We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro feel great price :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropi Rock Resort
Ranked #89 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Retro feel great price :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Yes the hotel is a bit old but oh so charming!
Checked in late, got the key from nearby little hotel, got upgraded to a big studio room with our kids, facing the pool! Good sized room.
At least something different then the standardized classic hotels, just a block from the sea...
Loved it! And will return !
The French love this kind of atmosphere :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kokopetiyotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Kokopetiyotl,
The great thing about North Beach Village Resort, with it's multiple boutique hotels, is the variety of hotels. We really do have something for everyone, from the old Florida to ultra trendy. We're so pleased that you found your fit at the Tropirock and hope that you can return again very soon. Bienvenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    116
    67
    41
    25
See reviews for
83
140
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was shocked to read mean-spirited comments made in a previous review. My goodness! Maybe somebody was having a bad hair day? I've never taken the time to write a review for any hotel, but felt compelled to do so this time in order to set the record straight based upon my own personal experience. My husband and I stayed at the Tropi Rock in June/2013 and enjoyed every minute! We loved the warm atmosphere of the place, from the "Old Florida" rooms to the wonderful tropical garden. The rooms are a little tired, but that is exactly what we expected and therefore were not disappointed. Most of all, we will always remember the great service we received from Patty, the manager. She went above and beyond to ensure that our visit was pleasant and memorable. Be careful about the terrible things written by that previous reviewer, because I sense some other factor lurking in the background. Our experience was totally opposite. Patty was supremely gracious and we enjoyed our little chats with her. Loved the sweet Spanish accent and the genuine smile on her pretty face. She was extremely helpful in providing info to us about local restaurants and other things we wanted to know. We pestered her many times with our questions and she never seemed to mind one iota, never once made us feel that we were taking too much of her time. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on and she cheerfully arranged taxi service for us on a couple of occasions. I am an early riser and noticed each morning, well before the office opened for the day, that Patty took loving care to feed a couple of stray neighborhood cats in an isolated area of the property. It says a lot about the character of someone to show such compassion. I travel about 15 weeks each year related to corporate responsibilities and generally stay at upscale places which are known for outstanding service. Two of my favorites are the Arizona Biltmore and the Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel. The service is great, but often feels staged and stiff. Such is not the case with Patty. She's the real deal and I give her a solid A+. I look forward to my next little escape to the Tropi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorothyLovesJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
DorothyLovesJava,
Your review really touched us, thank you so much. We appreciate you taking the time to write and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Patty and the rest of the staff really do care very much about the guests, and we are so pleased that it showed. We too look forward to you next visit. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been at this hotel from July 10 to 16th. It's a nice place at 2 blocks from the beach. The place is clean, the service is good.

The rooms are a little small, but do come with full kitchen, 2 double beds, and bathroom (small as well)

Parking and WIFI are free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karol_michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
karol_michel,
There are not many hotels in the area that offer such low rates, complimentary wi-fi and parking. Add in the close distance to the beach and you have a winner in the Tropirock! We really appreciate your review and hope that you can visit us again soon. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our flight came late and luckily enough I called the hotel that we will be late. I was told that there is nobody in the reception and we were given an address where to pick up the keys. Not very nice after a long flight to try to find our way to this other place (did not even catch the name of the motel) and then when we found the right address try to locate an open door to find someone who could help us.
The hotel was not like in the photos and 2 nights were absolutely enough there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2013Tuija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
2013Tuija,
You will be happy to know that we have improved our check-in procedures, which includes clearer instructions on our guest registration and a 24 hour front desk. We hope that you will visit us again to see the improvements. Thanks for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall the hotel was good me and my kids had fun but every time Patty. Was on front desk she had something to say about everything and won't even shut up about how she used to own the hotel and gets to personal no one needs this on there vacation . idk how she is qualified to be service manager to this nice place all she does there is . So last. Days we try not to go to the pool bc she got very annoying ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Renik123,
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Tropirock and hope that the fact that the one of the family members in your party (former NBV employee) didn't add any further issues. Positive or negative however, we always appreciate guest feedback and do thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'll get to the frozen grapes in a bit. Friends and I recently stayed for 2 nights and the end of June. Our room was available when we arrived around 1:00 PM and we were able to check in early. The furniture is a bit dated as is the kitchen, but we noticed some renovations being done to other rooms, so this may not be an issue for long, although everything in our room was clean. We were on the second floor and the elevator wasn't working but a member of the staff helped us with our heavy luggage. He even refused a tip!

Our stay was great - no issues - but here's the best part. We were not able do a late checkout but were told that we were welcome to use the hotel's parking lot and facilities as long as we wanted, which we did. Late in the afternoon, as we were relaxing by the pool, a staff member came out with a tray of frozen grapes! How refreshing and surprising since we technically weren't guests any longer.

Once the renovations are complete, Tropi Rock Resort will deserve a 5 star rating from me. For the price, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msboogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
msboogie12,
Once you stay with us, you're our guest for life! We know that traveling is tough and we are very happy to accommodate our guests, even past their departure time/date. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Tropi Rock is the perfect place to stay if you want to relax by a beautiful pool surrounded by a tropical garden. I recently stayed there with my cat, Fred, for 15 days while looking for an apartment. The place has old-Florida style & charm that I hope does not change. The location is great & so are the prices. The beach, restaurants & shopping are all within walking distance but it is still quiet & secure. The bed was comfortable & the room was very clean. The staff was friendly & courteous. Special thanks to Claire & Patti too for making my stay a pleasant one :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Roseann M,
We hope you and Fred have settled into your new apartment. What a great title, it describes Tropirock perfectly! With it's low rates, great location and complimentary parking, it's a great find. And for those of us with 4-legged family member, this pet friendly hotel can't be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Beach Gardens
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#56 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Seville Hotel & Apartments
Seville Hotel & Apartments
#47 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Central Beach
Cocobelle Resort
Cocobelle Resort
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Property: Tropi Rock Resort
Address: 2900 Belmar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America's top tropical destinations. We're warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel - evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock's now one of North Beach Village's most popular boutique hotels - where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you'll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family's needs. We'll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, "Under promise and over deliver," speaks of Tropirock's value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative decor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing