We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stared here for a couple of nights after flying into Miami from the UK. It was rush hour when we arrived but the journey was relatively straightforward, with the car park over the road from the main reception. The rooms and facilities were good and the proximity to the beach and Water Taxi system made it an ideal place to start our holiday in Florida.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarrie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,602 - 2,608 of 4,045 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel prior to leaving for a cruise. The traffic in Fort Lauderdale was crazy, but we made it. Once arriving, check in was quick & easy. The layout of the hotel is odd, it is very spread out with long corridors & different towers & elevators. It is right on the beach, which is nice. But it is right next to the public beach parking, which is a little unpleasant due to early morning volleyball players making noise, but it wasn't that big of a deal. We were with another party & they were put in a much better room with a much better view & a balcony (all the way across the hotel). That was weird because we booked at the same time & paid the same price??? Not smart to do when 2 groups are together & will see each other's room. We were also told many different things from the concierge, one day they were nice about setting up a rental car, the next day they were rude & gave different info. And them a car to the cruise ship, they tell you there are no taxis & you have to pay $8 a person for there shuttle, then it goes to $10 per person, then when we were ready to go (not using a shuttle) we walked outside & there were taxis sitting there. We took one for $20 for 4 people. Just no consistency happening. If u want dinner, look elsewhere, or have a reservation. And don't even mention room service, it took almost 2 hrs.
**just a side note, I have never had any issues with my credit card, & never used it any other place, besides this hotel, & the number was mysteriously stolen?? And charges made to it while I was on the cruise, out of the country & I never used it on any islands I went to, I'm not saying it was this hotel for sure, but I don't know where else it could have been, seriously, $700 to a Verizon store in Fort Lauderdale, I don't even have Verizon or even have a phone in my name. My card never came out of my pocket except to check in**
I did not let the credit card thing effect my review though, as it is not 100% known if it was there doings.
All in all, probly will check a different hotel next time I'm in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dink1525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Dink1525: Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor Community. We apologize for the challenges and difficulties you encountered throughout your stay as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. Know that I have shared your comments with our team and please trust that they will be looking into this further. With four main buildings as part of the hotel, we understand that this can be a challenge due to the layout of the property; however a majority of our outlets are centrally located in the main building to provide easy access for all guests. Again, thank you for your comments.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our extended family (of 25) stayed at the Sheraton for a family reunion. While the rooms needed updating... the service was excellent. Good food (Dos Camenos & Starbucks+, beautiful beach... and the staff at the beach was beyond accommodating (Thanks Rudy!!)
We'll be returning next year

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Karen F: Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, pool area, and the view of the beach! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was my Wife's and my first stay here, since the renovation 4 or 5 years ago. My comments might be somewhat biased, as we love the Starwood Program and the Family of Hotels. We travel extensively, on a yearly, basis, both for business and pleasure and, although we get a lot of the complaints by some travellers, to us, they are all fixable. It starts with the excellent personnel that Starwood employs. We were checked in by a Customer Service Agent by the name of Bezen. Her interpersonal skills were excellent. We had a few questions that needed some checking with a manager. She checked with Jessica, whom we did not meet, but provided a solution to our questions. Thank You, Jessica! My point is that all Starwood personnel are willing to solve any situation, given the chance.

We stayed, here, post cruise and had a room in the Beach Tower. We stayed in the North Tower, previous, to the renovations. We absolutely, loved our room and stay. This Hotel is right on the beach. We love stepping out and going for those beach walks. Speaking of walking, it is an easy walk to the Los Olas area of Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd with all the restaurants and shops. If you are OK with walking, it is about a 45 minute walk over the SE 17th bridge (port way), to get to the Harbor Shops Plaza. Publix, Totally Wine, restaurants, other shops are all there.

A nice feature of this Hotel is the Green Program, where you can collect 500 Starwood points per day or a $5 gift voucher, if you choose to not have housekeeping service for a day. We still get fresh towels, if needed and supplies from the Housekeeping staff, if you need it. They just don't come in and make your bed (I make my own, regardless) and do the usual cleaning. We are tidy people anyway, so this is a nice bonus program, for us. I always appreciate the Housekeeping personnel, they work so hard. Akala, our 4th Floor Housekeeping agent and his Supervisor Leo, were very helpful with any supplies we needed. Their interpersonal skills were excellent. It is always a good idea to leave a daily tip to these people for their service. They work so hard and can be a thankless job, at times. I walk by some rooms with doors ajar and think that I would hate to going in there to clean up. Remember, the suggested tip rate is $1.50 to $2 per person, per night. If you are people who just like to leave your room condition to the housekeeping, then they do deserve that daily tip.

The Fitness Room is well equipped and a good size. The Starwood Hotels seem to get it with their investment into fitness rooms. They have the LifeFitness aerobic equipment, which is top of the line and excellent weights and equipment.

Upon checking out, Stacey provided the usual excellent Customer Service and Sherman (hope I spelled your name correctly?) the Front Desk Manager was very accommodating, as well.

For Location, Family stays, business stays and the facilities, I easily, recommend this Hotel. And, I am already scheduled to be back in April for my pre-cruise.

Room Tip: Talk to your Check-in Representative about what your wants and needs are. If you have a problem, giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear gtylor: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our private beach and hotel location. Thank you again for your comments and for your continued patronage to our hotel and SPG.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because I wanted to be on the ocean and not across the street so from that point it was great. Small pool but doable for my little guy - not much for my older one. This is not as close to the pulse of ft Lauderdale so if looking for more action go further north. If looking to be in a quieter setting then this is perfect. Rooms are average - we were in tower so it was easier to the pool but not in main building...there's always trade offs. Nothing fancy so if looking for that - this is not the place to stay either. Ours was a last minute trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imajerseygirlhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Imajerseygirlhere: Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review about your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and all of the great compliments surrounding our outlets and beautiful location on Fort Lauderdale Beach. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beachfront property.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Reception was friendly and streamlined. Hotel was mostly well-maintained and nicely decorated. We stayed in the beach building - which was ultra convenient. Very comfortable setup on the beach with loungers, and plenty of the same at the pool. Beach and pool bar/lunch service efficient. In addition to the beach front pool, there is a second pool (the one where the Mermaids swim for the bar show). Nice, private area, but could have benefitted from a little ambiance - palm trees? Mexican restaurant on site as a great happy hour. Would have given the hotel five stars except for a few issues - appeared to be lots of mold on the ceiling of the bathroom and the air filter was filthy. Leftover room service trays in the hall set out for lengthy periods of time. Unfortunately, the beach building does not have balconies - which would have been delightful, but there are large windows and a side beach view. A delightful place to say, and in walking distance of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you are planning to spend a lot of time on the beach, highly recommend the beach building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Josie4: Thank you for your review. We are beyond delighted to hear that you found our customer service remarkable, and we are passing your compliments along to our staff. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was a one night group stay. We stayed in the South Building, the guest room we had was in need of an update, rusty hinges gave an air of neglect ( the worn carpet outside our room added to this). The room and linen were clean but many guests had dogs in the hotel and I did wonder where they spent the night. Dogs should stay in kennels not hotels. I found this off putting.
Perhaps more importantly I felt that the hotel felt we were a nuisance being a group staying one night, the desk clerk was particularly unhelpful.
I would not recommend this hotel. There must be better in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JREDartford_Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear JREDartford_Kent_UK: We're sorry to learn of some of the negatives of your stay, specifically the overall state of your guestroom in the South Tower. Rest assured, we have passed along your feedback to both our Engineering and Housekeeping team to ensure these areas are addressed. Thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,856 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#77 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
11 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,637 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,460 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $182 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing