We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok rooms, Ok Pool, Adequate Gym, Great location near the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #59 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok rooms, Ok Pool, Adequate Gym, Great location near the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location. My hubby and I, are truly beach lovers!

Our overall experiencie was good, even though we had a very unpleasent incident when checking in. The front desk clerk that assited us told us that we didn´t have a reservation. She said reservation under my name was cancelled, and that the hotel was all booked and there was nothing she could do to help us.

Because we weren´t sure of our exact travel dates at first, I made 2 reservations with 8 weeks in advance. 1 with Agoda.com, and 1 with Booking.com (Both with different dates). When we knew for sure our dates for the trip, I proceeded to cancel the Agoda reservation, and remain with the Booking.com. reservation.

Four days before our arrival I even contacted BOOKING.COM to ask if the Hotel could let us do a 1 hour early check in and a 1 hour late check out. BOOKING responded that BAHIA MAR had agreed on letting us check in 1 hour early at no cost, but the late check out was subject to availability plus an extra fee.

Imagine our suprise and disgust, when I was told we didn´t have a reservation.
The lady at the front desk didn´t seem inclined to help us much, even when I showed the reservation papers, and email communication between BOOKING and myself 3 days prior confirming early check in. That is when I asked to talk to the manager.
The manager, a lady who was very polite, also said the system showed a cancelled reservation under my name. But after i showed her reservation papers, and the email communication mentioned above even confirming an early ckeck in, she took the time to go to the back office and call BOOKING.COM ( Thank Goodness for that!).

When she returned, she said it was a all a misunderstanding. Apparently, when the AGODA reservation was cancelled, the Hotel mistakenly cancelled the Booking.com reservation as well, beacuse it was under the same name... Or so they said... Go figure?
After explaining the error, she gave us key to our room, map to the hotel grounds,and two of the typical Double Tree Chocolate chip cookies.

Apart from that incident, we had a wonderful time. Rooms are clean, and adequate in terms of space and layout. Even though the Balcony was tiny, we enjoyed the view from the beach and the Marina.
Since we are beach lovers, we never used the pool, which seemed ok. However, hubby and I agreed, it is in need of some serious update... It looks like a pool made in the 80´s.

On the upside:
1. There is a Deli Market adjacent to the hotel, where you can buy anything. Very convenient!
2. The location is perfect: next to the beach and the Marina, and near a number of restaurants and bars.
3. We had rented a car, but noticed the trolley and Public transportation stop in front. Water taxi as well.
4. Room cleaning was good and always on time.
We never had issues about towels, slow elevators, or uncorfortable beds,( in fact pillows and duvet were good and very comfy)
5. Gym is good and adequate (Bigger and more complete than other hotels chains)
Courteous staff in restaurant, valet parking, and Boutique store

On the down side
1. WIFI is free but only available in common areas.
2. Self Parking $21 and Valet Parking $25
3. Small restaurant area
4. NO courtesy chairs / umbrellas on the Beach for guests. Everything is rented (Not a biggie for us since we love to sunbath and lay down with towels on the sand)

TIPS: Try to book a room with anticipation to get a good rate. Near the dates of our travel, I noticedin the internet the hotel rates were ridiculuously high. Definetely, Not worth it !

In sum, our experience was good. Rates were decent, and you cant´beat location.
After reading many reviews, hotel was much better than expected.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel-Salaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns. I apologize for the troubles you encountered through your stay with us. It is unfortunate that this incidents occurred you’re your reservation, however your comments and concerns allows us to pinpoint and address the individuals involved to help better our service and image of our brand and hotel.

I am happy to read that your overall experience was positive. Again, I apologize for any discomfort this may have caused and hope this does not hinder your overall impression of our location nor the Hilton Family of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    1,253
    724
    426
    289
See reviews for
986
1,303
201
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Had a lovely stay in this hotel the rooms are excellent really large and very clean.had a fab view of the beach and the marina.all front desk staff were pleasant and helpfull. Wish I could say the same for the porters who tried to insist we had valet parking when we refused we couldn't use a trolley for our luggage and they were very rude .there was a lovely pool with comfy sun beds and a nice tiki bar with great cocktails . Would certainly stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building not in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us and our Reviewers with your feedback. I'm sorry for the service that you received with our Valet/Bellman Staff, I will make sure share your comments with the respective department Managers so other guest do not share this experience. I am happy to hear that you received the service that both you and I expect from Hilton with our Front Desk Staff.

Thank you for staying with Bahia Mar, we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

There was no factor that stood out at the Bahia Mar. The room was adequate but not memorable. The ocean front view was not spectacular and obstructed by a lighted basketball court during the evening. The balcony was too small to sit out on or barely stand on. The hotel lounge was overpriced and offered no view. However, the bar service was exceptionally good. I was lead to believe that the water taxi was on the property, not true. It was off the premises by about a long block. Hotel was more south of the central Fort Lauderdale Beach area than I would have preferred. It was a long and hot walk to the center of activity. Yes, I was disappointed with my selection, however, I was able to overlook my disappointments by the excellent hospitality of the staff. The people made the difference here.

Room Tip: The ocean front room was disappointing. Perhaps a north or south view would over a better view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with the Bahia Mar and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sad to hear that our facility fell short of your expectations. I am pleased to hear that you received the great service that both you and I expect from a Hilton Branded Hotel. Service is the backbone of our industry and our Team Members will be thrilled to hear that you received great service.

Thank you for choosing the Bahia Mar for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

One piece of advice: don't ask the valet guys to arrange a taxi for you! We were meant to go to sawgrass mills mall and compared the prices with a few cab drivers in passing on the day before outside of the hotel.. All provided a pretty competitive rate.. But if for some reason on the day of your travel you can't step outside the hotel and need to take your cab from the porch, the valet guys will give you this story about how everyone else will charge you more or they don't have authorised papers etc and you should only travel with the company they have their tie-up with and whom they make commission out of!! We had to pay at least 20% extra because of this. Which is okay- but we were really put off by the way they handled it with all their lies!!
This gets confirmed when the drivers themselves tell you that if you take their cabs from outside the hotel they will charge you $70-80 (for 8 people) to go to the mall as opposed to the $100 that the hotel quotes!

Secondly.. Don't go by what booking.com etc say - they don't offer free wifi!!!

Third put off - the elevator is old rickety and painfully slow. Takes a minimum of 5 minutes to get from the reception to your room!

Quite a disappointing stay on most aspects!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello,

We're so sorry about the service concerns you encountered in regards to our suggestions about the cab transportation. We're addressing this with our valet team and appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We apologize for any confusion regarding our amenity offerings and we hope we can invite you back for a much more enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed 14 days at this place. Staff is since but room service is really poor. They keep forgeting to vacum the carpet and keep forgetting to provide tawels. Even if wr keep giving a tip every day, room service is really poor. Also, we lost hot watter 4 times. This hotel is close to the the beach BUT this section of the beach is not the best: you won't feel safe in that area of the beach if you are with kids. Take note that you'll need to pay 21$ a day for the parking. Also, breakfast is expenssive (20$ in average). This is hotel is VERY old and needs tobe refreshed. We feel this hotel should be rated as a 2 stars and average price based on the service/ quality should not exceed 70$/night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Driss_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello,

We're sorry to hear about the service experience you had. Our staff works very hard to ensure guests are taken care of and we're doing our best to anticipate guest needs. I will personally make sure that your review is shared with our Operations Team so that we can ensure that the issues mentioned do not repeat.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that you'll consider staying with us again so we can make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because of the proximity to the beach. The hotel did not have chairs or umbrellas, they were available to rent from the city at a high cost. $80 for 5 chairs and 1 umrella! The hotel itself was vey accomodating otherwise, no complaints regarding the hotel, just if you are expecting beach ammentities for this beachfront hotel, you will be dissapointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank mkehoe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Bahia Mar. The service/staff were extremly friendly and met all our needs. The location is perfect, directly across from beach! The only thing I would not give 5 star is the rooms. They are a little out to date and small, however we did not spend very much time in the room so it did not bother us. I went with my 2 year old son and husband. The fitness area is nice, we do CrossFit and they had a lot of CrossFit equipment. The hotel is also within walking distance from a lot of great places to eat and shop. I recommend Coconuts if you don't mind spending a little $. Overall, I would 100% stay at Bahia Mar again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
Bahia Cabana Beach Resort
#105 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing