We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personnel and Service”
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #75 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I had been coming to Winterset for several years but things have changed for the better. There were new beds and furniture in the rooms and certain other changes to the facilities. The people involved in the service were very friendly and helpful. I had a good relationship with Maggie the Manager and her office staff were always very helpful and friendly. The people who took care of cleaning the rooms also did a great job. This is why I am looking forward to returning next year.
Robert Jovanovic

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 359 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in room 202. It had 2 large double beds and ensuite bathroom.
From other reviews I had expected a kitchen area but this consisted of a cupboard containing a fridge and microwave.
No plates or crockery were provided apart from 2 mugs but the office willingly supplied knives, forks, spoons and plates on request.
Super location just a couple of blocks back from beach.
Free wi-fi and room safe.
On street free parking.
Two small swimming pools (one heated) and outdoor sunbathing area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

cannytraveller2008,
Thanks so much for your review. Next time you come back, please ask about our other rooms. The one bedroom suites have full kitchens, stocked with pots & pans, utensils & dishware. However, as you mentioned, the staff goes above and beyond to provide guests with anything they may need during their stay. We hope you can come back again soon, you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed 9 days at the Winterset in suite 101 and it was great!

We had one bedroom (the bed was a little bit too soft) with a walk-in closet, a living room with a dining area and a separate kitchen. Everything was very clean and modern, light colours. The china and pans etc. were new. Plenty of room, lots of lamps and big windows to the garden/pool. We really enjoyed it!

There was fresh coffee for free every morning outside the office, that was nice. There was also towels and thin carpets to take with you to the beach for free and 2 bikes for rent.

The location is great, just two or tree blocks from the beach. Shops and restaurants are not far, you can easily reach them by walking. We didn´t have a car and managed very well. Good bus connections everywhere.

This was our 3rd time in FL, and the Winterset definitely has been the best hotel of all.

Maggie, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. And so was her staff. Thank you! We will come back :)

Room Tip: Room 101 was very spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

UBN,
Aren't you glad that you don't have to keep searching for that perfect place to stay whenever you visit Ft. Lauderdale? They do say the third time's a charm! Thanks very much for staying with us. Hope your 4th visit to Fort Lauderdale is soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed at The Winterset Suites and really enjoyed the amenities, the management and the geographic location.

My dwelling was a one bedroom with a king-size bed. It was airy, spacious and had hard wood floors. It was great to have a kitchen too. The place also had soap, tooth paste, dishes, pots and pans, bottom line--everything I needed. It was clean, comfortabe
ble and I felt perfectly safe.

Maggie, the manager extroardinaire, and her great staff, were very helpful and friendly to everyone.

The Winterset has two pools and lots of lush, tropical trees and plants. It is close to the Bonnet House, the beach, shops, and restaurants, and the Galleria Mall.

I'm looking forward to my return already.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

sue s,
We're looking forward to your return too! You are welcome anytime. Your review really summed up the Winterset. Great staff, prime location and plenty of amenities. And if we don't have it, we will try our best to accommodate the needs of each individual guest. Thanks so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This cute little resort located just blocks away from the beach is an ideal place to stay.
The staff is very friendly and accomodating, the place is clean and you just couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ines D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Ines D,
The Winterset is here to warm you up whenever it gets too cold in New York! Thanks so much for your review. We always love hearing from our guests. Hope to see you again soon. NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed in a 1 bedroom ground-floor suite with a small separate kitchen.

Bed for our toddler was there as promised and brand new.

Rooms have some rough edges, but everything was clean and functional.

Staff were uniformly cheerful and eager to help plan visits to local attractions and transport.

Two pools in good order. One of them heated. Need to be mindful of children as the pools are not fenced.

Easy walking distance to the beach, convenient bus route, and water taxi. Fifteen minute walk to shops and restaurants of the beachfront.

Not luxury, but good value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Mike A,
Thanks for staying with us. You're right, the Winterset is a great place, especially considering the great rates and the fact that it's just a short walk to the beach! North Beach Village strives to deliver excellent service and we're so happy that you found the staff to be helpful and happy. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Winterset. The room was clean and roomy. The hotel was only a couple blocks from the beach. All of workers we met were very friendly and helpful. Although, when we checked in we weren;t told that the OTHER pool was heated or that there was another pool! But that's fine, we just went to the beach. One complaint was that the door adjoining our room (i think 207?) to another room had about an inch of space under it so we could hear everything clearly. They didnt stay up too late thank goodness. Depending on the room, you may get a door that light comes through so bring an eye mask or request a room with painted windows. (you'll see what I mean). I would definitley recommend the Winterset and will stay there again if we return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annyong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

annyoung1,
Thanks for recommending the Winterset, and we are looking forward to your next visit. North Beach Village strives to make it a friendly environment, and we are happy to hear that you experienced this with the workers. We will take a look into the items you mentioned, thanks for pointing them out. Thanks for your review, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
252 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
673 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sea Club Resort
#87 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
755 reviews
Central Beach
Fala Hotel
Fala Hotel
#46 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
417 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4010
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $98 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing