We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO blocks from the beach! Clean, quiet and cozy”
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“TWO blocks from the beach! Clean, quiet and cozy”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying two days with Winterset on Nov 3 to Nov 5 2011. The location is perfect!! The Galleria mall is in walking distance and the beach is two blocks down the street. In the mornings they have continental breakfast with Kashi, cheerios, and cinnamon toast crunch creals. There is orange juice, and coffee along with breads, and milks. There are two pools and more than enough palm trees. The staff is extremely nice. Maggie was so helpful, I can not thank her enough. Our plane got in late from PHL and I was worried about getting a room and making sure everything was ok. She assured me it was fine and it was!! The rooms have huge windows (I love natural light), large comfortable beds (we had a king size) and new down comforters. Plenty fluffy pillows and a plasma TV. It has to be about 46inches. Felt like home. The bathroom was clean and housekeeping folded our washclothes really cute LOL. I will def recommend this hotel I will surely visit again.
Oh yea they have free wi-fi too.

Natacha & Justin from Delaware.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level are right near the pool. Just keep blinds closed when you are dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wannatravelmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Natacha & Justin,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Winterset. You're right, the location is awesome. Guests can enjoy the close proximity to the beach, shopping and restaurants and yet the hotel is tucked far enough away that you can have peace and quiet! The Winterset provides the best of both worlds! We really appreciate your comments and hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    116
    65
    34
    20
See reviews for
91
134
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klarup, Nordjylland, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

When we started our vacation in Florida at a hotel in Orlando we had a very surprising experience for all 8 days we were there. In a bad way! The hotel was overbooked, and after beeing awake for 33 hours is the last you wanna get told 1.30 at the night when you get there directly from the airport.

After 8 days in Orlando we went down to Ft. Lauderdale with a big fear for having the same bad experience once again. But at the Winterset Maggie and her team was turning the vacation into a very unforgettable stay in Florida.

First of all everyone at the Winterset was very kind and helpfull all times a day. The place was in the middle of everything with only a short drive till what else you wanna see in Florida.

The stay in Ft. Lauderdale was planned from the begginning to the end allready before we came there, but 4 days of very bad weather turned it into what we thought would be a nightmare but became a memorable stay thanks to the Winterset.
Maggie (the hotel manager) was always helpfull with ideas and places she wanted us to visit. She gave us some ideas everytime we asked for help about where to go.
The most touching memory from the stay was Maggie and the time she took of every morning to say hello to people while sitting outside enjoying their breakfast, which btw. was very great.

Maggie is one of the managers we would love to have in Denmark where we come from. She always takes her time to come around and help people in the best way to make them feel welcome in Ft. Lauderdale and at the Winterset. She even cried when we left the hotel by giving her a present with memories (she loves Swedish fish vinegums).

We can for sure say that it is defniantly not the last time we visit Maggie and The Winterset. Through the week we felt absolutely like being at home very safe. Everyone took care of us and did their best to give us a wonderfull stay which they did for sure !

The best Wishes
Dorthe and Sascha
Denmark

Room Tip: All rooms are very great and if you doubt - ask Maggie !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sascha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dorthe & Sascha,
What a nice review, thank you so much! We're sorry that you hard so much trouble in Orlando but are so pleased that you found so much happiness at the Winterset. Maggie and the rest of the staff do a wonderful job. They are great ambassadors of North Beach Village and really live by our mission which is "to create an area where locals and visitors can experience love & happines" We hope you come back again soon, Maggie will be waiting for you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hey Maggie, this is to you:
The Winterset has changed ownership and management some 6 months or so, and since has noticably improved. Out with the stuffiness of old carpets and furniture, in with modern style and a trendy new look of the rooms. Most bedrooms have been renovated, and in the kitchens the china and cutlery has been exchanged. They now offer breakfast, which is very convenient, and plans for a spa and car rental are on the way. The new staff is extremely cheerful, friendly and helpful - loved them all! The Winterset had been my preferred get-away for the past 20 years - now it's home away from home. They made a good place a perfect place! Thanks, folks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Cathy E,
Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. To say that we made a good place perfect is an amazing compliment! That is exactly what we are hoping to acheive. Although we are a company, we are all very close and all share the same vision. We want the entire North Beach Area to be a place where locals and guests can experience love & happiness. We love Maggie too and are so lucky to have her! We're looking forward to your next trip, see you soon.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Winterset recently on vacation . We had also stayed at the Robindale suites property in the past. Both of the places are wonderful vacation places to stay. The rooms are very nice and Maggie and Amanda the staff are awesome and friendly and always give the best hospitality anyone could ask for. I definately reccommend that if you want a nice, relaxing place you stay here on your visit to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pgsblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
pgsblueeyes,
We are so pleased that you enoyed the Winterset and Robindale Suites. As you mentioned, both places are wonderful, but we're going to make these two great hotels even better and are renovating each and every room! Returning guests like you will enjoy newer amenities and more modern decor. You will have to come back soon to check out the changes. Don't worry though, the relaxing atmosphere and great hospitality will remain the same!

Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We spent a week at this wonderful place. Tidy and spacious appartments, wonderful pool areas and adorable personnel - we will most likely return and will absolutely recommend it to our friends going to Florida!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anneli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Anneli G,
Thanks so much for staying with us. We agree, The Winterset is a great place, from the spacious rooms with kitchenettes, the two pools and of course the wonderful staff. They really go above and beyond, which is exactly what our guests deserve! We hope you come back again soon, you're always welcome at The Winterset and the entire North Beach Area.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falsterbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

THE WINTERSET
After a long and cold winter in Sweden all me and my girlfriend needed was some relaxing time off. The Winterset gave us exactly what we needed. The apartment we stayed in was perfect with a livingroom, bedroom and a kitchen, The tropical garden surrounding the property was beautiful with two swimmingpools, lots of palm trees and plants.
The winterset is placed in a quiet area just a few minutes from the beach......by foot.

Even though the apartment was perfect, the garden was beautiful and there was free parking...nothing could be compared to the friendly staff.
Maggie and the rest of the staff made our holiday and I miss them so much.

We will return to Florida and to THE WINTERSET.........for sure....

Thanks
Kristian


For pictures from Winterset and the surrounding areas.....please visit...
http://www.pbase.com/kohlsson/florida_2011&page=all

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Kristian,
Consider The Winterset your home away from home, you are welcome anytime! You're right, the location is prime, so close to the beach, shopping and restaurants but it's tucked away, making the hotel very calm and quiet. North Beach Village Group is working hard to spread that relaxing vibe you enjoyed at the Winterset throughout the entire North Beach Area. Next time you visit, you will notice some upgrades to The Wintersetl and to the surrounding area. Thanks so much for your feedback.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I have been in this family resort for the last 5 years.
I am happy that is now under new management with a great manager named Maggie.
The stuff were very nice and always available when needed.
I am happy that the rooms are going to be renovated because it's about time to have a fresh young modern inside look.
I do recommend this family resort.
thanks to all the stuff and 2thumbs up to Maggie.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nbrahmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Nbrahmi,
It's so nice to hear from a returning guest, especially one who is a 5 time visitor! You are correct, the resort could use some updating and we're looking forward to making not only the Winterset but the entire North Beach Area a clean, modern and relaxing place for visitors and locals alike. You will notice a lot of upgrades, including concession stands and tranquil sitting areas. Don't worry though, the great service and kind staff will always be here, that won't be changing any time soon! Thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
243 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
182 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#36 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
92 reviews
Central Beach
Tranquilo
Tranquilo
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Property: Winterset Hotel
Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing