We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed by "Full Ocean View"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #45 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I needed to schedule a one night stay with very short notice and unfortunately, the W requires a two night minimum stay (total aside - that is a great hotel). I was also unable to get in at the Westin, so truth be told, the Sheraton was not high on my list - but I was in a bind and I generally have good experiences at starwoods properties.

When I checked in I was told I had been upgraded to a full ocean view room in the beach tower - so I was hopeful! Okay- literally, my view (no balcony) is of the building across the way, but if i press my forehead up to the glass and look left - yes, I can see a small piece of ocean (room 270). Does this really qualify as a full ocean view?

Also - the building is just super dated. Low, popcorn ceilings, long dark hallways, And the fixtures in the bathroom are strangely low to the ground - the sink and counter only come up to my mid-thigh. It is just weird.

I frequently travel solo for business and I have to say - I felt a little uncomfortable. Like the building and hallway are so far from the front desk and sort of feel remote and walking down the hallway I did feel a bit vulnerable.

Now - for the pros... it should be noted that each person I encountered was helpful. And it is possible that some of the furniture in the room is newer - so they may have done a bit of an "update" to the rooms. The property does have beach access. I suppose it just depends what you are looking for...

Room Tip: If you ask for a full ocean view room - make sure you confirm that it is indeed a FULL ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepthelighton4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear keepthelighton4me: Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment with our hotel, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. We truly value your feedback have notified Hotel Management ensure action is taken on the areas you described that need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,129 - 3,135 of 4,021 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights expecting to have a beach view at least. We got a parking lot view, as Hotels.com didn't tell us the main part is in renovation. The rooms were not cleaned properly and terribly dusty. I called to have them come back and they ever did. The historic bar is closed, the bathrooms had no exhast fans. We asked for a quiet room and were put by the elevator twice. We walked to the Marriot for breakfast in the morning next door and were so annoyed we didn't stay at that fabulous facility. However Mike the valet manager was the best employee we worked with. TOP NOTCH SERVICE FROM HIM, AT ALL TIMES!

Room Tip: Go to the Marriot next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Gail K: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Service is awful. Glorified motel that thinks very highly of itself. Can't handle the volume of guests. Haven't met a friendly person on the staff yet. Slowest elevators on creation. Confusing floor plan. Just, do yourself the favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaiaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear MaiaDawn: Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment with our hotel, as this is certainly not the Sheraton experience we aim to provide our guests. We truly value your feedback have notified Hotel Management ensure action is taken on the areas you described that need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

PRICE HIGH AND POOR SERVICE, a total mess from check in to check out:

1) We arrived from a long flight at 2 AM and registration could not let us in because they did not received our confirmation. Even when we show the registration papers, they make us wait 45 mn with the kids sleeping on a chair.

2) We left one day before, because of the noise. (We could ear every word said by the guest next door).

3) The Wi-Fi rate was billed 9.95$ per Device and not per Day. NO FREE WI-FI IN THE LOBBY

4) Bad oil smell in elevators

5) Amount Billed at check out was higher than the amount booked, 30 mn again of argument and wasted time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Christelle L: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We apologize for the challenges and difficulties you encountered during your stay, as this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality of the products we offer. We do take all reviews very seriously and have notified our Management Team, so we can work on resolving the issue you experienced. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had 2 occasions to stay @ this hotel before & after our cruise. Our 1st room was ok, it overlooked the pool that is used for the Mermaid show which takes place on Friday pm. Rooms on the other side & within our view looked like they were undergoing renovations. It was fine for the short while we were there. This room was a very short walk to the beach through another Sheraton building (that one was directly on the beach) however I found the hallway of that building on the main level was filled with the smells from the kitchen. I wondered if that smell filtered through the rooms on the upper levels
On our return we had been upgraded to a ocean view, larger room in the building across the street from reception and it was very enjoyable. Again the walk was longer to get to the water but not a problem. There is street access directly to this building & an enclosed walkway to the main building. The pool is quite pleasant directly viewing the lovely beach, there is a beachside bar for food and drinks. This hotel is across the street from a fun bar called the Bahia Cabana, the water taxi. The Sun Trolley stop is in front of the hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants but the snack shops at the pool and indoors serving light breakfast was good. Would definately select this hotel again & reccomend it others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieRed19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear RosieRed19: Greetings from Sunny Fort Lauderdale Beach! Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at the oceanfront Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and hope that your travels will bring you back to our property again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First floor construction outside window. Furthest room from the beach Ugh. Too tired to complain, whatever. I guess I will see if they will move me later. Lobby seemed nice. TIP: Ask not to be put on first floor as far as possible from beach. Live in learn. I'll take a walk on the beach and then see.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear evadninorc: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather Williams
Complex Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, clean, fresh hotel. Spacious rooms and guest areas. Free wifi in guest areas. Infinity pool beside the beach was stunning with good bar and cafe. Mexican bar in hotel lobby serves gorgeous sweet potato fries.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,823 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,741 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#18 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,612 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $171 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing