We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Sheraton, and it's actually on the beach. Not across the street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #48 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty good Sheraton, and it's actually on the beach. Not across the street”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After my awful night at the Hilton at FLL airport, anything would be better. Luckily, the Sheraton on the beach here is quite nice. Not quite perfect, but quite nice.

The front desk staff is AMAZING. What a truly warm and friendly welcome. Informative, outgoing, helpful, warm... i could keep going on the nice things about it. Plus, as SPG Gold and Delta Platinum, they loaded me up with goodies and a room upgrade. The "Ocean Building" room looked directly into a condo building, but we could see a sliver of the ocean, and it was a newly renovated room. AND... the building was right on the beach. That was great. While all those other hotels are across the street, the Sheraton is right there on the sand. That's a big plus.

There's a Dos Caminos here... since I have never been to the ones in NYC, I figured why not try when I'm not in NYC? :) The restaurant is beautiful, but the outdoor seating looks out at the road - sort of a bummer, since there's an ocean right there. But the Mexican breakfast... YUM! Chilaquiles and huevos rancheros? Sign me up for more.

The place is a maze. Lots of buildings. That could be annoying if you're not in the Ocean Building (at least for when you want to use pool or beach).

The pool is rather small and was overrun with people and a loud DJ playing an, um, interesting mix of music. The music was loud enough to ruin the crowded beach chair experience. The pool was just so dang busy. And this was the off season. It felt like some awful cruise ship experience (though I haven't been on a cruise). The drinks at the pool were good, but I'm not sure they put more than about half a shot of booze in them (the Hilton Bentley in Miami makes stronger ones). The hotel doesn't provide enough servers for the beach chair area on the beach. They were overwhelmed, and as a result, it was much easier to get up and go get your own drinks from the overwhelmed bartenders.

I really did not like having to pay $19 for them to install a bleepin' umbrella over the beach chairs. You get a beach chair but no umbrella? C'mon. Don't cheap out on us like that. Charge a resort fee or give us a drink if we buy the umbrella or something. I just don't like the nickel-and-dime.

So I'm torn... there's a ton to like about this place, but when it comes to why you're in Florida, the overcrowded pool and beach area (so many chairs, so close to each other) was a bit of a letdown. Nonetheless, I'd stay here again, and I'd suggest you consider it, too.

Room Tip: Try to get in the Ocean Building and ask to not face the condo. A few other buildings have good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    1,167
    752
    405
    324
See reviews for
1,117
1,321
191
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We checked in and were upgraded to a beach view room. The room was immaculate excellent view and quite spacious. We really enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent with a great choice.From check in to bar and resteraunt the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Overall we had a fab stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC53Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow,Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night en route to Orlando. Spotlessly clean with very friendly and helpful staff, especially the valets! Large hotel with a few different blocks,our room was over a walkway to other side of road.which meant quite a long walk to bar and pool. If we were staying any longer I might have asked for closer room. No Wi-Fi in rooms,only bar area which is always dissapointing,especially when up early with jet lag. Hotel is on the beach, short walk takes you to bars andrestaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrobertson3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear lrobertson3006: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are having an awful experience. First we had to switch rooms because we were right by the pool which plays loud music from 10am until 11 at night. Which we probably wouldnt mind if I was pregnant and sick. They should tell you about the when you check in so you can request a different room if you want. Then once we arrived in the new room the Internet, which we had already paid $10 a day for, wasn't working. After spending an hour on the phone with someone the hotel transferred us to (my husband needs the Internet for work) and it still didn't work we gave up. We then decided we would order a movie but half way through the movie stopped working. When we called the front desk the women said everything was fine and she didn't understand why we were having problems. Well.... Neither do we.
And lets not even get started on the $20 a day self parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear aliehoward: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We apologize for the challenges and difficulties you encountered throughout your stay, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality and service we provide to our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
713 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed at this property multiple times because of the location. It may not be the newest Starwood property in FLL but it has the best location. This trip was hands down the best experience I've had thus far. From pre-arrival welcomes to check out the customer service was fantastic. The VIP concierge staff - Vivienne, Shalini and Janelle - sent me a wonderful pre-visit welcome to make sure we would be accommodated properly. Upon arrival, Shermin checked me in and was efficient and pleasant. We had a nice surprise in our room and plenty of towels, as per our request, in our beach tower room 559. The room is large, bathroom had nice toweling and amenities. Jamison, a Beach Bar staff member, chatted with us on the beach and was friendly and helpful with the local questions we asked him and just being kind to us. Cecil set us up on a perfect location on the beach to just lounge the day away. Our room was always clean and the beach/pool area was kept tidy by the employees in those locations. I like the addition of the flags on the beach to make the staff aware of beverage needs. The Wreck Bar had great late night food and the Link Cafe was perfect for coffee and pastry to enjoy on a morning beach walk. The pool area by the Wreck is one negative. Furniture cushions seemed a bit tired and the towels were not freshened. The patio on the floor above the pool had really nice seating areas but the cushions were always wet? The only other negative is the charge for internet. I just don't understand why this ever occurs in a hotel in 2013?

We enjoyed it so much we extended our stay for a day and flew home a day later!

I love the convenience of this hotel and this visit solidified the fact that this is the only property choice for me in FLL. Huge thanks to your entire staff for kicking it up a notch and focusing on customer service. Our girls trip was amazing start to finish because of your attention to detail!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joburkholder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear justjo30: Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review about your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and all of the great compliments surrounding our restaurants, outlets, and staff service. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful beachfront property.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Civitella di Romagna, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had booked two rooms here and unfortunately they were located far from another. Check-in and check-out were very slow but the staff was friendly. The structure is old and located between a very busy road and a wide beach on the ocean..We think it's over-priced for the overall quality. We were satisfied with food and beverages - breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay during a vacation/business trip. Everyone is so pleasant and welcoming. If you are in need of anything, it will be done instantaneously! I really enjoy the gym that is open 24/7. Also, Ryma catered to my needs in the cafe downstairs. She is so pleasant and makes you feel like you are at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 887Danielle_B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,651 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Property: B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at Dos Caminos, the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing