We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kids friendly and extremely helpful and friendly staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Mike and Willie at Concierge, the front desk staff and everyone at the Dos Caminos restaurant were awesome. We arrived early from a cruise and were given a temp password etc. to use the internet and relax in the cool and nicely decorated lobby. I could charge my phone, watch some TV and enjoy a nice cup of Starbucks type (not a real Starbucks, but they still make several of the drinks like Frapps etc) coffee and relax. The Wreck Bar is famous from the movie "Analyze This" with Robert DeNiro and Billy Crystal. The scene where the mermaids were swimming in the pool which can be seen through the bar windows. Apparently, there is a mermaid show at this bar every Friday. Unfortunately, our stay was for several nights and not one was on a Friday. Maybe next time. We spent several nights diving by the windows and making funny faces or friends at those at the bar. The bar staff and patrons were very please with my childs diving abilities...lol. The access to the infinity pool was a quick jont across a parking area and there is also a bar there. From there, open the gate and enjoy the private cordened off area of the beach. We did not use the beach because we heard there were over 80 people hit by jelly fish this weekend and that would not be a great way to end our vacation. There is a shuttle that will get you and your group to the Ft. Lauderdale Airport for about $25 dollars no matter what traffic is like or how long it takes. The taxi costed us about $15 with tip on the way over, but we acquired more people on the way out and having a private large van seemed like the way to to. The rooms were a bit dated, but considering the age of this building, it was not bad at all. I never got that creepy feelling ever...as a matter of fact, I was extremely comfortable the entire time, even allowing my child to wonder around a bit in the hotel by themself. The hotel used to be called The Yankee Clipper and first opened in the 50's. The front desk staff gave us a late checkout (2pm) and we had the option of $15 each additional hour, but decided to relax in the lobby and watch of bit of TV and enjoy the internet access again. Overall, great stay and I will definately come back !!! Thank you everyone who made my stay and the stay of my family a very enjoyable and memorable one.

Room Tip: For beach view, ask for way up top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,467 - 3,473 of 3,991 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to getting on a cruise. It was OK. Nothing spectacular. Great beach location, but a good walk up to Las Olas blvd for restaurants/bars etc. Parking was pricey at $19 per night, as previously stated, non hotel guests get a day for $10.
We did like the "no maid service" option - for straightening your own bed clothes & hanging the towels back on the rail they give you a $5 food & drink voucher. Nice idea. Service at the beach bar was slow, but we did receive the bill before the food!!!
Two very small draught beers in plastic glasses in the Wreck Bar cost more than $10!!!!!!!!! The onsite mexican restaurant served nice food, but again, very pricey for what was little more than a snack.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just stayed there to attend a friend's wedding at the Marriott next door. Easy check in with friendly service. Room was clean but the bathroom was extremely small. Oddly, there are 3 separate buildings for this hotel which wasn't made clear when we made the reservation.....and of course we were not in the building right on the beach. For the rate we paid you'd think we could have gotten better then a view of their parking garage but Ft Lauderdale is expensive.
The nicer pool is at the building by the beach. Would have been nice to know at check in....I didn't find it until the third day when we finally had time to go to the beach. The beach is only a short walk through the hotel, towels and lounge chairs are free; charge for umbrellas. Great service at the beach although the drinks were expensive. $19 per night for hotel guest self parking. Seems kind of steep since beach goers can park for $10 all day. You'd think the folks giving business to the hotel would get a price break.
We booked the romance package...which included "free" American Breakfast for two in the room each morning. Had to remind them of the "free" breakfast at checkout. No issues removing the charge, but it shouldn't have been there anyway.
Would probably stay there again but only after looking elsewhere. Other folks at wedding raved about their hotels, not so much for us.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moochf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The staff at this hotel were just fantastic. No matter when you saw someone, in a restaurant, at the beach, in the lobby, at the pool or just in the hall, they always greeted you with a friendly hello and a smile. The room had a fantastic view of the beach and ocean, as well as Fort Lauderdale coastline. Room was very clean and spacious. Had a slight problem with being charged for parking when I did not have a car, but in 2 minutes the front desk had it all straightened out. We arrived a day early for our reservations and they were very accommodating to get us into a room that we could remain in once our reservation started. It is not in downtown Fort Lauderdale but only a 10 minute walk to downtown and shopping. Close enough, but far enough away from all the noise and traffic. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed here after a cruise a day before our flight left. It was a basic room. customer service was great. We had a great view of the harbor. its important to not this resort really is three different buildings and locations are very different. the tower we were in was acroos the road from the beach and we thought we were on the beach. But no real complaints. it could use some updating but it had the sheraton/starwood feel and was an awesome place to stay. We also made use of the water taxi which is a short one block walk away from the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We are starwood gold members and villa owners and this one passed muster.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The hotel lobby was nice. When we got there at 2 pm (checkin time is three), we were told our room was not ready. I have never gone to a hotel where they would not let you check in if the room was ready but they made it clear what time check in is. We went to the pool bar and sweated until 3:15 and enjoyed a six dollar bud and a 12 hamburger with no fries. At 3:20 we went back to the desk and were told that our room was still not ready. I told them "we booked this in October, 2010, did you not know we were coming??" The clerk said two free nights of internet and a room upgrade to say they were sorry. All I can say is that if the room I got was an upgrade from what I was supposed to get I shutter to think what I was getting. Postage stamp size. Not even a chair to sit in.
Staff at the beach bar was nice except for the guy with the fauxhawk who acted like it was our pleasure to have to ask him for service. The rest of the bar staff were uppity. The maid did not do a very good job. The pool was small but the beach was very very nice. Next time I will look further for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleen2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

A friend and I stayed here for a long weekend, and absolutely loved it! The staff is amazing...and they are everywhere you look! If you have a question, or need help with anything, they are more than willing to help. We stayed in the farthest building from the ocean; however, we didn't mind the walk to the pool/beach, as it really isn't that far. Our room overlooked the ocean which was gorgeous. Make sure to take advantage of the buy 1 get 1 free margaritas during happy hour (4-7PM)! I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,797 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,148 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $156 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelsClick so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing