We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, lacking the details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #45 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lacking the details”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. The first time it was better, possibly because the room was in a different building.

The décor in this hotel is beautiful. I love the nautical theme. The rooms are large and comfortable. The employees are friendly and there are a lot of dining options.

My complaints are there were ants in the room, many of the vending machines do not work, and there was a towel with what looked like fresh blood neatly folded on the rack in the bathroom. There was also some mold in the tub. Otherwise the room was pretty clean.

I would probably stay again, and the price is reasonably for the area if you exclude parking and daily internet.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibsones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    1,184
    761
    408
    324
See reviews for
1,152
1,339
195
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from July 16 until the 23rd. First off, I stay at this property 2 to 3 times a year.
always experience the professional staff that work at this facility, from the front desk to room attendants. This past stay I had the pleasure of experiencing the professionalism of Front Desk Manager, Jessica. Great customer service skills by her and the front desk staff. Our room was in the beach house , the room was very clean and promptly cleaned on a daily basis during my 7 day stay to our satisfaction. As far as the room smell, the air quality was fine with the proper air condition setting, after all this is Florida in the summer. Furniture, the quality is satisfactory, nothing special, but we stay here because the professionalism of the staff and it's location of being on the beach. We experienced the food serving staff at the beach and found them prompt and professional. The only negative experience was with the Sheratons contract personnel at the beach that set up the lounge chairs and umbrella's. We unfortunately experienced the manager's wrath when he thought we did not pay for an umbrella and chair, it was quickly resolved, but did leave me with a negative feeling, not good. I communicated this event to the front desk staff and the hotel manager, they said they would address my concerns, good enough for me as I appreciated their concern. I found the public area's clean and functional. Yes, the furniture could be upgraded, but upon my conversation with the hotel manager, she stated that are significant investments being made to improve furniture both inside and out. Overall I enjoy my stays at the Sheraton and hope this review has been helpful.

Room Tip: be nice to the front desk personnel, they all work very hard to serve their customer's !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was more than pleased with my two day stay at the Sheraton. The parking was right across the street and parking was included in my room rate. The hotel is right on the beach so I could take my morning and evening walk both days.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynMarieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We never write bad reviews. This will be the exception since you all deserve the warning. This 1950's Hotel hasn't been cleaned since then. It still has the damp musty smell of that era with a touch of antibacterial cleaning fluid. The hotel was teaming with young teenagers in this country for Beach Volleyball Tournament. The toasted bagels were good but expensive. Maid missed cleaning the room one day so no cups, towels or clean sheets. The shower knob fell off and no way to turn off the water. This was never fixed despite 3 calls to House keeping. Which, all combined, makes this hotel way too expensive even when they refunded the parking charges to make up for the awful service and filthy conditions . . .not worth more than $49/night. Plus parking is $20 - $25 extra. Keep looking for an alternative. Any hotel would be better.

Room Tip: No ocean view until you get to 4th or 5th floor at double the rate . . i.e. $260/night. Not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Runningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Runningen: We just read your review on TripAdvisor and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. This is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. Your feedback is truly valuable to us and we thank you for taking the time to post your review. Rest assured your comments will be reviewed with our management team to ensure these issues are corrected.

Warm Regards,
Heather W
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The one plus for hotel is that it is right on the beach. The rest is all below average. Our room, a king bed with a view of the parking garage, was pretty dirty. The bedding was alright but everything else was gross. A chair still had a piece of a broken necklace laying on it amongst the black smudges on the white chair. The furniture was beaten up and the room had a distinctive 80's vibe. We couldn't open the window, there was no mini fridge (we thought there would be at least a mini fridge), and you had to pay for wifi. How cheap is that? I understand having to pay for parking, but come on...wifi? What year is this?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgirlNH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear travelgirlNH123: On behalf of the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel, please accept our sincere apologies for the frustration you experienced while staying with us. This is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests and your feedback is greatly appreciated, as this gives us the opportunity to address and correct the issues you encountered. Thank you again for your comments and it is our hope that in the future we may earn your trust and business again.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I fully expect to get a totally impersonal, cut & pasted response from Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager as a result of this post (see all other management responses; this type of detachment from actual customer device should be an indicator of what you're in for at this property):

I've stayed in worse hotels, but not with the Starwood (Sheraton, Westin, W, Four Points, etc.) name.

Check in was like a Persian Bazaar, loud, frenetic, and wholly unpleasant. The attendant (I won't mention her name) was unsmiling and reptilian in her demeanor. PLEASE - go work Back-of-House if you're going to be so off-putting from the first interaction.

The room type I booked and paid for was sold out. Lame. Ended up in the back building, across the street. It's like a punishment. Lobby looks like a neglected old-folks home. Hallways need every type of maintenance imaginable, and the ice machine across the hall was on three legs.

Room itself and view was good enough, once you look past the four-lane road to the ocean (and the grubby windows).

Dos Caminos food was really good, but the service was laughably bad. One of the food runners was having an argument with the bartender and he thus refused to bring the food all the way out to spite her. The bartender was excruciatingly slow and we watched couples sit down and be ignored. Again, PLEASE take a different job at this property to spare the rest of us your incompetence or disinterest or both. People are paying to be here and NOT listen to your fights or wait 10 minutes for a drink refill while you chit-chat with other staff.

This isn't just some ubiquitous "gripe list," but a series of things that beg the question WHY would anyone choose to stay here when there are dozens of options right next door or down the street - including a lovely Westin or W (if you want to keep it in the Starwood family).

I give Sheraton Ft. Lauderdale Beach Hotel one extra star because of the room was adequate all things considered, food at the restaurant was good, and several employees who seem like the care. About half of them.

Okay Heather... do your predictable thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clownpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Steve_N_32819: We have read over your entire review and we sincerely apologize for the recent experience that you have had with our hotel. We would like to note that we take our Trip Advisor reviews very seriously and pride ourselves on taking the time to read every review and personally respond to those individuals. As a Starwood property, we try to strive to maintain a reputation of excellence. It saddens us to hear about your less than outstanding stay, when it came to Dos Caminos, the decor, the amenities, etc. We will be passing your comments along so that the issues you have brought up can be addressed further. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

May be the least attractive Sheraton I have ever seen. Check in was tedious, room tiny and moldy despite small balcony overlooking the ocean. Lobby noisy, restaurants expensive and food nondescript. Sheraton should demolish this hotel and create one worthy of this fabulous location!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wink2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear wink2ski: Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment with our hotel, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. We truly value your feedback have notified Hotel Management ensure action is taken on the areas you described that need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,548 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,886 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Property: B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at Dos Caminos, the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing