We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #58 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I couldn't believe this was a Double Tree by Hilton, there were so many things wrong with it. We stayed in the part that wasn't attached to the main building so i'm only speaking for that part, I never saw what the main rooms looked like. First, there was mildew in the bathtub in all the calking cracks and hair on the floor. The carpet was so filthy we were uncomfortable to walk on it with our bare feet. The furniture was cheap white plastic and it to was so dirty, needs a good scrubbing. The only good thing about this hotel was the location, I would never stay there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Unclean rooms and maintenance issues are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet our high standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,962)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 3,962 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Bahia Mar was highly recommended but when I saw the room I was disappointed. There are 2 buildings - a high rise and a low rise. Our room was in the low rise and had a great view of the marina and you could see the cruise ships coming in and going out. The room itself, although spotless, had 3 plastic lawn-style chairs to sit in, stuccoed walls, and no drawer accommodations for clothing. The bathroom had not been updated in many years; although everything worked properly and it was also very clean, it was just old. The pool area was old and tired looking as well. On the up side, the hotel's location is great - right across from the beach with protected access, and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the Jungle Queen and the water taxi. The other positive note is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Everyone we met was courteous, polite and nice. The warm chocolate chip cookies are a bonus! If location is your first priority, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

best hotel I have ever stayed at! clean, quiet, beautiful and friendly staff. Great time, great food, great drinks. Kid friendly, jacuzzi and pool super nice, free valet parking. 2 bars. Overall best hotel ever!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I'll break this down into the likes and dislikes of my week long stay here.

Dislikes:
Elevator Broken
2nd Elevator VERY VERY slow---had to use service elevator on many occassions
Not allowed to use dolly to take luggage to room without having a staff member take it for me (TIP anyone?).
Semi-rude security. Main car entrace gate (the kind that is raised when you use your hotel key) didn't work the whole time I was there. I pulled into another open gate that was much closer to the parking, and was stopped by security. He said that he would "allow" me to come into that entrance "This time" because it was for employees. Rude. He could have said "Sir this gate is supposed to be for employees. Come on in, but please next time use the main enterance". Whatever.
$21 to SELF PARK. Welcome to Ft. Lauderdale.
Room key didn't work. I was told that a computer bug prevented the keys from being recognized so a maintenance guy had to come to our room and take apart/re-program the actual lock for the key to work. No issues after that.

Likes:
Very pretty property
Super pool and work out facilities
Convient walking distance to shops/food
Walkway to the beach
Awesome views of the marina and coast
Very close drive to whatever shopping and dining that you would want to take part in.
Front desk staff were very nice so was the wait staff at their in house restaurant---Breezes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Bahia Mar is conveniently located across from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. There is also a water taxi stop close by. The hotel is a short drive from Port Everglades (cruise port) and to restaurants and shops in the area. It is also convenient to the interstate. The hotel staff provides good service. There is an open bar/grill on the other side of the lobby, convenient for breakfast or other meals. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $19.95 or so, it is overpriced but the fruit and selection are good, everything is buffet style. Gratuity is included at 18%. It can be chaotic coming into the hotel, there is not much space at the front door, and taxis are aggressive and don't hesitate to block the entrance, and valet are not quick to tell them to move to one side. The rooms are plainly furnished but the ocean view is spectacular. The two elevators serving all 16 floors could use an overhaul, one broke down on my second day, slowing down elevator service even more than usual, rough on guests bringing down luggage, some had to wait for the elevator to go down and come back up. Two elevators does not seem adequate for the size of the hotel even if they both are running perfectly, which they don't. It isn't convenient to take the stairs because a sign warns that once you go out, you are locked out of the hotel. So I did not risk taking the stairs from the 14th floor and had to wait for the elevator each time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tahoedewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are a family of 8 and booked 3 rooms for 1 night after a cruise.
Had the standard courtyard rooms which were large but very comfortable, quiet and clean...they had small bathrooms and seemed to have a 1960's type of motel feel.
The rooms looked over the driveway and only one had a balcony but we never used it.
Both the pool and beach were excellent .
We had dinner at the restaurant and were very impressed with the quality of the food and service.
Only negative was that the shuttle service was overpriced. They quoted us $80 round trip to go to the local mall...we crossed the street and took the trolley for 50 cents each...$8 round trip.
Same with going to the airport..2 taxi's cost over $20 less than the shuttle.
Overall we were happy with the hotel and would recommend it to others.


Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank runner051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights during Dec 12-15, 2013. We had room # 601 with nice beds/mattresses, a balcony and a great beach- and sea-view. The sight of the many cruise ships arriving to and departing from the harbour of Fort Lauderdale was impressive.
Actually, our stay was prior to a cruise onboard “Celebrity Silhouette” departing from the near situated Port Everglades...the transfer was booked through the hotel and the rate for the transportation was USD 11.00/person.

The staff at the reception desk, as well as the female concierge, was friendly and professional.

The room itself was OK...however, no feeling of high quality or luxury (we hadn’t expected that anyway). See my pictures.

Three factors that pulled down our impression of the hotel:
1) The two lifts are v-e-r-y s-l-o-w! You have to wait an everlasting time before they finally show up. There are no electronic signs on the wall showing were the lifts for the time being are situated. We therefore walked the stairs - 6 floors - a couple of times. No problem, we love to keep fit 
2) The lamp-shade beside my side of the bed fall away from the reading lamp during the first night of our stay. I noticed that it had come loose even earlier...and that the hotel staff had put it back and fastened it with some tape. Not a durable solution... When returning to the room later that day, the room cleaning staff hadn’t made any effort at all to put it back in place! Bad!
2) When visiting the (outdoor) pool-area we wanted to get us a couple of clean towels to put on top of the (quite soiled) sun beds. However, the box was empty...and despite our repeatedly requests to the person in charge (he was also in charge of the gym)...he didn’t bring any. We left the area – and went for a stroll on the beach instead.

Tip! It was great to walk barefoot in the sand, along the beach, down to the harbour inlet and during the afternoon (mostly during a Saturday or/and a Sunday) to - together with a lot of other people - see a number of immense, great cruise ships pass very closely!
During this Saturday afternoon we even saw a romantic wedding on the beach next to the harbour inlet 

We did not eat the hotel’s breakfast served at the ground floor. However, on the other side of the square in front of the hotel entrance you will find an “All About Food”: A small food court where you may order omelettes, fruit salads, coffee...i.e. all what you need for a breakfast. You may sit down to eat in- or outside. Completely OK - without being a gastronomic treat. The staff was very friendly.

We rented bicycles at a kiosk next to the hotel (they even rented out boats) and pedalled away up to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea (10 km/6,5 miles one way). Nice trip. Cost: USD 7.00/bicycle.

We visited (i.e. went by feet from the hotel, approx 4 km/2,5 miles one way) up to the upper part of “Las Olas Blvd” where you’ll find a lot of restaurants and small shops (an area a bit like what you’ll find in Europe). At the same time we strolled along the “Riverwalk”, where we – in the “Riverfront Linear Park” area - found an outdoor restaurant (the “Briny Riverfront Irish Bar & Restaurant”, with funny maritime decoration in the roof (!) & at the walls) located right next to the canal, where we had lunch in the sunny, warm weather. Nice place to see people and boats - some of them really nice yachts - passing.

Next to the restaurant we bought tickets from “Riverfront Cruises” and had a great two-hour sightseeing/round-tour at (some of) the waterways/channels (cost USD 23.00/person). It’s a must!
By purpose we didn’t go onboard the “Jungle Queen” as we had heard/read negative gossip about the vessel.

One evening during our stay the “Christmas parade” was arranged at the waterways/channels, with a lot of boats (and other odd “vessels”) passing by quite close to the hotel – all of them illuminated. A lot of people had gathered by the shore side bringing chairs and beverage (and some even food).

Well, we had a nice stay (due to our “activities”). The geographical position of the hotel was principally good, the staff was nice and the view was great. However, the standard of the hotel itself didn’t impress us that much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#18 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,720 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,966 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,761 reviews
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,119 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $112 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing