We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahia Mar was just what we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #55 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at Bahia Mar for one night in an ocean & marina view room and found the hotel to be very acceptable. We were in the main tower, which has a functional but not opulent lobby and a helpful concierge sitting right by the door. Check-in was extremely fast. Parking is $10/day to park in an uncovered surface lot, but that's probably no different from other beachfront properties. The room was clean, though it had a rather strong chemical smell (possibly cleaning fluids) and we had to leave the balcony door open to air it out when we arrived. The room appeared to have been upgraded recently - the bathroom fixtures were new and the carpet was in good shape. Our tiny balcony had a good view of the ocean, the marina and, in the distance, Port Everglades. It was fun to see the cruise boats pull in early on Saturday, but we had to do this while standing because the balcony wasn't large enough to sit down. Although not especially luxurious, the room was basically what I would expect for a standard business hotel.

We selected the hotel because it did not appear (based on price and amenities) to be the sort of place that would appeal to the college spring break crowd -- and so would be quieter and in better shape -- and we were happy to see that most of the other guests consisted of middle aged people and young families with well-behaved children.

Since we only stayed for one day we didn't try out all the amenities, but we did spend time at the pool, which was well-maintained and had a poolside bar. There were plenty of chairs and there are pool towels available in the fitness center. We also enjoyed the concrete walkway over A1A to the beach which let us stroll to the beach without having to scamper across the very busy road that runs along the Ft. Lauderdale oceanfront. The beach seemed pretty crowded (other than early in the morning), but then again in Ft. Lauderdale it is ALWAYS crowded. The tennis courts appeared to be in good shape though we did not play.

We ate the buffet-only breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which is situated on the second level of the hotel and overlooks the ocean. The food was good and the servers seemed eager to help out by offering to make omlettes, waffles, etc. to order. It was a little pricey ($20 per person) but that is no different from breakfast buffets at other waterfront restaurants we have visited.

Overall, Bahia Mar offered a full-service hotel (with the restaurant plus a convenience store where food was available) in a good location at a price that was pretty much expected for a decent oceanfront hotel. I'm not sure I would stay here for more than a few days, since the only nearby attractions are the beach and the Las Olas downtown area (which we exlored in about 3 hours), but we were satisfied with our brief visit.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,558 - 3,564 of 4,034 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2006

i stayed on the 9th floor great room nice and clean.
all the help was extremely courteous as we had to extend at the last minute due to airport closings because of the "blizzard" . location and views are awesome. wonderful view of ocean and marina and the intercoastal. they were finishing up hurricane damage work this week. and the pool bar was closed a couple of days. the pool is great. the beach is across the highway however there is a pedestrian walkway over the road direct to the beach from the hotel. the mini bar prices are crazy and room service stops at 9p however the food was good. the bed was very comfortable. we stayed 6 days and totally enjoyed our stay. will stay there again. you just cant beat this location.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank laura5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
13
Reviewed February 25, 2006

This hotel is all about location. Location, location, location! What a great location! Right in the middle of everything; the marina for sight seeing tours, just a footpath away from the beach, a block from resturaunts and hotels. We will definitely stay there again! The marina building was lovely and the pool/sandbar is great...plays 80s music during the day. My only criticism is the bed linen...YUCK! Hello? Haven't you guys every heard of fitting sheets? WIERD!
Very friendly staff, accomodating and helpful for any problems that might arise.
Be sure to wake up and watch the sunrise. Be sure to ONLY take the water taxi if you have LOTS of time on yoru hands, the waits are rediculous. If you are DYING for a starbucks, the scoop is that there is one inside the marriot, right down the street! Be sure to take advantage of the great sight seeing tours-everglades were fantastic...be sure to stay at the Bahia mar!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

We were tentative about staying here due to some of the negative reviews we've read but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, our gamble didn't pay off. To start things off, the desk clerk was rude and abrupt. We were put in the smaller annex building across the parking lot from the tower and from the moment we stepped off the elevator we noticed a rotten smell in the hallways. It only got worse when we got into our room; the smell eminating from the bathroom was absolutely rancid. We had to keep the bathroom door closed at all times so that the smell wouldn't overwhelm us. The odor was coming from a disfunctioning toilet tank and requests to have it cleaned up properly were acknowledged but never followed up on. The carpets were water stained and dirty. Noisy teenagers roamed the halls, yelling and screaming and banging into walls. The mini bar prices were totally outrageous. The drinks at poolside were $8 each and then they have the nerve to add an 18% gratuity on top of this. We didn't dare try any of the dining facilities for fear of what we would encounter. Thank goodness we were only here for one night. We'd never go back again or recommend this place to anybody. It's obvious that their accomodation is inconsistent and substandard but they take advantage of people due to the great proximity to the beach and even that's not so appealing. The beaches are crowded and rowdy - we'll stick to the Gulf Coast from now on. The Bahia Mar is the most disgusting place we've ever stayed in. Stay away or use at your own risk.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank holidayfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Audubon NJ
14
Reviewed February 19, 2006

After reading these reviews I was a little worried, but for no reason. I booked by phone with a AAA discount and paid 232 which was more than I wanted to pay, but ended up with an ocean view when we were only promised a marina view.
We arrived early and got into our room at 10 am and I noticed the people checking in next to us where told that check in was at 4! Also several people waiting hours in lobby to check in. I would recommend not reserving online! We chose Bhaia because we were staying one night before cruise and did not want to rent a car. Location is great, accross the street from beach and a great bar called Oasis. All tables and benches are actually gliders!!
Swing your problems away!.. Took recommendation from our waitress there and walked 4 blocks to Casa Blanca for Dinner...Great meal and ambience. Rooms were clean, concierge was right at door for help and the Yachts in marina are amazing. Water Taxi was at end of Parking lot but due to a cutback on number of boats we waited more that an hour and never got on!
Our only disappointment. Pay about 17 for cab from airport and 14 to cruise. Service at breakfast stinks!! Be prepared to get up and help yourself, quite a shock to find that they added 18% gratuity for the buffet for NOOOOO service.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2006

My first complaint was that the front desk staff was understaffed and not that friendly. When we got our room we found out it was not in the main tower but across the yard in lower building. As they where doing contruction on the front door we had to use another entrance and could barely get our luggage out (there was no offer of assitance from the staff). The room was clean, if not a little dated. My complaint about the annex building where we where staying was that it did feel like a dorm. We passed doors with names plastered over them of the people staying in the rooms. Kids where sitting in the hall wall on their cel phones. Overall it was an ok hotel. Not sure what the other reviewer said about not feeling safe at night, we walked around and didn't feel unsafe at all.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sonoma County, California
11
Reviewed January 19, 2006

We had to stay at Bahia Mar because my husband is a huge (author)John MacDonald fan. There were three of us staying overnight before leaving on our cruise.

The location couldn't be more perfect. Right across from the beach and close to both the airport and the port.

The room in the Marina building was clean and comfortable although there could be more attention to details here and there. There were quite a few families with small children and several rooms with college students in them so I expected some noise but didn't hear anything. The room was on the hot side and we couldn't get it cool. It would have been nice to be able to open the windows to get some fresh air.

I would probably go back unless I wanted a shuttle to the pier although I think the rooms are probably nicer in the tower building. The Marina building is old and it shows in some areas. We talked to several staff who were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,017 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,740 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,611 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $142 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing