We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I love Holiday Inn Expresses.
Pros about this one:

Desk people are fabulous, helpful, and have a sense of humor.
There is always coffee.
The rooms are absolutely clean, and the bathtub/shower is easy to control. (This is more important than you might think).
The room is quiet.
The exercise room has treadmills with BUILT IN FANS! This is a wonderful thing.
The pool area has lots and lots of shade.
Did I mention the delicious coffee?
Oh, and if the desk clerk offers you a cookie... take it. They are magic and will make your day better.


The downside (all minor):

Probably the worst thing is that in the bathroom, the counter space is almost not there. If you don't move the ice container out, you don't have room for anything. It would also be nice to have little hooks to hang your towels on to keep them off the floor.

The mattress was a bit firm for my taste, but certainly nothing wrong with that. You might like it that way.

The wi fi is very slow and sporadic. Yes, they know about it, and they've been trying to get something done. They have a router/node for each floor, so whoever recently set this up still has some fixing to do.

They have no-fat and 2% milk at breakfast, but no whole milk. I curse Dr. Keyes for telling America to go low fat. He was an idiot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hold-the-Elevator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Jean A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Hold-the-Elevator from Tx,
Thank You for staying with us and the 4-Star review, We are glad you stayed with us and appreciate all the information for other guests. We hope that you come back soon. We will share all your kind words with the entiore staff. Glad you enjoyed the cookies!
Sincerely,
Jo Jean and Entire Satff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 676 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on April 9, 2014 and checked out on Saturday April 12, 2014 and as always I was very pleased with the amazing, friendly, hands-on staff. Being a Priority Club Member and former Holiday Inn employee, I am proud to say that for me, this is," Home away from Home". I want to commend the entire staff, Front Desk, Maintenance, Housekeeping and Dining Room Staff for doing such an amazing job on a daily basis. I highly recommend a raise for the entire staff. Travelers, should you visit the beautiful Ft. Lauderdale Beach, look no further than paradise, a place to relax and be surrounded by caring, kind, professional, amazing people, but don't take my word for it, make your own beautiful memories of this amazing hotel, I assure you, your stay will be "Timeless".

Kudos to Mrs. Jo and Staff!

Room Tip: The rooms are amazing. I love privacy and would highly recommend Room 518, of course the entire hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Jean A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear sandra J from Tallahassee,
WOW, we thank yoru for the great 5-Star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share all your kind words with the entire staff. We all work together with a common goal to make sure each and every guest has a great stay !!
Hope to see you soon,
Safe Travels,
Jo Jean and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work. I arrived early and the staff was more than helpful and tried to accommodate me with an early check-in. The rooms have been recently remodeled and are nicely done. I stayed in a deluxe king size room with a pull out couch. It was than spacious with a modern executive look. The bathroom was remodeled but you could tell the counter was reused. The breakfast is minimal and lacked taste but had variety. The gym is a 10 x 10 room with 3 machines.

The location Is what stands out. If you are taking a cruise or just staying in the area, there are plenty of places in walking distance to go to. You are a quick drive to the A1A area and to the highways. Sawgrass Mills is a 20 minute drive away for your shopping pleasure. Miami is just 20 minutes away depending on traffic. Great location.

One thing to watch out for - cruise groups do stayed at this hotel because it is close to the terminal so the lobby can be extremely crowded when they are checking in and out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Jean A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Gringppr from San Juan,
Thank you so much for staying with Holiday Inn Express. We are located 1500 W Commercial Blvd. We appreciate all your kind words and information about the hotel. This might be our sister hotel as we have a gym that is 16x24 and have 2 treadmills, 2 eliptical bikes, a climber, free weights and much more in our fitness room. We are not next to the port, but do have some cruise guests.
Again, Thak You for the great review
Jo Jean and Entire staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family and I stayed here after a change in our travel plans, and we were very happy. They were able to accommodate us on very short notice, and the check-in was easy, even though it was very late at night. The room was very clean, and if we needed a place to stay again in the future, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbear24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Jean A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear kbear24 ny,
Thank You for the great review and for choosing our hotel. We appreciate all your kind words and will share them with the staff. We hope you visit us soon. So glad we could take care of your family while here in the area.
Safe Travels,
Jo Jean and Entire Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were very happy with the hotel we chose before cruising. The only thing I should have looked at more closely was the location to the ports. We had to take a taxi and the cost was $25. The breakfast and the staff who served it were excellent. Around 11:00 am - when the breakfast had already been closed - my husband needed to take some medication and I needed a small glass of water. One of the attendants that was cleaning up the breakfast area was very kind and stopped what she was doing and brought the water to us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeddingPlanner35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojeanallen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear WeddingPlanner35,
Happy Anniversary !! Thank You for staying with us and the great 5-Star Review! We are 11 miles from Port Everglades and the International Airport. We will share all your kind words with the staff (and especially Sharon, BB attendant). Hope you enjoyed the cruise.
Our Best Regards,
Jo Jean and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just returned after staying here with another couple from a 15 night cruise. We took advantage of the Park N Cruise package. What a great deal. The cost savings was significant. Parking at the cruise terminal is $15 per day. The fee for the shuttle to the cruise terminal is $35 for up to a party of four. We took a taxi back from the airport which cost $30 including tip. So even though you pay for your transportation back and forth it is worth it for long trips. The hotel itself is in very good shape. Although there is some road noise if you are street side of the building. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is more than adequate. We intend to stay here again on our next cruise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vsattui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojeanallen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear vsattui123,
Thank You for the 5-star review and most of all, thanks for staying with us!! So happy you found us! We appreciate all the info for future cruisers. We will share all your review with the staff.
Hope you all enjoyed your cruise.
Warm Regards,
Jo Jean and Entire Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is great! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very, very clean and had a nice scent. They gave us several menus that deliver. We choose a pizza and sandwich shop, I'm writing this days after and forgot the name, it was so good (Chicken, bacon ranch wrap!!) thank you for the hospitality!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Angiem987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Jean A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Angiem987,
Thank You so much for staying with us! (and for the 5-Star review). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do keep many menus of the best delivery around us for our guests. We know you have many choices out there and again, thank you for choosing our hotel. Hope to see you next time you visit Ft Lauderdale.
We will share your comments with the entire staff.
Come Back Soon !
Jo Jean & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,168 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,459 reviews
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
828 reviews
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
256 reviews
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport

Address: 1500 West Commercial Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $148 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Quick Snack' Shop in Lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport Hotel
University Hotel Fort Lauderdale
University Motel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing