We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the pictures or reviews”
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropi Rock Resort
Ranked #91 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Better than the pictures or reviews”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful!!!!! Just what we were looking for. Full kitchen, very clean, comfortable beds, BBQ corner, nice pool and garden. 178 with tax 4 2 nights. Good service. We surly and definitely recommend it, you won't regret.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    116
    69
    43
    25
See reviews for
83
144
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This property has a beautiful outdoor area with lots of trees, however the pool was very cloudy and dirty. While checking in, the clerk could not be bothered as she was chatting on the phone as she was when we checked out too. With that said, she did arrange a shuttle for us to the airport quickly which we appreciated. We were early & relaxed in the courtyard area which was fine. We were told about noon that it would be 45 min & our room would be ready, even though we had seen many people check out in from the time we arrived at 10am. It was 2 more hours before we had a room. We saw only one overworked maid. Then, after clerk knew we had 6 bags for two people, we were put on the 3rd floor with the elevator being broken! Are you kidding me? As far as the room, paper-thin walls, filthy floors, and shower, and the toilet would not flush all the way. The AC unit sounded like a jet landing in the room. The satellite dish was out the entire stay. Beds were comfortable. Location was excellent, two blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beanat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is not the "mom & pop" sort of place we had anticipated with personable service and simple, clean amenities. Apparently many properties in this neighborhood, to include this one, are now corporately owned and most likely waiting the wrecking ball. We found even routine maintenance to be lacking. I'll explain...
We stayed here just one night, in April 2013. Problems galore: the pool was filthy. It had not been maintained; the water in it was a brackish gray. The toilet in our room did not flush adequately. The tv only received a few of the many listed channels; those channels not working displayed a "there's a problem, contact your cable company" message. And the elevator was not working! Good luck with your luggage if you're on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
The lone bright spot were the comfortable beds but that's it. Loud-voiced partying people wandered the halls woke us twice between 2-4 a.m.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh360guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jerome, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just left Tropi after 5 days and found the hotel to be very comfortable. Chked in after midnight and as explained had to do so at the hotel Aqua, no big deal 3 blocks down the road right on the way, met by security at Tropi. Would have preferred another room as we were in 202 and had no view and very loud, early housekeeping crew below our window every am. Did request a room change two times and could not be accomomadated with that the only down fall the room was clean, the beds clean with crisp sheets, fresh large bath towels and beach size towels for the pool. For those who would like, it had a 4 burner stove with oven and full size fridge along with coffee maker and toaster. The bathroom was clean except in the corners of old tile, the shower had wonderful pressure and great hot water. The pool and tropical gardens are great, It is very nice to have access to beach chairs, floats and bbq. I have stayed at expensive 4 star hotels and found myself just as comfortable and safe here, perhaps even more private. 2 blocks from the beach and walkable to dining with ample free parking at the hotel you can avoid paying at the beach and all the resturant areas, as every where charges for pking. Will definately stay again or at the Aqua as both are in a great location, friendly and clean. Don't forget to pet the garden cats, if you can.

Room Tip: Unless you want a full kitchen stay out of the corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
lpski,
Thanks so much for your review. Give us a call and let us help you find the perfect fit, whether it's Tropirock, Aqua or any of our many boutique hotels in North Beach Village Resort. .We're looking forward to your next visit, and the cats are too! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Pros - Location is great.
Free Parking for guests
friendly/helpful front desk staff...our taxi was late and the one girl called every shuttle company she knew to help us.
They have a stack of beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use.
Beds were clean and comfortable.
The price was right.
Microwave and mini fridge were a bonus.

Cons - The towel rack in our bathroom was broken and the hook from the back of the door wasn't there...not good when we have bath & beach towels plus our bathing suits.
The bathroom could definitely use some work, our shower ran constantly and just looked dirty overall.
The decor was non-existent...not one picture, mirror, anything on the walls. The only two mirrors were on the wall and the shower door.
The sign threatening to charge women for their towels if they get makeup on them. (Might even been a pro b/c I had a good time laughing at it)

And the biggest deal breaker for me was our first morning 8:20AM I was woken up by very loud people whom I assumed were excited guests. They were yelling for about 2 hours outside our door so there was no going back to sleep. I finally realized when I popped my head out to see what was all the commotion it was the cleaning staff. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? How unprofessional can you get...disturbing the very reason you have a job...the guests who spent a lot of money on their vacation and don't want to be rudely woken up by you. Luckily, we were only their for the weekend after a cruise so we only had two mornings are being woken up way too early on vacation by the annoying cleaning staff.

Does the good outweigh the bad? All the cons I could deal with for the price we paid except for the last one.
If you want to stay here I would suggest asking to stay as far away from the cleaning closet as possible (not sure if it's possible not to hear them).
If the owners told them to please do their job as quietly as possible and this actually happened it might be a decent place to stay. As it stands now they will never see us again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieB466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
MelanieB466,
Thanks very much for your constructive feedback. Guest happiness is our number one priority and, as you mentioned, guests are the entire reason we're here. Your suggestions have not fallen on deaf ears, and we want you to come back to see and hear (or rather, not hear) the changes! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Tropi Rock is a very nice refurbished hotel. It's a unique place with an undeniable charm.

I stayed with two of my friends, and as 20-somethings on a budget we're glad we stayed here. We had a lot of fun and relaxed a bunch.

It's a pretty basic room (no carpets or phone though), but it's clean and includes a fridge / microwave. Bathroom fixtures seem old, but they're good enough. Loved the palm trees and tropical plants growing all over the grounds. Also liked how the beach and bars are within walking distance. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, we felt very welcomed by them. You can save a lot of money by drinking the free coffee every morning and taking advantage of the very nice BBQ grills. Compared to the competition, I'd say Tropi Rock is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Mwoik,
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. North Beach Village Resort has 20+ hotels, totaling over 400 rooms, and we are glad to be able to offer something for everyone. We can accommodate every budget! We hope to see you again soon, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the "Studio". The advertisement said king bed, but the room had a very very uncomfortable queen bed. It was like sleeping on card board. The windows were filthy. The Circa 1960's bathroom had crusties in the corners and the shower door was broken. It reminded me of the cheapest apartment I had in college.

Right outside my door was another door that was slightly open. It turned out to be a gas station style bathroom. Right outside my room? Very strange.

When I mentioned that the room had been mis-advertised, the staff was rude and told me that there was nothing they could do. Even though there were other rooms available that night. I paid $119 per night for this homeless shelter flop house. Very upsetting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeK451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
MikeK451,
We can assure you that the items mentioned will be dealt with immediately however, we also understand that it doesn't make up for your experience and for that we are truly sorry. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope that you will come back and let us make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#41 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
168 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Gardens
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
240 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
701 reviews
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Property: Tropi Rock Resort
Address: 2900 Belmar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America's top tropical destinations. We're warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel - evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock's now one of North Beach Village's most popular boutique hotels - where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you'll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family's needs. We'll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, "Under promise and over deliver," speaks of Tropirock's value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative decor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing