We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel, nicely renovated. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #45 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was a combination business/leisure trip as my daughter and I are Travel Agents and went to Ft. Lauderdale to tour the Oasis of the Seas. We brought our husbands and her two children along and they enjoyed the beach. First I will admit that we had a complimentary room from Sheraton. That fact will not affect this review.

Check in was a breeze. We were told that the room we were being given had no view, but if we were unhappy with it, we could be moved. We wanted a room on the beach side of the street, a view was not important to us at all. When we saw the room, we were surprised to find that there was a partial ocean view. We were happy with the location.

The hotel is very clean- we constantly saw people cleaning in the lobby and there was never a problem finding someone to provide extra towels, etc. We did miss having a small refrigerator, but no big deal, we had brought along two small coolers. The water in the toilet always looked yellow (even after flushing), so we would not recommend drinking the tap water at the hotel. The ice machine on our floor (#2) was not working, so we had to go down to 1 for ice. It wasn't working on the 3rd floor, either. Again, not a big deal for us.

Our room had two double beds- not the most comfortable we have ever slept on, but we are used to a king and queen size bed. On the second night, however, my daughter's back was hurting so bad from the mattress that she opted to join the children on their pallet on the floor!

The beach is very nice! On our second morning I spotted two workers building a huge sand hill. When I asked what they were doing they told me they do this every morning for the children to play on and knock down. Nice touch! The pool, although we didn't use it, looked nice and seemed to be enjoyed by many of the guests. Beach chairs were put out around 9:00 each morning- free of charge. An umbrella would cost $15.00 plus tax. My son-in-law purchased the umbrella the first day.

Parking- they have a parking garage for $17.00 per day plus tax ($18.02 total). WATCH OUT FOR THE SPEED BUMPS!!!! They are HUGE!!! Our mini-van had a difficult time going over them whenever we entered or exited the garage. Honestly- the size of those speed bumps is quite excessive! They could be taken down a bit. And the parking spaces are pretty small. Most guests parked right on the line, making many of the spaces unuseable. With that said,though, we were always able to find a spot to park.

The location is perfect for those leaving on a cruise- it took us 5 minutes to drive to the port.

Would I recommend this hotel to my clients? Yes, I believe that I would. The good far out-weighs the bad and it was the general concensus of the family that we enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton, Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Dear kingsgirl55: We are HAPPY that you chose our property as your pre-cruise destination before departing on the beautiful Oasis of the Seas. Our location is ideal as we are situated directly on the beach and very close to the Port Everglades Cruise Port. We are glad you enjoyed the stylish new look and tone of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the ice machine and parking fees, as we take all comments seriously and will ensure they are reviewed with our management team. We hope you had a wonderful cruise and are looking forward to your return back to Sunny Fort Lauderdale and the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,604 - 3,610 of 4,018 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

Supposed to be a non-smoking property but the beach attendants don't know the rules. We paid for umbrellas and chaises, only to have smoke blown in our faces all day. We complained to the front desk and they gave us our money back but the management should communicate with the guys who run the beach concession. Really ruined our day. The staff at the pool bar and restaurant were lovely and the food was great. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockerMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My mother & I recently stayed at The Sheraton for 5 days. We arrived and went straight to the pool. We were there for maybe 15 minutes and the bartender Paris already had us set up with beers and the best quesadilla EVER! She even took a few pics of us! Also, she gave us shopping ideas and fun things to do. I've been in the bar biz for 25 years and I enjoyed watching someone who genuinely loves her job and also enjoyed her interesting stories of her travels. Regarding the hotel- we stayed in the beach tower right near the pool. To get to the lobby, you have to walk outside and into the main building. There's a sitting area right outside the door. After recently quitting smoking, I was appauled at this being a smoking area! Where I come from, smoking is prohibitted at least 10 metres from any doorway. The ice machine never worked on the 2nd floor. I did inform a manager, but it was never fixed. I had to go to the 5th floor for ice each day. The salads at the cafe were amazing at $8.00 which fed 2 of us. The concierge's were all so helpful! The desk staff were always available to give access to the safe they have in a secure room- it is free. Take the Water Taxi $15.00 runs you up and down the coast and the drivers point out all the ritzy houses and tell jokes.The price is for all day, so you can keep getting on and off wherever you like! It was fun! Have breakfast across the street at the Bahia Cabana- $6.95 Eggs Benedict and say hi to Donny- he was sweet! Razzed my mom(she loved it) and helped us with directions and fun things to do. Great time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights for the 4th July weekend and although the weather did not cooperate, we had an enjoyable stay. Our check-in could not have been better. Maroussia Dourassof was very pleasant and able to accommodate our special room request even though it originally was not available and we cannot thank her enough. It really made the difference, especially with the weather, to have the room we requested. We stayed in the Beachside building and unfortunately you have to walk outside (in this case through the rain) to get back and forth from the lobby and parking. It would be nice if the Sheraton could install a covered walkway, but we understand that this area is on City property (??) Still, couldn't some arrangement be made? We did drive around to Beachside to drop off and pick up our luggage (a definite must) otherwise you have to deal with a few elevators to get to the Beachside building, but we still prefer this location for our stays here. One other issue we had was that the elevator in the parking garage did not work and if you could not park on the bridge level that meant having to lug whatever to the bridge or street level (but with the rain we opted for bridge level) Hopefully this is not an ongoing issue. We did not eat in the Clipper Diner, but had a couple of the Caesar salads from the Link (to go) with grilled chicken and shaved parmesan for $8. It was a good portion and excellent! The room was very comfortable. We weren't thrilled with the furnishings (except the bedding was excellent) but not an issue for us. All in all we had a great time and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaFunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The staff at this newly renovated Florida-chic hotel is one of the best I have ever encountered and I have traveled the world. They are attentive but not over-bearing, friendly but not fake and well-mannered/well-dressed but not aloof or pretentious. All hotel staffs should attend whatever training program this staff goes through!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielGS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel was renewed recently but some things i would like to see at a Sheraton were not there.
No mini bar on the rooms, umbrellas on the beach are charged USD 15!!!, 1 beer USD 6 on the very crowded pool.
The rate is not very expensive but be prepared to pay a lot for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrazucaSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear BrazucaSP: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do take all feedback seriously and are reviewing with our management team. Our priority is to connect with guests and ensure they have a wonderful experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband & I stayed at this hotel both before and after a cruise on the Oasis of the Seas. It is lovely and freshly-painted in a beautiful shade of sea-blue. The rooms were in great shape, were large, and had nice beach/ocean views. (We were in two different towers.) The best part was the service, especially James, the concierge (who arranged a last-minute tour of the Everglades for us) and David, the head of housekeeping, who was very welcoming and provided the epitome of excellent service. We also enjoyed the bars, including "The Wreck" and the "Baja Grill" adjacent to the pool, as well as the Clipper Diner. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Here There and Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinceresfbh, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Milwaukee: We are thrilled to hear you and your husband had such a wonderful time with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the decor, customer service, and restaurants. James and David will be delighted to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in beautiful Fort Lauderdale at the Sheraton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,739 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,611 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $170 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing