We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break = Vomit smell in bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #54 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel needs to have their cleaning staff revamped. The rooms were dirty. The bathrooms were filthy. And as an added bonus for booking during Spring Break, our bathroom smelled of vomit. The rooms I booked on line were no longer available when I arrived so 4 of us shared a King bed in one room and the other 3 shared a King bed in the other. I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express the night before and have not one complaint. If you have alternate options, I'd advise to keep driving by this dump until the cleanliness improves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DLMDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing this candid feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not your meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We apologize for the unfortunate smell in your restroom and we’ll keep your seasonal concerns in mind as we look towards securing a pleasant stay for future guests at our property. We know you deserve the best when staying with us and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality accommodations you deserve the next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,

Marcos Borras
marcos.borras@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,549 - 2,555 of 4,126 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great pre-cruise overnight stay! Nothing fancy, the lobby pretty basic, but the rooms were very nice, very clean and quite spacious. The beach access is great, the pool is great, and the upscale deli/convenience store that is attached to the hotel is fabulous. We sat outside at the deli with our 5 grandchildren under their umbrellas and had excellent custom made paninis, burgers, salads, and full breakfast at very reasonable prices. The deli sells bottles of wine at regular convenience store prices and will cork it for you and give you plastic glasses so you can drink it on their patio at no additional charge. We will definitely return there prior to our next cruise!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinska23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had an extended business trip and booked a room at the Bahia Mar for nearly 2 weeks and was very impressed at the quality of my stay. I stayed in the Marina building and received the same attention and care that the guests in the main building received. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful---and went above and beyond their duties to assist me. My guest room was cleaned thoroughly and in a timely manner each day while I was out on business. There are wonderful amenities on site and within walking distance of the hotel, and each was great in it's own way. The 'Marina view' does not offer a view of the ocean, but don't be fooled, as the main hotel itself is across the street from the water and only upper floors, directly facing the ocean, will offer a view of the water. You shouldn't concern yourself with your view, regardless of if you stay in the main building or the marina building. You're in Southern Florida and should spend no more time in your room than the amount required to sleep. Disregard comments about 'poor views'. Those people obviously did not experience all that the Bahia Mar and surrounding area had to offer.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank nlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia Mar for four nights of our kids spring break. The location is great. The beach access via the pedestrian bridge is great. The on property deli has good food and is convenient. The pool is nice, but not enough beach lounge chairs. Now some complaints: 1) Elevators. They are old and need to be replaced. One broke down and had people stuck on it. It was broken down for 1.5 days of our stay. A 16 story hotel served by 1 elevator is not good. Long waits and very crowded elevator cars. The rooms are nice, but need updating. Balconies - nice to have, but so small, you can only stand on them. Pool towels are provided by the hotel, but they run out fast and their staff will complain that they can't keep up with demand as people "take too many". You would be wise to bring your own beach/pool towel if possible. If you want to eat breakfast at the Breezes restaurant, show up before 9am unless you want to wait 20-30 minutes for a table. The restaurant is small and looks like it was an afterthought in the design of the hotel. Part of the lobby hallway goes right through the middle of the restaurant. Overall, the staff was friendly (except for the pool towel lady), the valet parking staff were by far the best employees there. This hotel is very pricey. You are paying for location, not for hotel quality. One last comment, a full-service hotel/resort that doesn't offer room service is not a full-service hotel/resort in my book.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear HiTownMan,

Quality amenities and service are what you should expect from us and we know the little things can make all the difference. Thank you for letting us know about your experience and I apologize that we fell short of meeting your expectations in such important areas. I've addressed your comments with our team and we're looking into additional training opportunities and supplying guests with more towels. Your business is very valuable to us and we hope you'll come back and give us another chance to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
marcos.borras@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here for one night before heading home from a vacation in the keys last April, spring break. We wanted a night at a real beach, and boy, did Ft. lauderdale deliver. We loved this hotel upon pulling up. We were able to get our room quickly and it was a great location. We had bit it on priceline and I was worried about what we would get, but it was a nice quiet room with two queen beds, a close walk to both the beach and the pool. Right away I wanted to open a bottle, and walked over to the bar area, where I was sent to the guest shop where they had a souvenior bottle opener I could use or purchase. I bought it, it's on my fridge still today, 12 months later. This hotel hada friendly staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and well kept. Our nights sleep was a good one, and we had our afternoon and evening at the beach, riding the waves. We had a fridge and a coffee maker in the room. I won't say this was a top quality, 4 star hotel, which I've stayed at before. However, it was homey and comfortable and well liked. We tried to book a room to stay again this year for our "layover" night before heading back to ccccccold Michigan. Alas, it was booked up.

Room Tip: Great location directly on the public beach with a walk over bridge so crossing the main road is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location, Location, Location. The overpass to the beach is awesome, and the hotel offers views you'd expect to see in a beachfront property. The entire staff was great from check in to check out (and beyond).

I gave it a 4/5 because the acommidations are average at best. We had stayed at the Bahia Mar for a single night after a 5 night stay in the Keys. In the Keys we were able to rent a very nice 2BR/2BA condo complete with full kitchen, living room, balcony, pool, ocean beach, and snorkeling pond for $160/night. I was disappointed to see what $240 got me at the Bahia Mar....2 beds, a cramped bathroom, but a very nice TV. We were awakened at 1am by kids running up and down the halls. Not the hotels fault, but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

The pool is very nice. The restaurant and food options are spendy. $65 plus tip for an "average" breakfast for a family of 4 (dinner was the same for "cafe" style burger, sandwiches, salads). I recommend the higher rate that includes the breakfast food voucher.

The beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awe_heck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel has 2 buildings. The building with "courtyard" (=parking lot) or" Marina" view is old, shabby, with a strange smell and not maintained. The main building is probably the same age, but OK. Not aware of this we had booked "marina view", which sounded nice. When we arrived the hotel around midnight we were given the only room left: A parking lot room in the shabby building although we had called to hotel in advance to inform our late arrival. After some discussion the following day we were moved over to the "nice" building the following day. We had booked the same hotel after the cruise 10 days later, and were informed that we would get a room in the "nice building" then. Consequently we did not cancel this reservation. Returning 10 days later they tried to give us a room in the shabby building again. Long and heated discussion followed . The situation was solved by another receptionist and we were given room in the main building .
These rooms are nice, large and most important : Clean. The hotel is conveniently located close to the beach and the marina. The concirege staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is on the low side, but there is a very good alternative on the premises ("All about food"). The lifts must be from when the hotel was new maybe 40 years ago, and must be the slowest lifts in the business. With 1 lift out of order on our departure day this was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Stay away from side building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aimar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahiamar, General Manager at Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Aimar45,

It's so important that we take care of our guests and I appreciate your feedback about how we can improve our services. I regret that your first room assignment did not meet your needs and I also regret any misstep in trying to fulfill our promise to you. We're glad you found some desirable dining selections and that our concierge staff was very helpful. We hope that you'll come back to see us during your next cruise so we can show you that type of hospitality through and through.

Kind regards,

Marcos Borras
marcos.borras@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,095 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,780 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,491 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,661 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $153 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing