelgirl58,
Thanks so much for your review. Guests in North Beach Village can always count on friendly customer service, no matter which hotel your are staying in. We hope that you do come back to visit us again soon, you are always very welcome! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were moved to.this property because the one we originally booked at was under renovation.I am actually glad we were moved.I love small,quaint places and this was perfect.Love the old florida architecture of the bldg and the room was so clean and cute.We loved it and will be staying here anytime we visit Fort.Lauderdale again;)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexiboo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
lexiboo101,
We were sorry that we had to move you but are glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Although the property itself is large, consisting of 3 buildings and 3 pools, there is a very relaxing, intimate atmosphere that surround the Winterset. Thanks so much for your review, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
240 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
95 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
90 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Property: Winterset Hotel
Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing