We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Sheraton FLB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #46 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Woodbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Sheraton FLB”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 6 nights August 18-23. We had two rooms as we have 4 children under the age of 8. They were able to give us adjoining rooms in the Marina building. The biggest positive is that the hotel is on the beach. The beach area is nice but the water is quite wavy. Not ideal for small kids. The pool area was nice and relaxing with warm water. It was very hot and sunny the entire time we stayed. My husband spent his time on the public beach which was a 2 minute walk. You can bring your own food and drinks to the public side, but not on the private side. You will have to purchase food at the beach grill. We ate there a few times and the food was great. A bucket of 5 cans of beer was reasonably priced, however, I found the mixed drinks to be pricey at around $9-$12 a drink. self parking was fine for us...we never had a problem finding a close parking spot. this hotel is better suited for families...I wouldnt describe it as "romantic". Staff was very pleasant and helpful. There was a nice shady area for the kids to play in the sand and some shady spots near the pool.Otherwise, umbrella rental is $20 per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteandVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear JeanetteandVince: We read your review and are very excited to hear you had such a wonderful time during your 6-night stay with us! We appreciate your positive comments about our location, staff friendliness, and food and beverage service at our outlets. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    1,174
    757
    407
    325
See reviews for
1,141
1,332
193
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

When I first booked the hotel through Priceline, I sent a message detailing that it was our honeymoon, etc. and to see if there was anyway to make the stay extra special (i.e. upgrade, nice view, etc.). Their response was that they would see what they could do. Now, I have worked in the hotel business before and I understand that sometimes upgrades are not possible, so I am not upset about that. However, when we arrived there was NO note in the computer at all that this was a special stay and the GSR even tried to give us a room with TWO beds...on our honeymoon!

Once we checked in, we found out that our room was in the building the farthest away from the beach, pool, and everything else. We weren't happy with that, but we dealt with it. However, the location of the room exactly was an issue. Not only did we have a view of a tree and the parking garage (how romantic!), but we were situated right next to the elevators AND the entrance to the parking deck. So, every bit of our stay was filled with noise from other guests entering, exiting, getting on and off the elevator, and getting ice or soda.

What they don't tell you is that there are three buildings. The best is next to the beach (premium accommodations and location), then there is the main building, and finally the dump that our room was in. Our room was basic, but clean (though there were stains on our sheets). However, it had a horrible, musty smell. Again, not romantic.

Then, during our first night, we were awoken at 5AM by a vacuum cleaner outside our door and a housekeeper speaking very loudly in Spanish to a friend. I called the front desk and was told "it happens." The second morning, the same thing happened at 4:30AM!!! How can a person get any rest or relaxation with that happening???

Finally, upon checkout, I wasn't even asked how our stay was. I was given a receipt for two nights of parking and sent on my way.

Now, I know it is too late for anything to be done about our stay. But, I think the service should be better for those who stay in the future. This hotel did not meet the standards that I have come to expect from Sheraton.

The customer service people that I had been emailing back and forth with stopped communicating with me. Overall, stay away from this hotel. Bad service, bad rooms/buildings, and just way too expensive to be worth the hassle.

Room Tip: At another hotel! But, if you are staying here, ask for something in the main or beach building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear David S: Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept our sincere apologies, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests, especially not on such a special occasion. Rest assured your review will be discussed with our management team to ensure the areas you addressed are acknowledged. Again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our product.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was very cautious about what to expect after reading reviews before we stayed here on our way to a cruise, but I would highly recommend this hotel. We didnt have a beachfront room, but that didnt matter. Our room was very large and clean, and it didnt take long to get anywhere. It is beautifully situated and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Yvonne S: Thank you for choosing our hotel are your pre cruise destination. Ironically, the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel was originally built to resemble the shape of a cruise ship. We are so pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed our convenient location right on the beach. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Checked in and got an excellent upgrade. Glad for that. Wonderful receptionist (forget the young lady's name, I'm sorry!). Travelling with two friends on a weekend getaway. Location can't be beat. However, the hotel seems quite old and with a very confusing layout. Yes, they've done a great job with the interior public space. However, with the catwalks and the actual rooms, I can tell they were either built to put as many people in as possible or in a time of smaller beds. Would have liked to have a balcony to open up to get to the fantastic beach view. Beach was pretty nice but attendant wouldn't let me use a third chair (there were 3 of us travelling) so I just went to the ocean irritated and then swam in the pool while my friends sunbathed. Pool fantastic but small so actually swimming laps is a chore with children around. Took forever and a day to find room, got lost once, very poor signage, go through elevator to catwalk then down elevator then exit hotel and walk along grounds then come behind a parking garage to take another elevator up to find room we were given. While view was great I just question why such a confusing layout for the "best" rooms? Parking was expensive, even when parking ourselves. Otherwise, everything great.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach... there are multiple wings and all the rooms seem small (considering we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marquis790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear marquis790: : Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and will be sure to express your feedback with our team, as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. With four main towers, our property is spread out; however the sky walk which connects the main and marina building provides safety and security from the busy traffic on 17th street. Again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you once again to beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked in here for the beach after our cruise. We had phoned to see about a roll out bed and were told that there was but on arrival were told that there were none??? We eventually had to book a second room to accommodate our family. They did give us a resort credit to partially compensate but only after we asked.
Positives. Beach is great with pool backing right onto it. Rooms are clean and spacious and staff is friendly. Comfy beds.
Negatives. There is a musty smell, $20 parking, pay internet in rooms(free in lobby) and a dated feel (very 80`s). Expensive eateries but it is downtown Ft Lauderdale.
Overall, 5 star location with a 3.5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Tricky to get a beachview room due to the multiple towers. Be sure you know what tower you are booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Jeff H: Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We're sorry to hear that your check-in experience was not as smooth as expected, but glad to hear our team was able to resolve the situation and apply a credit for your 2nd room. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and also the positives about your stay with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton last year and enjoyed it so much we went back again this year. The staff here is incredible. They are so pleasant and helpful. We stay in the tower building and it is so easy to get to the pool and beach from there, especially if you have young children. You have to get down early to get chairs at the pool and beach as it gets very crowded. The parking is on the expensive side so you are better off doing a parking package. Rooms are clean, but could use a little sprucing up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illerrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear illerrep: Welcome back to the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel! We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our wonderful staff and convenient location. Until next time, sunny regards from beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

First of all Vivian at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel made our experience from room request, through check in made sure I our reservation and expectations were met and with the view exceeded. The hotel is located on the beach, family friendly and centrally located. The staff amd amenities at the hotel were great. We traveled with an infant and were accommodated with a fridge and microwave. Never felt crowded, prices were fair for the restaurant in the lobby and Starbucks.

I would highly recommend anyone looking for a great beach Vacation at a hotel with a staff that understands the importance of guests services and provide it with a smile. We will be back and want the same room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickS413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear RickS413: Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us! We appreciate the positive comments about our convenient location and friendly staff service. We do hope you visit us again soon for another great stay. Sunny regards from the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,063 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,682 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,520 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,970 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Property: B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at Dos Caminos, the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing